5 minutes ago, Mincho Mania said:

Freo have gone public saying we under-utilized him as a forward and they have the magic beans to turn him in to Tom Lynch.

Personally, I think they're dreaming.

Even if freo don't use him predominately as a forward, surely, as was the case at the dees, that is where he plays when not in the ruck. 

And given they have Darcy, best case scenario for Jackson is a 50 \50 ruck and forward split (though i guess they could play him as a mid at times). 

But given Darcy is arguably the best young ruck in the AFL (and is def not a genuine forward - though a much better mark than Jackson), he and Jackson are unlikely to evenly split ruck duties.

So Freo fans will have to get used to Jackon as a middling forward who doesn't clunk marks or kick many goals. They might even start pining for Lobb!

5 hours ago, David-Demon said:

What about one of RDB and Fritsch both wearing no 31 with wording such as " The Messiahs of God "

The question has been raised D-D. Is Casey Fields the new centre for mystical experiences in Aussie rules football? Some Demon supporters believe the miracle of the 2021 premiership had its genesis there deep in the Covid epidemic. As a bolthole for conditioning and team training. Away from the madding crowd.

Repeated recent sightings of vipers, men of dissolute appearance with binoculars and now it appears a new religious sect is emerging on the fringe of outer suburbia seem to confirm Casey Fields as a veritable "Gardens of Eden". Perhaps the AFL tempted by the 🍎 should endorse the name change, well at least the property developers wish it so.

For further reading go to  www.footyalmanac.com.au/footy-as-religion-a-myth-for-all-seasons/

Edited by Tarax Club

Like others, I would love a full report, but in the meantime looked at the Club’s Training Gallery. Gee, all of them have really put in in the weights room - even the recruits look almost ready to play against men.And Clarry looks like he’s gone to yet another level of strength and commitment.

23 minutes ago, Mincho Mania said:

Freo have gone public saying we under-utilized him as a forward and they have the magic beans to turn him in to Tom Lynch.

Personally, I think they're dreaming.

They also said they had him down for a 'unique midfield role'.

• Popular Post

Got to training about 9:50 & headed off by 11:30.

Rehab / Light Drills:

• Jed Adams
Kyah Farris-White
Will Varrall
• I think i spotted Joel Smith, but could be wrong.

The above doing light drills. Andy Moniz-Wakefield & Trent Burgoyne doing seperate laps / runs for the whole session.

James Harmes, Angus Brayshaw & Steven May all started with the main group but then progressed to light duties / laps for the remainder of the session. The latter two did the bulk of the session before partnering up for some sideline runs. They all moved fine to me so you would think it's just a conditioning thing.

Some key takes:

Lever is the voice of the squad. Very vocal & always directing / encouraging. Got to be in serious contention to captian the side when Max's time is up.

Petty is in ripping touch. He was the best tall defender out there today, no question. He aint playing forward, well not unless our KPF stocks take a big hit.

Kozzie's left foot is all class. Used it a few times out there today & each time it was pure & hitting the target. You can tell he's super confident in his game. Strap yourselves in!

Geez we missed T-Mac. He's training really well at the minute & one-grabbing everything. Hand's look really good.

Nothing better than seeing Trac leap & mark at the highest point. Thing of beauty.

Dunstan know's how to find it. Probably had it the most out there today. But we know he's limited.

JVR, well he's ready. Strapping young lad who's just a real workhorse. Competitive af.

There's something about Oliver Sestan. From the way he looks, to his build & the way he finds space. Once they get his tank up to the level he'll be one to watch.

Oliver & Hunter were back at it today. Neither involved heavily... but they were crook just the other day so.

Gus does seem a bit heavy to me. He's never been a specimen, nor will he ever be, but yeah, the rig doesn't look in top shape. He's got time to work that out.

Last one, spoke to Choco, asked if there's any injury concerns & he said Nope. The boys looked good today.

That's me done.

🔴🔵

2 hours ago, Redleg said:

Don't think so.

It's more to do with soft hands, timing and the instant reaction of your hands, after the initial touch.

Marking a footy, is of course different to catching a smaller ball, like a cricket ball.

With the smaller ball it goes into your hand (s) and then is surrounded by the rest of the hand (s).

Marking is taking a grip of a football, that is strong enough to secure the ball, but not too strong as to cause it to rebound off the hands.

A basketballer, like a footballer, takes a bigger ball without juggling wherever possible and the techniques are similar, despite different ball shapes.

Sorry, just got carried away.

It is also positioning of the hands and eye contact with the ball that also helps.

51 minutes ago, stynewillalwaysbeonthevine said:

Has anyone dusted off their camera's this year? Can't wait to see the amazing photos demonlanders put up. Better than the clubs photographers imo. 

VideoCapture_20230113-154744.jpg

VideoCapture_20230113-155211.jpg

VideoCapture_20230113-155108.jpg

VideoCapture_20230113-155259.jpg

VideoCapture_20230113-155029.jpg

8 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

It is also positioning of the hands and eye contact with the ball that also helps.

I've found that when you stretch the hand and fingers just before marking, the softening hands seem to grasp the ball and reduce the bounce off the hand. Softening hands, not soft hands.

Timing works well, getting a good view of the ball, it's flight, and of course the hand/eye/body, coordination skill.

1 hour ago, kev martin said:

@RedLegs23

Were they still doing hard running after the sims?

Did you notice if Pickett was, for the midfield or forwards?

Was J.Smith doing any drills.

Did it look like, May, Brayshaw, or Petty, were still on modified programs?

How did Jefferson, Howes or Sestan train?

Not to sure Kev, i left after the 20min match sim so not sure what happened thereafter. Difinitely during the sims they were. 

Looked more mid to forward to me mate. 

Nah, as i said in my report, i reckon i spotted him breifly in the rehab group... barely did anything from what i saw of him.

Yeah so May & Brayshaw did some sideline runs together for a while, but also trained with the main group earlier on for some time. They couldn't be far off. Petty was with the main group & trained well. Was the best KPD out there.

Jefferson was there but barely sighted. Howe's did a couple nice things & pushed forward & kicked a goal. Played in the back six. Sestan doesn't have a tank yet but you can tell he knows how to play the game. Finds space nicely. 

The photos on MFC website look good, but,  I only know who half of them are  

I did wonder what joke Yze   had just been told,   glad he is still with us..

13 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

VAN ROOYEN LOOKS READY FOR ROUND 1. 

IN THE SENIORS NOT AT CASEY!

21 minutes ago, Go Dees!! said:

How about we make 2023 a year of positivity on Demonland?

You must be new around here

11 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

11 hours ago, binman said:

IN THE SENIORS NOT AT CASEY!

WHAT?!

Say What Will Ferrell GIF by truTV’s The Chris Gethard Show

12 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

So does T-Mac an BBB,  glad I'm not on the selection panel rd 1

Thanks Redlegs23, 12345, Bin, Kev and all other posters really enjoy reading the training reports, observations and views has a real good feel to it.!!!!

20 hours ago, RedLegs23 said:

Not to sure Kev, i left after the 20min match sim so not sure what happened thereafter. Difinitely during the sims they were. 

Looked more mid to forward to me mate. 

Nah, as i said in my report, i reckon i spotted him breifly in the rehab group... barely did anything from what i saw of him.

Yeah so May & Brayshaw did some sideline runs together for a while, but also trained with the main group earlier on for some time. They couldn't be far off. Petty was with the main group & trained well. Was the best KPD out there.

Jefferson was there but barely sighted. Howe's did a couple nice things & pushed forward & kicked a goal. Played in the back six. Sestan doesn't have a tank yet but you can tell he knows how to play the game. Finds space nicely. 

I would get Sestan folllowing ANB around and training for the next 2 months to get some endurance into him.

Actually maybe Tommo our latest time trial champ giving 2023 an even bigger red hot go than normal.

My surprise packets for 2023 are :

Tommo  Spargo  Howes Laurie Sestan Schache Taj and JJ.  All are IMO due  for breakout years and develop quicker than anticipated.  Most if all of them if they have the year of surprise ability our depth and improvement will be amazing.

Their level of improvement is greater than say ANB or Harmes of their 2022 form or expected level as a recruit.

so much to look forward to Dees fans.

1 hour ago, 58er said:

Tommo  Spargo  Howes Laurie Sestan Schache Taj and JJ.  All are IMO due  for breakout years and develop quicker than anticipated.  Most if all of them if they have the year of surprise ability our depth and improvement will be amazing.

I would also include Jefferson, if he can start getting his hands on the ball.

As for Laurie, make or break year. I don't think he is up to it, though would love to be proven wrong. He needs some swagger/confidence, and to get consistency of involvement and impact, at Casey. 

Tommo (Sparrow), Spargo, JJ and Bowey are ready to go. They know the system, and can now begin some leadership roles. Time for them to have their best years.

Taj, Howes, Chandler, and possibly McVee and Turner could all could get a go. Casey will have an interesting year with many on the cusp. Hoping they adapt well to the speed and intensity when/if they get the call up. 

Sestan and Schache, again, I reckon the call up will be determined by how they perform at Casey and what Goody wants with our forwardline, even if different experiences and ages. Schache also a cover for injuries to our talls and depends on how JVR (if gets a run) goes.

Our list is so strong and runs deep.

Hoping for Goody to give quite a few of them a run.

Tmac, Hibbo, Melksham, Salem, BBB, Harmes, Rivers, Tomlinson and ANB may be making way if they start falling off the pace and skills needed. More confident about Tmac, and Salem to keep their spots.

Edited by kev martin

Saw what looked to be pretty much the whole list out early in Yarra Park this morning doing an extra fitness session with kettle bells, rowing machine and the like. Didn't stand around and watch as it wasn't exactly footy stuff. For me Gus looks better in person than the training image everyone is talking about but I don't have any further insight. There are still questions about our best midfield mix and fewer sessions in the main group is unfortunately probably not the best prep. Dustin Martin was looking very fit over at Punt rd oval today, and seemed to be a few kgs down from last year.  

I've caught bits and pieces of the Gosch's sessions over the last couple of weeks. I'd agree that Sestan looks like the most comfortable of the draftees, I'd probably temper expectations for this year given he's pretty raw. You get some good things and some not so good things and I think they will want that gap bridged a bit before he's let loose. Schache has pleasantly surprised me watching how he performs in terms of intensity and tackling during the in-close drills.

5 hours ago, kev martin said:

Our list is so strong and runs deep.

Hoping for Goody to give quite a few of them a run.

Tmac, Hibbo, Melksham, Salem, BBB, Harmes, Rivers, Tomlinson and ANB may be making way if they start falling off the pace and skills needed. More confident about Tmac, and Salem to keep their spots.

I’ll be really disappointed if Salem falls into that category you’ve listed below re: players that may end up being Casey regulars.

Salem’s too good a player and has too good a skill set to not be automatic best 22 as opposed to your Tomlinson’s, Harmes’s, Hibberds, Rivers’s etc…

On 1/13/2023 at 2:16 AM, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Category B rookies face enormous challenges if they are ever to make it. I've always believed a person with Australian footballing skills but who is not fully fit has a much better chance of having a successful football career than an athlete who has to learn the skills. There are exceptions and I admire everyone that has a go, whether they make it or not. It makes the stories of success for players not bought up with Aussie Rules, most obviously Jim Stynes, but also Sean Wight, Zac Touhy, Tadgh Kennelly, and even Mason Cox, something we should all admire. However, I suspect Oliver Sestan might have a better chance of success than any recruit initially chosen because of their success as athletes but without any Australian football experience.  

Did you clench before writing this?

2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I’ll be really disappointed if Salem falls into that category you’ve listed below re: players that may end up being Casey regulars.

I agree. Just thought he had a bit of a disappointing end to last year. I expect him to pick up. Hoping he gets back to being in our top 10, as we need his decision making, poise and kicking skills.

36 minutes ago, kev martin said:

I agree. Just thought he had a bit of a disappointing end to last year. I expect him to pick up. Hoping he gets back to being in our top 10, as we need his decision making, poise and kicking skills.

Played most of last year less than 100%. Couldn’t settle into his year as he was carrying an injury that was more nuisance than debilitating injury.

10 hours ago, kev martin said:

Casey will have an interesting year with many on the cusp. Hoping they adapt well to the speed and intensity when/if they get the call up. 

I think Casey this year could be more of a breeding ground for us than last year. The spine will be pretty new which is exciting and and a host of second and third year players like Howes, Laurie, JVR, Woewoedin will be expected to push hard for selection.