Omeara pretty good today.

Aish playing the Linger's wing role pretty well this season.  Need to put a cooler on him and Brayshaw and a hard nut on Young to pressure him off those long kicks.

Dockers play a very similar game to the Hawk's during their dynasty when the ball is won from skinny side ball ups / throw ins.

They all run in diagonal pattern to the fat side & through the middle, sharing the ball looking for the outnumber overlap, all the way to the other HFF looking for a target (Walters etc).  If you don't cover the fat side on those ball ups & throw ins....good luck!

Edited by Demon Dynasty

5 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

Freo looking fit and fast. Let’s hope they didn’t get the memo about Loading. It’ll be a tough game style to play for 26 weeks.

You're kidding aren't you?

They were running up and down on the spot in the last and had very little of their outside speed and run all game.

Good win. But a touch lucky as the hawks smashed them in terms of inside 50s but wasted their opportunities.

And freo made the most of theirs, with some help by some woeful defence.

Very impressed with the Hawks in-your- face frontal pressure and chase downs from behind today.

Their 'hunt' and effort was immense and caused plenty of turnovers you usually don't see so often from the Dockers.

Reminds me of us in periods last season and throughout the finals.  Really need to find that pressure and hunt in this second half if we're to take out most of the challengers from here.  Hopefully starting on Monday.  And more so after May returns.

Freo are still inconsistent and young. If this game was in melb they lose to another average team

You have to impressed with Mitchell and the hawks. This is their version of bottoming out. Time will tell if it’s the right strategy but they are looking promising 

Lions have all their tall fwds back now. Expect them to put on some big scores. Might take a while to get them in form though

if they are off and Saints bring manic pressure this might be a good game 

27 minutes ago, binman said:

You're kidding aren't you?

They were running up and down on the spot in the last and had very little of their outside speed and run all game.

Good win. But a touch lucky as the hawks smashed them in terms of inside 50s but wasted their opportunities.

And freo made the most of theirs, with some help by some woeful defence.

In the third quarter they did what they needed to do to win the game, and they clearly had the legs to do it.

Maybe I’ve been tainted by what we’ve dished up after half time the last few weeks, but they have a lot more energy to my eye than we currently do.

Enjoyed the game. Great contest and can see both teams as contenders - Freo now and Hawthorn when they get a bit more consistency. Not too many weaknesses in Freo's list although that forward line will crumble. Fair dinkum, Michael Walters looks for a free with every touch of the pill!

7 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

In the third quarter they did what they needed to do to win the game, and they clearly had the legs to do it.

Maybe I’ve been tainted by what we’ve dished up after half time the last few weeks, but they have a lot more energy to my eye than we currently do.

Being neck and neck with Brisvegas, vying for a top 4 probably necessitates them NOT loading as early as us...

Looking at their block of games against relevant top 4 competitors, I'd be putting in a greater block of training post Carlton...

They wouldn't be necessary doing so when coming up against Melbourne, or Brisbane.

ie: You'd rather win against your direct competitors, and then risk losing against weaker teams...

(look at me putting on my exercise physiologist hat!)

1250033779_ScreenShot2022-06-11at19_28_08.thumb.png.71f54fe7e228980baddb0849601966c0.png

Edited by Engorged Onion

Ump #22 making yet another terrible decision.

4 minutes ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

Terrible free for deliberate rushed

Was outside 9m. Clear free kick

2 hours ago, loges said:

Muppet Nichols umpiring, I'd hoped we'd seen the last of him.

At least we won’t have him Monday - nor that nasty Dee hater #2

7 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Was outside 9m. Clear free kick

Yes - but a ridiculous knee jerk rule. 

Apart from that one even, this game (B v StK)  is being grossly over umpired.  

Joe Daniher once again showing why he isn’t a Nobel Prize winner. Just plain dumb running on to the mark from behind play. 

20 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Yes - but a ridiculous knee jerk rule. 

Apart from that one even, this game (B v StK)  is being grossly over umpired.  

I actually like the rule. I didn’t like all the rushed behinds we used to have. Defenders have to defend now and keep the ball in resulted in better quality footy 

agree on the second point though. Most scores have come from frees. Eg the second goal for Brisbane in the first Q for a high contact should never have been paid

3 minutes ago, Beetle said:

No team will beat us once we find our groove again. 

Aha!   The old missing groove. 

Looks like Brad Hill is simply out there to get his steps up tonight. 

I can’t remember seeing any game so overumpired as this one. Nor particularly biased, just overdone. 

2 hours ago, The heart beats true said:

Yep  you're probably right.

Freo looked fatigued to my eye, and so i thought it wss a really meritorious win.

They're a good team and have more genuinely fast players than us, which gives them an x factor.

Catch 22 again stay a game, maybe two clear on top with a Saints win or three games clear of fifth if the Lions win.