Posted (edited)

The only certainty is Bedford out and Oliver in. 

The forward line had some reasonable function today so let’s see if it can do some damage against the Dogs.

Midfield is where we are most vulnerable despite our talent. We are too often caught out in stoppages allowing for really easy exits from the opposition. Whereas we have to do some quick handballing, dodging traffic etc for the same result. Not sure why that is , but our setups need some tweaking. Cats hurt us in a similar way last week.

Edited by CYB

Posted

As undoubtedly exciting as he is, I really can’t see JVR coming in this year. Very rare for any first year player to come in for top of the table teams, even more so for big forwards. The tank required for big forwards, especially playing our game style is massive. They get so far up the ground then are expected to get back at speed. I think he’ll need another preseason at least to be ready to play consistent AFL games. 

IN: Oliver, Petty

OUT: Bedford (still work to do), Tomlinson (a bit unlucky but Petty still ahead)

Posted

He'll never get dropped because he's a protected species but Tom Sparrow was absolutely woeful once again.

Butchered the footy and continued to either [censored] our transition chains up or give the footy directly back to a Port Adelaide player.

Started the game straight into the centre circle and was the obvious Oliver replacement. But 18 disposal going at 44% efficiency is simply a poor performance today.

Posted

Rivers deserves a run of games thought he was good today. Brayshaw effectively replaces bowey as a distributor who can intercept mark. Rivers offers playing tall/ small good dash and decent kick and can't get exploited like Bowey has been in a couple games this year. Bowser will be back but not sure if this year. Jordon doing great on the wing

Posted

Out bedford And in comes clarry 

and 

Tomlinson to sub if petty fit to play 

Posted

Melksham - 7 tackles including 2 great run downs. Kicked a goal and unselfishly gave one off to Ben Brown.

• Like 24
Posted
32 minutes ago, Demon17 said:

Fritsch's selfish efforts were shown up today by others doing the right thing. We need him at his best , but...

I would be astounded if the Riot Act isn't read to him unless there are extenuating circumstances. "..sorry Goody,  I didn't see Charlie over there..."   (replace Charlie with any other player)

Tomlinson was good enough today  to risk giving Lever the week if  necessary to help get him right. Petty back will facilitate this.

I hope they read the riot act out to him in capital letters. 

Posted

Tomlinson and Petty to play at opposite ends of ground (don’t care who goes where). If not working at half time, switch them. 

Tommo was great, too good to be dropped.

Wouldn’t be surprised if Melk stays in. Played a team first game. Can’t recall him ever tackling like that. 

Posted
6 minutes ago, layzie said:

I hope they read the riot act out to him in capital letters. 

I think that little Sunday chat with Steven May has got Melksham primed for September.

Posted
11 minutes ago, old55 said:

Melksham - 7 tackles including 2 great run downs. Kicked a goal and unselfishly gave one off to Ben Brown.

The best intensity and effort I have seen from him. Kudos Jake.

• Like 13
Posted
26 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

He'll never get dropped because he's a protected species but Tom Sparrow was absolutely woeful once again.

Butchered the footy and continued to either [censored] our transition chains up or give the footy directly back to a Port Adelaide player.

Started the game straight into the centre circle and was the obvious Oliver replacement. But 18 disposal going at 44% efficiency is simply a poor performance today.

A young VandenBerg 

Posted
43 minutes ago, dl4e said:

Oliver and Petty in. 

Melksham and Bedford out. 

Lever may be out injured and if he is I would bring Chandler in.

Chandler for Lever doesn’t make sense 

Posted
1 hour ago, JimmyGadson said:

Godwin's selection had me perplexed during the week. And nothing changed after today's game. 

How Bedford was given another opportunity after the last few weeks was bizarre and Melksham's inclusion was similarly left field. 

Neither did a thing to prove Goodwin made the right call. 

Agree on Bedford but he does have a great tank, his work rate looked good (from crappy tv angles) and Port’s dangerous back flankers never came in to the game. There’s not another alternative (Chandler, Dunstan, Laurie) that really demanded his spot. 

If you didn’t value Melksham’s game today despite all his usual Melkyness then you’re just being unfair to Melk and Goodwin. He was tasked with occupying Aliir and Clurey and he did what was required. Put in a solid stint defensively too. Not sure it was enough to keep the spot for next week but again, the alternatives aren’t inspiring. Melk did a successful job, a 51% pass maybe, but a pass none the less. No one can say Weid would’ve done the same. 

Posted

I’m worried about Salem. Has been very out of sorts since returning from injury.

He had Brown on a lead just before half time and missed him by a mile. Hitting the man on the mark. When playing well his disposal is exemplary but he’s way off it at the moment. Is he still carrying an injury and perhaps needs some time at Casey to find his touch again? Hard to argue that he’s bringing more than what Hunt or Rivers could. Maybe I’m being too hard on him but he’s playing so far below his best

Posted
47 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

Rivers deserves a run of games thought he was good today. Brayshaw effectively replaces bowey as a distributor who can intercept mark. Rivers offers playing tall/ small good dash and decent kick and can't get exploited like Bowey has been in a couple games this year. Bowser will be back but not sure if this year. Jordon doing great on the wing

Yeah Rivers was fine. 

He really does crack in and because of his body size he doesn't get pushed off the ball unlike Bowey.

He stays in for me and takes Weightman.

I'm a big Bowey fan but felt body strength of Geelong was too overwhelming for him. Would like to see him push up to a wing or half forward which is his more natural position. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, BDA said:

I’m worried about Salem. Has been very out of sorts since returning from injury.

He had Brown on a lead just before half time and missed him by a mile. Hitting the man on the mark. When playing well his disposal is exemplary but he’s way off it at the moment. Is he still carrying an injury and perhaps needs some time at Casey to find his touch again? Hard to argue that he’s bringing more than what Hunt or Rivers could. Maybe I’m being too hard on him but he’s playing so far below his best

Thought the same at half time but he rallied in the second half. It’s purely an issue of fitness and the tempo of the game, not convinced an easy kill at VFL will solve either of those if he’s recovering well between games 

Posted

Old Man Covid will throw a lot of teams over the next 6 weeks.

A bit like going without a beer I hope our guys are sensible but even then it will be a lottery

Posted
12 minutes ago, BDA said:

Beside being underdone, Brayshaw racking up the pill keeps Salem's output down 

Posted

The more I think about, I reckon Melk gets another chance. 

Those inside 50 bullets are something we have been missing (granted he needs to deliver a few more of them) & if he can combine that with tackling pressure and a team role based game :- there is still some hope for him. 

Posted

Anyone else think Fristch should be dropped for his series of selfish play?

I’m worried about him being above our selfless culture

Posted
1 minute ago, DubDee said:

Our selfless culture has always involved 22 blokes pinging shots on goal. 

Go through the tapes since ‘21 and you’ll find so much T Mc, Brown, Harmes, Gawn, Pickett, Nibbler, having wild shots at goal. 

Fritsch adding a 3rd howler in 4 weeks isn’t good but I liked the general competitiveness of his game far better today. Think he saved himself by the way he bounced back after it. If they didn’t drop him last week why would they now?

Posted
2 minutes ago, DubDee said:

The danger is he starts doubting himself and goes too far the other way. 

Reality is he is a good shot for goal, and we don’t have the luxury of squeezing out a consistent 2-3 goal per week player. 

It’s not an instant fix. Will take time for him to address it. I think he should be told to back himself most of the time, but just make sure he does pass off, when there is a certain goal on offer. 

Posted
Just now, DeeSpencer said:

Our selfless culture has always involved 22 blokes pinging shots on goal. 

Go through the tapes since ‘21 and you’ll find so much T Mc, Brown, Harmes, Gawn, Pickett, Nibbler, having wild shots at goal. 

Fritsch adding a 3rd howler in 4 weeks isn’t good but I liked the general competitiveness of his game far better today. Think he saved himself by the way he bounced back after it. If they didn’t drop him last week why would they now?

There was signs of self correction. Was much more eager to pass it off, after the disaster in the first quarter.