Posted
21 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Don’t say that. The purity police will say it’s not nice 🙄

You should start selling 'Purity Police' merchandise. Sign me up for a crop top and booty shorts.

• Haha 5

Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, brendan said:

warning this may trigger some 

A classless bogan. Proves that money doesn’t buy you intelligence or integrity. 

Edited by Jaded No More

Posted (edited)
39 minutes ago, Earl Hood said:

Let’s calm down. There won’t be a bloodbath. And I suspect the AFL is not necessarily that happy with this outcome. They prosecuted for a suspension and lost. Suspect the new Footy GM was keen on a sanction for a blatant head high hit but didn’t get her way. Further up at CEO/Board Level they may be just happy they could, via the Tribunal, wash their hands of any of the head trauma liability that is coming their way. 

It actually won't at all 'Earl', if anything it makes matters worse for them.

Any legal action will make the point that the AFL rules weren't strong enough to protect the ball player.

This decision will come back and bite hard.

I don't think they have any option but to appeal.

Edited by rjay
Posted
7 minutes ago, brendan said:

How’s McGuire carry on, interrupted a restaurant to make a toast that justice has prevailed I have never wanted Collingwood to fail as I do right now just sickening 

You should have yelled at him: "Sit down you clown"

Posted
7 minutes ago, brendan said:

How’s McGuire carry on, interrupted a restaurant to make a toast that justice has prevailed I have never wanted Collingwood to fail as I do right now just sickening 

I wonder if he opened with 'It's a proud day for the Collingwood football club'. Went down well last time.

Posted
3 minutes ago, brendan said:

warning this may trigger some 

Their whole club lacks any sort of class, humility or intelligence - pure scum.

• Vomit 2
Posted
20 minutes ago, kev martin said:

If you are playing the ball, a duty of care to those around you is now unnecessary. The defense of in the motion of a "football act" has a precedence. As Number 4 said, he did not take a collision with Gus into account.

Will give Viney, Sparrow and other inside bulls a licence to not worry about the pain they inflict.

Sad day for CTE outcomes.

Sorry Kev, there's no precedents at the MRO. It's all over the shop.

They are corrupt. We are not Collingwood. If Viney tries this on Friday night and does the exact same thing, he'd be out for 3 to 4 weeks. Dead certain.

This is about Carlton vs Collingwood and the grand final and tv ratings etc etc.

I am so proud of this club and we're we've come from over the past few years.

The odds are stacked against us.

They'll tidy this rule up next season to demonstrate they're taking action.

Posted

Shattered and defeated. I’m in disbelief! 

This result feels like the AFL have concussed me emotionally. 🥴😵‍💫😵‍💫🥴

• Sad 2

Posted (edited)

For me, it’s pretty clear that the AFL has to appeal because if they don’t, then they are just caving in instead of meeting the FCFC saying that they will take it further no matter what if Maynard is suspended. 

If they don’t… it will be one of the worst retreats of all their charades over the years of the MRO coming into being. 

ed: and there’s gonna be eggs and [censored] on the faces of some very senior execs. 

Edited by McQueen

Posted
6 minutes ago, Docs Demons said:

Gee, all this stuff from posters that we are going to get tough and hurt players because Maynard got off is laughable. Who in the hell from our team other than Viney will show any aggression. Fritta maybe ? Your joking. He doesn't even spoil Quaynor or block a player in the goal line when a goal was imminent. We haven't a hard nosed player in this team other than Viney and even he can't come up against the likes of Maynard. Maybe we can turn to Langdon, Chandler, Laurie, Spargo, BBB and the likes. Wouldn't worry me and I'm 70 odd.

Let's all just get back to reality and hope in hell we can bring our A game on Friday and live another day. Just maybe a win then another against the Lions and get the Pies in the GF and the just play the ball and win. Wouldn't that be nice!. Firstly we have the Blues to get over.

Dig the boot in a little deeper why don't you?  Jeepers!

Posted
1 hour ago, Smokey said:

It isn’t even close to common assault 😂 steady on mate 

Please let people vent. Humans have emotions and oftentimes say things they ordinarily wouldn’t say. Wadda’s comment isn’t harmful. It’s an expression of anger. Let’s allow folks to vent, not a big ask. 

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, fr_ap said:

Whilst I agree with the sentiment, it's really not this simple mate. There is another team that will be hunting the ball and probably executing their kicks better. Being fired up about a tribunal ruling is a short way to emotional exhaustion. It can be used as a factor, but ultimately the team that plays better footy will win. Not the team most fired up.

Completely agree with you.

I should have noted my belief that we’re a better team and will win if we come out executing the basics, taking our chances etc. 

What I meant by fired up is from the first bounce, like what the pies did to us. We did not wake up until it was too late. 

If we get a head start on the Blues, we win. Something like this and last year’s disappointment can help with the fuel. 

Edited by Red But Mostly Blue
Posted

If the afl lets this slid they will have opened a can of worms that’s going to cost a huge amount of everything. 

kossi unleash some inner Byron and show that thug some true football action. Karma a [censored]

Posted
1 hour ago, Jaded No More said:

You know what always works? Telling people to calm down or get over it. 10 times out of 10 everyone does just that. 

Yeah that's always a winner with my wife 🤣

• Haha 8
Posted
11 minutes ago, MoeSyzlak said:

They had their opportunity to stand up for their club and their mate and with the exception of Viney were meek as pussycats. 

100% correct.

Understand if they didn't want to fight, but they should have been called in spoken to by a leader and from that moment on, attacked the contest like mad men.

They didn't.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

A classless bogan. Proves that money doesn’t buy you intelligence or integrity. 

Do you expect anything less, just look how his reign at Collingwood ended.

Posted

The AFL will appeal. There's only 2 ways to look at it:

This whole thing is just a ratings exercise. The appeal extends it.

Or, this whole thing is about creating the facade that they are taking concussion seriously. They appeal.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Docs Demons said:

Gee, all this stuff from posters that we are going to get tough and hurt players because Maynard got off is laughable. Who in the hell from our team other than Viney will show any aggression. Fritta maybe ? Your joking. He doesn't even spoil Quaynor or block a player in the goal line when a goal was imminent. We haven't a hard nosed player in this team other than Viney and even he can't come up against the likes of Maynard. Maybe we can turn to Langdon, Chandler, Laurie, Spargo, BBB and the likes. Wouldn't worry me and I'm 70 odd.

Let's all just get back to reality and hope in hell we can bring our A game on Friday and live another day. Just maybe a win then another against the Lions and get the Pies in the GF and the just play the ball and win. Wouldn't that be nice!. Firstly we have the Blues to get over.

Clearly you forgot about Steven May. 
I can name as many Pies players as you listed Melbourne players who wouldn’t go the man either. Or do you think Will Hoskin Elliot is a tough guy? 😂

Plenty of guys in our side who could hurt an opponent. But wouldn’t because they are focused on playing the ball not the man. Shame the same can’t be said for pieces of scum like Maynard, Cox and De Goey 

Posted

All about the coin - yet another reminder. 

The league should give Collingwood a break from trips to Geelong next season also ..... 

Posted
9 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

No it has to include the jump Kev assuming oppo player is in the act of / or has already completed the kick (just).

The AFL has now comfirmed that provided you are 'making an attempt' to smother, you are entitled to protect yourself by tucking up on the way down and leading with either shoulder.

This is now acceptable and how you protect yourself from an oncoming likely collision.

The consequence of doing so is now a moot point that no player needs to concern themselves with.

Just throw the arms in the air then tuck straight afterwards and shoulder away.

Every kicker is now fair game.

They'll close the loophole now ... even if a player was able to reproduce Maynard's planned assault, the next player up will almost certainly cop a suspension

The punters would then point at the Maynard incident but because the AFL are a law unto themselves, they'll put some spin on it and Bob's your Uncle