Posted
Just now, dee-tox said:

In theory it will be Bowey...

In reality it’ll be McVee or Hibbo depending on how old man body holds up 

Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

No so sure about that. McVee is playing the Hunt role from last season and is doing it pretty well. Hibbo does the minding/shut down jobs on medium midfileders/forwards. Bowey is mostly uncontested possessions and has a distributor role. One that Salem has done well in over the years.

Edited by dee-tox

Posted
2 minutes ago, dee-tox said:

No so sure about that. McVee is playing the Hunt role from last season and is doing it pretty well. Hibbo does the minding/shut down jobs on medium midfileders/forwards. Bowey is mostly uncontested possessions and has a distributor role. One that Salem has done well in over the years.

Bowey will not be dropped on current form

Posted
1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

You are right Loges - he certainly wasn't a match winner.

However, he competed and put himself in the right spots. I would like him to get a follow up week just to make a better judgement of whether or not he can be a useful ( or better) contributor.

He’s 25 years old and has played 70+ games of AFL footy. What is one more game going to tell us? And what do you say to the bloke you leave out who is best 22 but is not picked because you want to see him play his 74 game?

Also, don’t flirt with a game of footy. It could be a top 4 spot. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Will be interesting to see who goes out for Salem when he comes back in, probably around the Collingwood game.....(all things going well with his recovery).

Salem needs a good block of work before he comes back in. 1. He seems to take a while to get back up to speed after injury and 2. His injuries and Thyroid are not issues where you can easily maintain fitness.

Posted

No real idea on selection this week. Defence and Midfield pretty much as is except that we may bring Petty back in place of Hibberd if there is any doubt on his fitness. I did notice he was icing his achilles when he was subbed at the end of the game last week. It may have been just a precaution but if there is any doubt he should get a rest. 

That, to my mind, is the only contentious issue in the back two thirds of the team.

The forward 50 is where the selection gets interesting. Looking at the first 7 rounds we just do not have any tall forwards that are fit and in form. I find it amazing that we can score enough points to win games let alone being one of the top scoring teams in the comp. This season we have a few more avenues to goal and improved accuracy but we do need to find a couple of talls that can add to the scoring in a meaningful way.

Fristch is there along with the Buzz Brigade of Kossie, Chandler, ANB and Spargo. all good and effective in front of goals and also with effective controlled inside 50s. 

Talls for this week for me would be JVR and Schache with Max putting in guest appearances as we see fit. I would like this even more if Petty was in the side in place of Hibberd as he could swing forward if Schache or JVR was not effective.

Any tall forward that has a good one at Casey will get a run the next week.

Posted
9 hours ago, Slartibartfast said:

He’s 25 years old and has played 70+ games of AFL footy. What is one more game going to tell us? And what do you say to the bloke you leave out who is best 22 but is not picked because you want to see him play his 74 game?

Also, don’t flirt with a game of footy. It could be a top 4 spot. 

In financial parlance they are at pains to emphasise past performance does not equate to the future. It's said with good reason.

At Melbourne,  and as far as im fussed that's what ill base my opinion on, he's hardly put a foot wrong. Seems to have done all askedof him and appears to have bought into 'our ways'

I'm not privy to the Role he was asked to di ( as opposed ourpossible ideal he set the world on fire )  . I saw him play/attempt a very similar effort as Tmac provides....but arguably not as well , this time around.

He might as BBO suggests do better with another outting. That might provide a better guide.

He has a distinct advantage,  or had, over Tmac and BBB atm.   He's fit.  That said if his wrist is crook then  he may be dead unlucky.

In the end i just want players who do well. Couldn't care less who... matters not. 

Scoreboards dont care who ticks them over.

Posted

If Schache manages to hold down a best 22 spot I’ll be delighted for him. I’ll also be shocked.

Posted
11 hours ago, dee-tox said:

Hibbo will be managed at times this season, there's no way he'll play every game. His troublesome achilles restricts him a fair bit these days along with a couple of other issues. Really unsure who will take that place when he's finally done. 

Posted
10 hours ago, jnrmac said:

Salem needs a good block of work before he comes back in. 1. He seems to take a while to get back up to speed after injury and 2. His injuries and Thyroid are not issues where you can easily maintain fitness.

Couldn't agree more.

After the exuberance and jocularity  ( for MASH fans ) of Boweys debut and cult effect things seemed to have calmed. Ive mentioned elsewhere ol' Bowey is right up there on my list  of unfortunate turnover kings.  Seems to have lost the precision of delivery and this can cost dearly.... on the scoreboard.  Salem on the other hand is about as sure a pair of hands or feet you could have coming out of the hb line.

Imo... his direction and coordination is sorely missed.

But he'll need to be fit..   Love to see him before the KBW .

Posted
2 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Couldn't agree more.

After the exuberance and jocularity  ( for MASH fans ) of Boweys debut and cult effect things seemed to have calmed. Ive mentioned elsewhere ol' Bowey is right up there on my list  of unfortunate turnover kings.  Seems to have lost the precision of delivery and this can cost dearly.... on the scoreboard.  Salem on the other hand is about as sure a pair of hands or feet you could have coming out of the hb line.

Thought he took a good step forward on Sat night but I agree it's been a tough start to the year for him. 

Posted
On 5/1/2023 at 11:12 AM, Port Demons said:

Where does one park when going to a Gold Coast game?  Driving down from Sunshine Coast for this and I can't make heads or tails of the Gold Coast Councils parking rules / durations for 'Traffic Area' in nearby streets.  If anyone has done this before, can you please enlighten me? Right now i feel like I will have to park 30+mins away and walk. 

I drove down from the Sunshine Coast last year for the game. There is a car park directly opposite the ground which I had no trouble getting into. From memory I drove past the ground a bit, then U turned and went into the car park. Easy to get into and out of at the end.

Posted
16 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Couldn't agree more.

I think Bowey has had one poor game this year.

He is not Robinson Crusoe in that.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Redleg said:

I think Bowey has had one poor game this year.

He is not Robinson Crusoe in that.

Might be me... the new occulars... or.. 🤷🤷🤔..   but ive noticed his kicking . Even I initially thought it just the odd occurrence  but started to take particular notice ...

Granted the earlier games this year.....   Its only his kicking per se..  the getting and going..  does well...   but id like a $ for every time he's burnt the the deliveree .

I prefer Christian in this role. 

Posted
11 hours ago, jnrmac said:

Agree

Assuming that the win/loss ratio is good post bye I'd like to see him coming back as the sub for a couple of games with the idea of sharing half a game with another player.. say Hibberd

Posted
On 5/1/2023 at 5:39 PM, Demonstone said:

I know we should never take a result for granted, but has there ever been a week on Demonland when at least one poster hasn't described the upcoming match as a "danger game"?

2021 GF, I reckon most on here knew it was in the bag 😜

Posted
12 hours ago, jnrmac said:

He is ready & might be hitting the ground with Casey this week subject to whether they want him to fly up or not.

Just needs the hit out you mentioned to finish off.  Done all the work required aside from that.

Posted
17 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Melksham and McDonald are travelling to Gold Coast.

Tmac for Shack

Milky the sub ? 

Posted
23 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Without reading Goodwin's mind, it sounds like Schache will be dropped and will play for Casey.

Petty a direct replacement for Schache I'm assuming.

He was confident that Spargo will be selected.

He mentioned that tough calls will be made for this weekend, which will no doubt mean Jordon will get the wrong end of the stick despite being a perfectly capable AFL player.

Just with your Jordan comment..is there anyone in the team that if dropped ...the decision would be harsh. We have incredible depth & our injury situation is pretty good so I for one would find it hard to be on selection committee. It probably comes up to match ups on the day …

Posted
47 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

As you would assume are Petty and Spargo and JJ and Schache.

I still think it'll be Petty for Schache and Spargo for JJ and JJ will, once again, miss out and be the sub.

Posted
15 hours ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Will be interesting to see who goes out for Salem when he comes back in, probably around the Collingwood game.....(all things going well with his recovery).

15 hours ago, dee-tox said:

In theory it will be Bowey...

15 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Could be none of the above. Brayshaw may move to the midfield and some unlucky midfielder might lose his spot.

Posted
5 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Could be none of the above. Brayshaw may move to the midfield and some unlucky midfielder might lose his spot.

McVee cannot and will not play a full season. Nor will JVR. It's unrealistic and it's risky.

They will both need breaks, and it would seem natural that McVee will get a break when Salem returns. He might then come back into the side if we feel like we need to give Hibbo a rest ahead of finals, or if Hibbo of course is injured. 

Posted
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Casey playing up there, aren’t they?