1 hour ago, Cranky Franky said:

Totally meaningless. St Kilda beat us with Butler as their main fwd.

Pies won a flak with Mihocek, Elliot & Hill as their key fwds.

Ignoring positions on the field for a minute, i do feel like we need a bit more upper echelon height on our list.

Our only players at 199+ are Verrall, Fullarton, Campbell and Gawn.

Using those same examples Collingwood still have Moore, Cameron and Cox at 200+ playing regularly plus Frampton and 2 others who are +200cm

Saints have King, Marshall Howard at 199+ playing regularly and 2 other fellas who are 200+

But also in conclusion is was absolutely despicable seeing Butler kick that many against us.

1 hour ago, roy11 said:

Ignoring positions on the field for a minute, i do feel like we need a bit more upper echelon height on our list.

Using those same examples Collingwood still have Moore, Cameron and Cox at 200+ playing regularly plus Frampton and 2 others who are +200cm

Saints have King, Marshall Howard at 199+ playing regularly and 2 other fellas who are 200+

But also in conclusion is was absolutely despicable seeing Butler kick that many against us.

Agree, another reason why we need Kalani White at 199cm and a huge leap.

22 hours ago, Anti-Saint said:

The MilkShake is a remarkable athlete.

In his 30s (turns 34 next month), post the setback of missing the premiership, The Shake has played some of his best footy deespite numerous injuries he keeps on "frothing-up" (unlike milk for a cappuccino as you only get to froth this milk once!).

No wonder he cramped as he's not had a run at form having played 11 of our games with a few out with injury.

I hope we "Do The Shake" in 2026 IMO.

100%

I think put T Mac in that same category.

Guys like this are worth their weight in gold for club culture. We're not too top heavy with aging players, so I'd be giving T Mac and Melky another gig for as long as they're still wanting to play and producing the sort of form that has them on the cusp of senior selection, which it certainly still is in both those cases.

14 hours ago, roy11 said:

Playing on a winger, not a defender and has done nothing this year otherwise.

On 03/07/2025 at 11:44, MrFreeze said:

daisy GIF

Have a flower, maybe you will have one positive opinion soon

If that is a Robbie clone than we would have a very positive option.

Back to Luker - and I do realise that highlight reels are just that, but check the club website for his early highlights. Strong contested marking with great body work, and fierce tackling. Certainly looking forward to seeing him whenever he debuts.

I look forward to Luker’s debut in 2025!

4 minutes ago, Deeoldfart said:

I look forward to Luker’s debut in 2025!

i look forward to his debut on the 13th of this month

10 hours ago, FireInTheBennelly said:

@Ghostwriter is there any chance you could ask the young fella what his actual height is at the next training session please? I don't believe he's 194cms as listed on the MFC website.

Will do.

I suspect he’s taller than 194cm. I have a son who’s 198cm and I have to crane my neck at the same angle when talking to him. 😅

2 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Will do.

I suspect he’s taller than 194cm. I have a son who’s 198cm and I have to crane my neck at the same angle when talking to him. 😅

Get him down to Casey GW we could use that extra height.😁👍

Luker is tracking very well and people need to understand that given his serious illness, we should be allowing him to develop without the pressure of being thrown in the deep end.

After a FULL pre season, which would be his first, we can then start to assess him and hopefully give him his chance.

I can just see it, we play him in the seniors now, he doesn’t play well and the bagging starts.

That is not the way to develop players.

Just now, Redleg said:

I can just see it, we play him in the seniors now, he doesn’t play well and the bagging starts.

That is not the way to develop players.

As sure as the sun rises in the east…

2 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

As sure as the sun rises in the east…

Now you're just trolling.

😄

Really like this guy, already showed he can take solid one grab pack mark and can lay brutal tackles, looks to be a good athlete with strong body that goes hard at the footy .

21 hours ago, Mickey said:

https://www.instagram.com/p/DL1XKZJRnwg/?img_index=1&igsh=dGpoZGs5ZHdweDI0

Anyone know how to link the video? Luke took a ripper pack mark on the weekend

At 3:45 in this (hopefully)...

https://www.afl.com.au/ondemand/highlights/1282239/2025-vfl-match-highlights?episode=1#round-15

2 hours ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Thanks Timothy Reddan -A’Blew, Luker is a good size and looks like a real footballer let’s all hope that he can continue improving, can Casey still make finals?

On 03/07/2025 at 17:48, roy11 said:

It's a double negative.

for every side that has 200+ forwards you need 200+ defenders - Andrews, Moore, Lobb and Mac Andrew(that really hurts)

Secondly it makes it harder for Kentfield, JVR and Jeffo when they dont have that other tall forward

Miss AMW against the likes of Butler.

Its important that we transition the team while our 'guns' are still at their top. The 'elite' youngsters will learn from the best.

That could be an issue for older teams like the maggies unless they are lucky with trades in, Academy and FS.

The compromised drafts and Tassie coming in will force clubs to manage the older players to prolong their careers. That is already happening.

Good for those players who can eek out a few more years on good $$.