Bombay Airconditioning 6,508 Posted April 8, 2024 Posted April 8, 2024 9 hours ago, Great Northern Summer said: I suspect Spargo has achilles tendinopathy. It’s a pain in the neck of an injury. I’ve battled through it for a decade, being a competitive runner. Generally it’s an ‘over 30s’ injury so he is very young to experience it. It can be season ending and career threatening. Out of interest have you ever had plantar fasciitis? Thanks Quote
Bombay Airconditioning 6,508 Posted April 8, 2024 Posted April 8, 2024 (edited) Would love nothing more than a fit Jake Melksham for the run into finals. He’s a class player, great defensively and has a bit of X factor about him. Edited April 8, 2024 by Bombay Airconditioning 7 1 Quote
Wells 11 5,502 Posted April 8, 2024 Posted April 8, 2024 10 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said: Would love nothing more than a fit Jake Melksham for the run into finals. He’s a class player, great defensively and has a bit of X factor about him. Interesting to think we may have both Mc Adam and Melksham at the back end of the year. Looking forward to seeing both of them and how we use them. 3 Quote
Roost it far 10,135 Posted April 8, 2024 Posted April 8, 2024 10 hours ago, Binmans PA said: There isn't a spot for Turner, but he'll be good depth. He’s an obvious replacement if TMac goes down. I can’t imagine TMac playing every game. Turner will get his chance but he’ll need to grab it with both hands 3 Quote
Ollie fan 3,671 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 As far as I have seen, Turner for TMac is not like-for-like. Turner is a floating interceptor, not someone who could play on eg Harry McKay. And although I always hope for the best, so far he has done nothing in the one or two games he has played to justify pinning our hopes on him. 3 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 Turner is more likely to replace Lever or Howes if either are injured or need a break 5 1 Quote
binman 44,823 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 15 minutes ago, Ollie fan said: And although I always hope for the best, so far he has done nothing in the one or two games he has played to justify pinning our hopes on him. Really? . I can't recall how he went in his second game, but ny recollection is he was terrific in his first game until he had his jaw broken just before half time. I think he will be a gun. Smart, quick off the mark, competitive and zones off well. And whilst I agree he can play an intercept role now, ultimately i think he will become a key position defender. He's 6.5 in the old and given he is only 22 will fill out in the next few years. 4 3 1 Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,727 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 12 hours ago, jnrmac said: Bowey is now nearly 5 weeks from when he did his shoulder. An 8 week injury they said.... Yet he's still 5-6 weeks away? I reckon they are going conservative. Pretty sure Turner is 2-3 weeks ahead of their original timeline. 2 1 Quote
Ollie fan 3,671 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 5 minutes ago, binman said: Really? . I can't recall how he went in his second game, but ny recollection is he was terrific in his first game until he had his jaw broken just before half time. I think he will be a gun. Smart, quick off the mark, competitive and zones off well. And whilst I agree he can play an intercept role now, ultimately i think he will become a key position defender. He's 6.5 in the old and given he is only 22 will fill out in the next few years. I have a completely different recollection of that game. 1 Quote
Red But Mostly Blue 4,632 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 19 minutes ago, binman said: Really? . I can't recall how he went in his second game, but ny recollection is he was terrific in his first game until he had his jaw broken just before half time. I think he will be a gun. Smart, quick off the mark, competitive and zones off well. And whilst I agree he can play an intercept role now, ultimately i think he will become a key position defender. He's 6.5 in the old and given he is only 22 will fill out in the next few years. Disco will be a big part of our backline in years to come. Has been crazy unlucky with injury. 5 Quote
Fat Tony 5,337 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 (edited) I think Turner plays a bit like Tom Stewart from the Cats. He has good pace, marks well at the highest point and kicks well. I would like to see him play on smaller players in the VFL, because he is going to need to play alongside May and Lever in the AFL team. Turner needs a run of AFL games to get up to the speed of the game, but I think it would be a good investment. Edited April 9, 2024 by Fat Tony 3 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,854 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 turner was terrific in the final round against the bloods at the scg and him being dropped for the final the fortnight later was a bit of a surprise i'm very confident he will be a very important player for us going forward 4 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 2 hours ago, Bombay Airconditioning said: Would love nothing more than a fit Jake Melksham for the run into finals. He’s a class player, great defensively and has a bit of X factor about him. I have almost zero faith that we’ll see much of McAdam ever at this club. He may string a few games together but my mail is he is extremely injury prone. 2 2 Quote
Greg Schneider 1,018 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 1 hour ago, Gawndy the Great said: I have almost zero faith that we’ll see much of McAdam ever at this club. He may string a few games together but my mail is he is extremely injury prone. Sorry but how is this mail? Injuries are wildly reported as they were when he was in Adelaide and now at Melbourne 1 Quote
Roost it far 10,135 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 6 hours ago, Ollie fan said: As far as I have seen, Turner for TMac is not like-for-like. Turner is a floating interceptor, not someone who could play on eg Harry McKay. And although I always hope for the best, so far he has done nothing in the one or two games he has played to justify pinning our hopes on him. Strongly disagree. He’s going to be a pillar down back once he gets a run at it 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 5 hours ago, Fat Tony said: I think Turner plays a bit like Tom Stewart from the Cats. He has good pace, marks well at the highest point and kicks well. I would like to see him play on smaller players in the VFL, because he is going to need to play alongside May and Lever in the AFL team. Turner needs a run of AFL games to get up to the speed of the game, but I think it would be a good investment. I like Turner, but I think his issue at this stage is he struggles on the gorillas, so I'd be having him play on the big boys at VFL level. Take the biggest opposition forward. It's why I tend to agree with @Ollie fan and @Jaded No More that he's more likely to replace Lever or Howes. This is not to say he won't be a good KPB when he puts on more muscle and gains greater strength. 1 Quote
Fat Tony 5,337 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 14 minutes ago, Binmans PA said: I like Turner, but I think his issue at this stage is he struggles on the gorillas, so I'd be having him play on the big boys at VFL level. Take the biggest opposition forward. It's why I tend to agree with @Ollie fan and @Jaded No More that he's more likely to replace Lever or Howes. This is not to say he won't be a good KPB when he puts on more muscle and gains greater strength. I think Turner has already shown he can do well on the big VFL forwards. But there is a big gap in class between AFL and VFL. 2 Quote
Great Northern Summer 708 Posted April 10, 2024 Posted April 10, 2024 On 09/04/2024 at 08:23, Bombay Airconditioning said: Out of interest have you ever had plantar fasciitis? Thanks No, somehow managed to avoid that. I know that’s more common but more healable too. 2 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted April 12, 2024 Posted April 12, 2024 Clarry's had surgery. Salo out for four weeks (or 6!?) ... https://www.zerohanger.com/surgery-for-oliver-as-demons-confirm-extent-of-salem-setback-149419/ 1 Quote
picket fence 18,181 Posted April 12, 2024 Posted April 12, 2024 Yeah well suspected as much, but unless more damage was done last night, this should have been done SOONER🤯 7 Quote
Roost it far 10,135 Posted April 12, 2024 Posted April 12, 2024 1 hour ago, picket fence said: Yeah well suspected as much, but unless more damage was done last night, this should have been done SOONER🤯 Post the PA win if we were a bit smarter 4 Quote
Garbo 1,567 Posted April 12, 2024 Posted April 12, 2024 Another fail by the footy department, going to miss ever more games on top of offering nothing that last 2 games. Could have been fit and ready to play tigers after the bye if we were smart 1 1 Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted April 12, 2024 Posted April 12, 2024 (edited) On 09/04/2024 at 10:07, Ollie fan said: As far as I have seen, Turner for TMac is not like-for-like. Turner is a floating interceptor, not someone who could play on eg Harry McKay. And although I always hope for the best, so far he has done nothing in the one or two games he has played to justify pinning our hopes on him. He [Turner] was concussed fairly early in his first game He was badly mismatched in his second and did ok in his third. I still have a very open mind regarding his potential and his future. Edited April 12, 2024 by monoccular 2 Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted April 12, 2024 Posted April 12, 2024 32 minutes ago, Garbo said: Another fail by the footy department, going to miss ever more games on top of offering nothing that last 2 games. Could have been fit and ready to play tigers after the bye if we were smart Footy department, medical department, Clayton himself or the vagaries of the human body’s response to injury??? 2 Quote
Kick_It_To_Pickett 3,293 Posted April 12, 2024 Posted April 12, 2024 40 minutes ago, Garbo said: Another fail by the footy department, going to miss ever more games on top of offering nothing that last 2 games. Could have been fit and ready to play tigers after the bye if we were smart Pretty sure they’ve said he won’t miss any football, provided all goes to plan 1 1 Quote