Chook 15,069 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 Hopefully we get to see how Brisbane holds up in the last quarter with a slim lead and Collingwood coming at them like a freight train. Very wobbly in that situation. Quote
jane02 3,795 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 1 minute ago, dees189227 said: And lets hope that stay that way. When we won in 21 I thought of him and had a chuckle. Couldn't stand it if he, cox and ginnivan won a premiership I literally said the same thing to my husband about those three. I just couldn’t cope seeing Howe with a premiership medal around his neck.🤮🤮 1 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 1 minute ago, Macca said: I still can't decide which team I want to lose? What happens if it's a draw? It's Friday night and my brain is frazzled ... need wine I'm drinking a shiraz from heirloom vineyards in the Barossa. Got it as a gift today. Very tasty Quote
McQueen 17,867 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 11 minutes ago, KLV said: Meanwhile this is a thrashing and one more thing McQueen, I just think she gets a lot of vitriol on here for what? Having an annoying voice? Maybe - but not from me. In all seriousness, she’s an absolute trailblazer in what she is doing for a career. Full credit to her. it’s just the voooiiiiiiiiiicccccccceee. Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 Surely that tunnel on Murphy was reportable? Quote
BoBo 2,956 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 1 minute ago, Macca said: I still can't decide which team I want to lose? What happens if it's a draw? It's Friday night and my brain is frazzled ... need wine Brisbane to lose 10000000% We want a home final and if Brisbane win tonight, then a very likely outcome would be for us to go up to Brisbane first final. I think us finishing 3rd is most likely. If we have to play humid/slippery footy up there then we would be at a huge disadvantage. 1 Quote
Macca 17,127 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 1 minute ago, BDA said: I'm drinking a shiraz from heirloom vineyards in the Barossa. Got it as a gift today. Very tasty Pinot for me ... NZ, Bellarine, Yarra Valley or the Peninsula. Goes with anything Less of a headache next day is also the goal! 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 8 minutes ago, BDA said: Loose game and nothing like what we'll see in September Just how these two teams like it. They’ll be found out in finals if they don’t tighten up their defensive work all over the ground. Quote
KLV 1,768 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 15 minutes ago, monoccular said: Underwood's voice, regardless of chromosomal makeup, is like fingernails on a blackboard and I for one just cannot listen. Also her obviously pre rehearsed attempts at humour are very "dad like". Ok, showing all your cards with that post Quote
Brownie 6,086 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 Umps are really trying to get the pies back in here. 1 1 Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 Can't believe they made Maynard captain tonight. Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 3 minutes ago, Macca said: Pinot for me ... NZ, Bellarine, Yarra Valley or the Peninsula. Goes with anything Less of a headache next day is also the goal! Pinot noir is my go to as well. Very easy on the palette 1 Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 Reckon that was a dangerous tackle? He had his arms pinned and was dumped head first. But the Brisbane player appeared to be fine so nothing will happen Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 2 minutes ago, dees189227 said: Can't believe they made Maynard captain tonight. A hot head big mouth. They have no leadership if this is the best they can do without Moore. 1 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 6 minutes ago, Macca said: Bellarine Scotchmans Hill Pinot? 2 Quote
Macca 17,127 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 2 minutes ago, BoBo said: Brisbane to lose 10000000% We want a home final and if Brisbane win tonight, then a very likely outcome would be for us to go up to Brisbane first final. I think us finishing 3rd is most likely. If we have to play humid/slippery footy up there then we would be at a huge disadvantage. 1st or 2nd is the same yeah? So the Pies have very little incentive to go all out (De Goey rested etc) ... and that includes against the Don's next Friday But we can't be sure of any result including tonight Port will probably win their last 2 but if we knew that for sure, we could make a lot of money We beat the Hawks and then rest our best players against Sydney (why risk injury?) ... 4th place and then launch 1 Quote
Clintosaurus 7,953 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 6 minutes ago, Brownie said: Umps are really trying to get the pies back in here. Them and Carlton get gifted frees every week. 1 Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 (edited) Hipwood could have shepparded that through I reckon Edited August 18, 2023 by dees189227 Quote
Macca 17,127 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 Just now, The heart beats true said: Scotchmans Hill Pinot? Yep, I reckon I've tried them all ... Paringa is good as is Stonier 1 Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 Has Maynard been appointed as a playing umpire? Mouthing off to the one in yellow, with impunity. And seriously these "insufficient intent" are just so annoying. One was a side of the boot kick off the ground and another player tackled running head on the boundary. Hate to say it, but Cox has been pretty influential at centre bounces in particular. Very annoying. And I wonder what Michael Christian will say about the dump tackle by McCreery? Remind me who did Christian play for?? PS: was anything said about the one on Rivers late last week? Or was the Carlton exemption card played? 1 1 Quote
KingDingAling 3,758 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 (edited) 9 minutes ago, Brownie said: Umps are really trying to get the pies back in here. The just pay what’s there to the Pies. Difference is, they don’t pay what’s there to other sides. It’s not cheating, just selective umpiring. Edited August 18, 2023 by KingDingAling 1 Quote
ANG13 2,110 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 4 minutes ago, The heart beats true said: Scotchmans Hill Pinot? By Farr, expensive but good. 2 Quote
Great Northern Summer 708 Posted August 18, 2023 Posted August 18, 2023 (edited) There are pros and cons with whoever wins. If Brisbane win and Port wins too, we likely stay in 4th and play Collingwood in a Qualifying Final at home. I’d back us any day of the week to beat them, especially without Daicos and an underdone Moore. Collingwood win tonight, and we would rely on Port dropping a game to finish 2nd (which will have to be this week because Richmond has given up), which is unlikely, and more likely to lead to a 3rd place finish. If we finish 4th, whilst I think it’s our best chance to win the Qualifying Final, it’s also problematic if we lost that game as we’d likely play Carlton in a semi, which won’t be straightforward, and then a Preliminary Final in either Adelaide or Brisbane. The grounds don’t worry me, it’s more the umpires getting influenced by home fans (as we saw in Adelaide earlier this season). Finishing 3rd might mean we have to travel, but even if we lost that Qualifying Final, we’d play the winner of 6 v 7 which you’d back us to win (teams outside the top 5 fall away dramatically) and then probably Collingwood in a Preliminary Final. Edited August 18, 2023 by Glorious Day 1 Quote