Posted
1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

Seems nervy and lacking confidence- 3 easy goals missed. Hopefully will get better. 

He will be late getting off the track this week i would think/

Posted

For the amount of complaining in this thread about umpiring, a reader might be mistaken for thinking that it was actually a really important part of the game.

Posted
14 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Reckon any experts want to revisit their predictions in early April??

I remember andy Maher listing his 6 locks for finals. we weren’t included and now we are $6.50 to win the flag 

To be fair to Maher, has anyone ever won the flag finishing outside the top 8?

Posted
11 minutes ago, Axis of Bob said:

For the amount of complaining in this thread about umpiring, a reader might be mistaken for thinking that it was actually a really important part of the game.

Don't have to go too far back against the same mob where a free kick cost us the game in the last minute. So don't talk to me about the importance of free kicks, young man.

Posted
20 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Reckon any experts want to revisit their predictions in early April??

I remember andy Maher listing his 6 locks for finals. we weren’t included and now we are $6.50 to win the flag 

It's a great time of year, before the season started David King said we'd miss the top 8 and then after a good pre-season game changed his tune and i think he said top 4. 

Posted
1 hour ago, binman said:

I've been curious about losing ground ball gets too. I said on the pod that the numbers are so anomalous (eg our cp and pressure numbers have been strong) that there must be an explanation.

Your explanation makes sense, and us supported by the fact our post clearance possession numbers, one of the most important stats for coaches, have been strong.

We are disciplined about not committing too many numbers to the contest. Unlike, say, Collingwood last year.

We trust our players to win contest but if they don't we have players on the outside to sweat on the the oppo players. That per se would see us lose ground ball gets but be better off tactically

Posted
39 minutes ago, HBDee said:

My brother and I both live in Adelaide and went last night to support our beloved Dees, and their supporters were worse than ever. Fans around us all squealing for free kicks even when we pointed out how lopsided the free kick count was, booing players for no reason, and basically saying how bad their own team was and then aggressively abusing our players. They are a disgrace. Worst in the league. 

We kept offering tissues every time they booed Rick Lever, and bronx cheered all of the 9 times we got a free! Stuff em. Hope they go zero and 10, sack the coach and head to the bottom of the ladder for the next decade. 

Apologies if this has already been discussed, but Crows fans still booing Ricky is ridiculous. In the six years since leaving them they’ve not played finals, and he’s now a Premiership player for us. Why would they want to routinely remind themselves of that?!

Posted
18 minutes ago, Axis of Bob said:

Well it cost us the game last year in Adelaide so there's that....

Posted
7 hours ago, jnrmac said:

Sparrow played a really good game. 98% midfield,  huge pressure stats and a brilliant desperate smother resulting in the Tracc goal

Key grunt worker

Top Game, he played well against Port too. 
A lot of his work goes unnoticed. Sparrow is a very important player, moreso now that Angus has been Forced to Retire 

Posted
10 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

We are disciplined about not committing too many numbers to the contest. Unlike, say, Collingwood last year.

We trust our players to win contest but if they don't we have players on the outside to sweat on the the oppo players. That per se would see us lose ground ball gets but be better off tactically

That's very true. So def a factor.

And if we lose a contest, we back ourselves in to win the next contest.

Posted (edited)
51 minutes ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Don't have to go too far back against the same mob where a free kick cost us the game in the last minute. So don't talk to me about the importance of free kicks, young man.

46 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Firstly, it was round 10, 2021 (3 years ago), so there's that .....

Secondly, umpiring has very little to do with the result of a game of football. Last year we played 24 games. The free kick count was equal in two of those games. In the remaining 22 games, the team winning the free kick count won 11 games and lost the other 11 games. 

The winning team had the most free kicks literally 50% of the time!! It had no statistical impact on who won the game! If that doesn't show you how much of a non-issue it is then I don't know what will. 

Edited by Axis of Bob
Posted
1 minute ago, Axis of Bob said:

Firstly, it was round 10, 2021 (3 years ago), so there's that .....

Secondly, umpiring has very little to do with the result of a game of football. Last year we played 24 games. The free kick count was equal in two of those games. In the remaining 22 games, the team winning the free kick count won 11 games and lost the other 11 games. 

The winning team had the most free kicks literally 50% of the time!! It had no statistical impact on who won the game! If that doesn't show you how much of a non-issue it is then I don't know what will. 

The numbers of frees for or against don't tell the whole story Bob.

It's when and where they are paid .... or not paid. 

Posted
49 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

And a majority of supporters from every club don't know the rules so there's that...

Posted
1 hour ago, Demonstone said:

It was noticeable that the "Crow throw" (TM) is still alive and well.

We are just as guilty of throwing. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

The numbers of frees for or against don't tell the whole story Bob.

It's when and where they are paid .... or not paid. 

This is the 'I trust my eyes' argument. If it was an issue surely there would be some evidence of it.

Richmond won the flag in 2017, 2019 and 2020. Across that 4 year stretch they were comfortably the best performing team. Their free kick differential across the 4 years from 2017-2020 .... 18th, 18th, 13th and 17th. They were easily the team with the least favourable frees for/against ratio in the league across those four years, and they won 3 flags and should have won the other. 

Last year the most favourable free kick ratio was Freo (finished 14th on the ladder) and the worst was Port (finished 3rd). 

It's just not very important in the grand scheme of things. 

Posted (edited)
58 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Apologies if this has already been discussed, but Crows fans still booing Ricky is ridiculous. In the six years since leaving them they’ve not played finals, and he’s now a Premiership player for us. Why would they want to routinely remind themselves of that?!

Nah, let's him know he's been missed.
For the exact reasons you mentioned.
He probably gets a kick out've it.

Edited by Fork 'em
Posted
1 hour ago, Demonland said:

South Australians drafted by the Melbourne Football Club and the players taken before them by Adelaide:

Pick 6 - Fisher McAsey

Pick 12 - Kysaiah Pickett 😈

Pick 9 - Chayce Jones

Pick 16 - Ned McHenry

Pick 27 - Tom Sparrow 😈

Rookie - Kade Chandler 😈

Pick 12 - Darcy Fogarty

Pick 37 - Harrison Petty 😈

Pick 14 - Jake Lever (damn)

Pick 35 - Harrison Wigg

Pick 40 - Alex Neal-Bullen  😈

Wow there are some absolute nobodies in that list taken by Adelaide. 
It’s no wonder they are where they are. 
Who is Fisher McAsey? 😂

Posted
6 minutes ago, Axis of Bob said:

This is the 'I trust my eyes' argument. If it was an issue surely there would be some evidence of it.

Richmond won the flag in 2017, 2019 and 2020. Across that 4 year stretch they were comfortably the best performing team. Their free kick differential across the 4 years from 2017-2020 .... 18th, 18th, 13th and 17th. They were easily the team with the least favourable frees for/against ratio in the league across those four years, and they won 3 flags and should have won the other. 

Last year the most favourable free kick ratio was Freo (finished 14th on the ladder) and the worst was Port (finished 3rd). 

It's just not very important in the grand scheme of things. 

AFL is the most interpreted sports game in the world when it comes to umpiring. If rules where adjudicated to the letter of the law, all high contacts, all pushes into the back, all kicks in danger, etc etc would be paid.

There lies the grey area stats do not reflect. 

Posted (edited)
23 minutes ago, Demonsterative said:

AFL is the most interpreted sports game in the world when it comes to umpiring. If rules where adjudicated to the letter of the law, all high contacts, all pushes into the back, all kicks in danger, etc etc would be paid.

There lies the grey area stats do not reflect. 

This is called randomness or noise. There are hundreds of decisions to be made every game and there is an element of randomness in those decisions due to the 'grey areas', as you say. But over the course of a game, a season or an era, it doesn't affect it as it's just noise. This randomness only makes the most miniscule of differences to a result, if any.

Think about it like somebody walking in the park with a dog on a lead. The dog will wander all over the place, but by the end of its walk it ends up near the owner holding the lead. The owner is the trend, as they just walk in a straight line towards the end of the park, whilst the dog is the noise. In the end it doesn't matter what the dog does because the owner determines where they end up.

In football, the team performance is the owner and the umpire's performance is the dog. Worrying about what the dog's doing is a fool's errand.

Edited by Axis of Bob

Posted
26 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Wow there are some absolute nobodies in that list taken by Adelaide. 
It’s no wonder they are where they are. 
Who is Fisher McAsey? 😂

Fisher? They barely even knew her?!

is that on the nose?

Ill Allow It GIF

Posted

Can someone here ring in SEN and take Andy Maher to town. This bloke is a constant basher of the Dees. The entire focus of today’s programming has been slamming Pickett and discussing umpiring issues that went against Adelaide. The media hate us and we have been bashed this year. Also, Goodwin being attacked again for saying it was a “light hit”, which is factual. The media just trying to take the gloss off our wins. I am sick of calling in to defend our club, and ultimately get cut short when the narrative doesn’t suit their agenda

Posted
48 minutes ago, Left Foot Snap said:

We are just as guilty of throwing. 

Che? Who, when? I'm not one-eyed - in fact I wear specs, but my jaw dropped about ten times when the Crows simply threw the bloody thing!

Posted

Adelaide actually played good footy in the first and last quarters - I've read so much criticism of them etc. They simply played a better organized team last night. Every Melbourne player put in last night - people have knocked Billings but he gave us some unnoticed crunch and bite, and had he kicked straight he would have been a hero. Petty is now starting to hum, Howes did his share, Windsor is a wonder, Sparrow, Neale-Bullen played their guts out and Van R held onto a few. It was an impressive win against a talented side which only a great defence like Melbouner has at the moment could have stopped.

Posted
2 hours ago, Axis of Bob said:

Agreed

we weren’t complaining last week when we got a decent run with the umps. complaining about the umpiring is tiresome. It’s usually inconsistent and sometimes we get the rub of the green and sometimes not