Deebauched 1,220 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 We'll know by end of 3rd qtr if Port are serious or not. Why would they bother tossing away the cue? Melbourne control destiny of 4th. Nothing Port can do. Its out of their hands. Quote
Demon17 5,262 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 6 minutes ago, leave it to deever said: Hogan in great touch too. Perversely I'll be pleased to see Jesse get a cracking at finals. 2 Quote
loges 6,767 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 49 minutes ago, No. 31 said: Real incentive for Carlton to beat GWS so they get the Bulldogs in Week 1. Reckon Carlton will rip the Doggies apart. Really don't need Carlton getting a soft game leading into the following final. Quote
Deenooos_ 647 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 10 minutes ago, Deebauched said: We'll know by end of 3rd qtr if Port are serious or not. Why would they bother tossing away the cue? Melbourne control destiny of 4th. Nothing Port can do. Its out of their hands. Yeh I think you're right. Winning form is more important going into finals and I refuse to believe they would be considering anything other than a win. Quote
No. 31 1,404 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 6 minutes ago, loges said: Really don't need Carlton getting a soft game leading into the following final. I am hoping the following final would be against C'Wood after they lose to the Dees in Week 1 ... (1st v 4th). 1 Quote
praha 11,267 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 (edited) Might be unpopular but I'd actually rather Port lose and we win. It's either Brisbane at the Gabba in a QF, and then a pathway back to what will likely be 2-3 games at the MCG. Or, potentially a Gabba Prelim. Which is way harder. Granted I am more confident of a Pies QF win than a Brisbane Gabba QF win, but Brisbane won't lose a Prelim at the Gabba. EDIT: Also, you'd rather face the prospect of Brisbane at the Gabba with a second chance, then Brisbane at the GABBA in an elimination game. Edited August 27, 2023 by praha 1 Quote
Engorged Onion 10,226 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Just channeling the typical DL supporters, who at this stage would be saying that if Port can’t beat the Tigers with authority they are no chance in the finals. *as an aside, I think Port will lose, and we will lose more betterer. 1 Quote
demoncat 1,723 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 (edited) 7 minutes ago, praha said: Might be unpopular but I'd actually rather Port lose and we win. It's either Brisbane at the Gabba in a QF, and then a pathway back to what will likely be 2-3 games at the MCG. Or, potentially a Gabba Prelim. Which is way harder. Granted I am more confident of a Pies QF win than a Brisbane Gabba QF win, but Brisbane won't lose a Prelim at the Gabba. Would much rather play the Lions in a QF than a Prelim - but if we finish 4th and beat the Pies in a Prelim we’d have a dream Prelim scenario against one of Port, Swans or Saints (presuming Port lose to Lions at the Gabba) Although lose against the Pies and it’s Carlton or GWS/Doggies at the G and Lions at the Gabba A week one win huge in that scenario Edited August 27, 2023 by demoncat 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,458 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 8 minutes ago, praha said: Might be unpopular but I'd actually rather Port lose and we win. It's either Brisbane at the Gabba in a QF, and then a pathway back to what will likely be 2-3 games at the MCG. Or, potentially a Gabba Prelim. Which is way harder. Granted I am more confident of a Pies QF win than a Brisbane Gabba QF win, but Brisbane won't lose a Prelim at the Gabba. If we win the QF we are straight into a Home Preliminary Quote
praha 11,267 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 5 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said: If we win the QF we are straight into a Home Preliminary Yes I know that. I'm saying that, I'd rather face Brisbane in a QF, than the prospect of *losing* against Collingwood and then being on a pathway to going to the Gabba in a PF. The pathway to the is GF is easier if you win the QF, obviously. But I'm thinking of the pathway if we lose the QF. And that pathway is easier if we play Brisbane week 1. Quote
agent 99 71 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 I’m not saying Port are trying to lose, but they are definitely not trying to win. Hinkley couldn’t have cared less that goal was not called after the siren. Quote
Return to Glory 8,518 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 6 minutes ago, chook fowler said: Port are tanking. Choking? 1 Quote
ElDiablo14 5,060 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 6 minutes ago, chook fowler said: Port are tanking. Which doesn't make sense because Melbourne will already know what to do if we really want to finish 4th. Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Just now, ElDiablo14 said: Which doesn't make sense because Melbourne will already know what to do if we really want to finish 4th. Exactly Quote
Demon17 5,262 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 1 minute ago, ElDiablo14 said: Which doesn't make sense because Melbourne will already know what to do if we really want to finish 4th. Correct. Maybe they are on the slide. Choking? As someone here suggests Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,458 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 5 minutes ago, praha said: Yes I know that. I'm saying that, I'd rather face Brisbane in a QF, than the prospect of *losing* against Collingwood and then being on a pathway to going to the Gabba in a PF. The pathway to the is GF is easier if you win the QF, obviously. But I'm thinking of the pathway if we lose the QF. And that pathway is easier if we play Brisbane week 1. I haven’t contemplated losing yet. We should already be in 2nd place We have already been cheated 1 Quote
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 10 minutes ago, chook fowler said: Port are tanking. Agree. There is no sane reason that Richmond with half their team on holiday are within one kick at 3 quarter time. 1 Quote
agent 99 71 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Port are a club that are happy to put concussed players back on the ground so dropping this game is nothing. It’s a case of are we willing to sink that low. Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,312 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 This feels like a Wizard Cup game 1 Quote
darkhorse72 1,943 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 not exciting, Port should really run away in the last if they were fair dinkum.... Quote
agent 99 71 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 8 minutes ago, praha said: Yes I know that. I'm saying that, I'd rather face Brisbane in a QF, than the prospect of *losing* against Collingwood and then being on a pathway to going to the Gabba in a PF. The pathway to the is GF is easier if you win the QF, obviously. But I'm thinking of the pathway if we lose the QF. And that pathway is easier if we play Brisbane week 1. 🤔so play the hardest QF so you don’t have to play them again if you lose in the Semi or play the easiest QF and win and don’t have to play the at home at all? Quote
Uncle Fester 2,848 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 I just don't think Port are much chop. 1 Quote
YearOfTheDees 3,266 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Port - We don't want to go to the Gabba _ Tigers - Stuff you were not going from pick six to pick nine. Quote
DubDee 26,678 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Port with only 96 contested touches it all. well below their average Quote