41 minutes ago, brendan said:

Commentary team for Sunday 

kelli underwood 

Dermott brereton 

cam mooney 

John Ralph 

🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮

might find something else to do 

Just use the mute button, I do on all games I don't attend.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Both JVR and Brown should have been named on the ground, Chandler and ANF both very lucky and don’t fill me with any confidence.

I’d love to see Joel Smith and Fritsch playing alongside Brown and JVR, two tall, two mobile medium and a couple of small forwards (not the four that had made our forward line impotent) would be a handful for any defence in the league.

Hopefully the coaching staff make amends for dropping Tomlinson after his best game for the club and bringing in an underdone Petty (at least he wasn’t played forward).

We badly missed Bowey’s composure last week.

Totally agree, Clint. 2 big, 2 athletic, 2 small is a great mix and great balance. It would be really menacing if our current small forwards could kick and crumb. 

Posted
23 hours ago, Demonsone said:

History suggest a typical melb of old loss coming

My returning MFCSS is telling me we will be the only team to lose to a team coming off the bye. 

Posted
1 hour ago, brendan said:

kelli underwood 

Dermott brereton 

cam mooney 

John Ralph 

🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮

Please tell me Kelli Underwood is not commentating !

Oh well, I'll be on mute.

Posted

How Chandler still gets named is mystifying??

• Shocked 2
Posted
2 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

Some very interesting changes this week.  A tough bench to pick.   

Harmes back to tag?

Plenty of combinations could occur, I would think that Bowey and Pickett will both play, Melksham will be sub, one of Petty or Tomlinson will definately play or possibly both, Brown almost definately, perhaps weather and ground condition will play a large part on final team make up.

Posted
1 hour ago, brendan said:

kelli underwood 

Dermott brereton 

cam mooney 

John Ralph 

🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮

I'll be at work. If it was in Melbourne I would have taken the day off but will follow it online.

But it's 3:20 on Sunday. Wouldn't it be a ch7 game?

Posted

Based on what I saw today BBB MUST get a gig and if not club have erred MASSIVELY.

Posted

The game is live on Channel 7. K Underwood doesn’t commentate for 7, hope that’s clear enough for everyone.

Posted

Latest forecast I can get is 7 degrees and rain until 2 or 3 pm.   So unseasonal.  Winter days are usually warm, not hot, and dry.

Posted
23 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Based on what I saw today BBB MUST get a gig and if not club have erred MASSIVELY.

BBB loves to carve it up on a training track where it’s easy mate. Kicks snags for fun during pre season and then crumbles at the top level. Gets talked up over the summer and then goes on to play VFL for half a season. He’ll probably come in based on his VFL game last week, which is the right thing to do, rather than what he does at training. 

Posted (edited)
6 minutes ago, Lewis said:

BBB loves to carve it up on a training track where it’s easy mate. Kicks snags for fun during pre season and then crumbles at the top level. Gets talked up over the summer and then goes on to play VFL for half a season. He’ll probably come in based on his VFL game last week, which is the right thing to do, rather than what he does at training. 

I think that’s a really poor appraisal of what BBB brings to us. He’s never crumbled at the top level, he trains and plays as well as his degenerative knee allows him. He also supports the AFLW side with coaching. He’s been a great asset to the club. I think he’s cooked but can’t wait for him to prove me wrong.

Edited by Roost it far
  • Like 19

Posted
1 hour ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Both JVR and Brown should have been named on the ground, Chandler and ANF both very lucky and don’t fill me with any confidence.

I’d love to see Joel Smith and Fritsch playing alongside Brown and JVR, two tall, two mobile medium and a couple of small forwards (not the four that had made our forward line impotent) would be a handful for any defence in the league.

Hopefully the coaching staff make amends for dropping Tomlinson after his best game for the club and bringing in an underdone Petty (at least he wasn’t played forward).

We badly missed Bowey’s composure last week.

Can't understand how Chandler is not at Casey, he's been crud for the last 5 weeks

Posted (edited)
12 minutes ago, Lewis said:

Ben Brown is averaging three goals per game at AFL level this year.

Edited by Clint Bizkit
Posted

Why the hate for Kel underwood? Really? you’d prefer Brian 1980s brain Taylor?

Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, A F said:

With the exception of Bowser for Hibbo this week, likely changes will come in the forward half if BB comes in. If so, it'll be interesting to see whether they give JVR a rest or drop Smith.

The pressure for spots is really heating up, which is great and will be compounded again when we try to fit Clarry back into the midfield.

JVR only if banged up imv AF.

Smithy's doing what a forward shld do ....kicking goals.

We have 3 smalls, at least one too many.  Aside from Kozzy, Chandler and the sub Spargo aren't bothering the scorer and haven't for weeks now.

The smart thing to do is to drop one of them for BB.  For me at this point that would be Chandler.

Assuming BB comes in then we don't need one of the tap bros to rest up forward where they are mostly innefective, rarely kick goals and end up bringing more oppo with them making the 50 even more congested than it usually is.

Grundy as sub.  Spargo remains at Casey.

Bowey in for ANB.

Tomo in for Hibb.

Melk should also probably be getting a guernsey on the bench this week for Jordan.  Sparkling goal kicking form and would be leading the way with instructions for some of the less experienced forwards.

His voice and direction to the likes of Kozzy, JVR and others would be invaluable.  Even if it was just for a small block of games.  Our present forward line, bar Fritsch, is devoid of leadership and experience.

BB's return this week will help on the exp side somewhat and hopefully a decent assist in taking the heat off JVR a little.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

Posted
3 minutes ago, samcantstandya said:

Can't understand how Chandler is not at Casey, he's been crud for the last 5 weeks

Going the easy target, Kozzie has been just as bad 

Posted
3 minutes ago, loges said:

Going the easy target, Kozzie has been just as bad 

FFS, Kozzie hasn’t been bad. Defensively he’s elite and that’s clearly been the messaging this last 6 weeks. He’s ranked number 12 in the league for forwards. Sure he’s not kicking bags of 6 but I think he might just start being more offensive over the last month

Posted
2 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

FFS, Kozzie hasn’t been bad. Defensively he’s elite and that’s clearly been the messaging this last 6 weeks. He’s ranked number 12 in the league for forwards. Sure he’s not kicking bags of 6 but I think he might just start being more offensive over the last month

I'll think you'll find Chandler's defensive rating is not far off Kozzie's. I appreciate his defence but let's get your hands on the ball more. One thing I know if you've got the ball, you won't have to chas them they'll be chasing you 

Posted

Personally think it would have been a good opportunity to give Taj or Howes a game instead of Harmes. We made the mistake last year not giving JVR a game in the season then when we were banged up come finals the club didn’t want to debut him. We know what Harmes brings and maybe if we give one of these young guys a chance they might do a McVee and make us a better team. At the very least they will get a taste for seniors footy and be much better for the experience if we need them come finals time. 

Posted (edited)
41 minutes ago, ANG13 said:

Personally think it would have been a good opportunity to give Taj or Howes a game instead of Harmes. We made the mistake last year not giving JVR a game in the season then when we were banged up come finals the club didn’t want to debut him. We know what Harmes brings and maybe if we give one of these young guys a chance they might do a McVee and make us a better team. At the very least they will get a taste for seniors footy and be much better for the experience if we need them come finals time. 

Harmes finished off the game against Geelong strongly.  The SC must surely have at least thought about him as back up to help out Viney & Tracc with extraction/clearance work with Clarry out yet again.  Be surprised if he isn't sub for Spargo.

Taj has to be close.  Very classy on the outside and starting to get to more contests.  Finishing off his work with some decent passes now while reducing his early season clangers.  The FD would be tracking his progress and tank etc no doubt.  Even if ready on the performance side who does he replace?

The only way i can see howes getting in is an injury down back somewhere or maybe a winger having a really bad run for 2 to 3 games, or also an injury to one of them.

Then you might see McVee moved onto a wing with Howes taking over McVee's role.  Howes a lovely decision maker and pretty classy by foot.  Able to hit targets inside 50.  Same with McVee and more often if moved up to a wing.

Highly unlikely (this season) and obviously we prefer that no one ends up out from injury.

Edited by Demon Dynasty