Love Mayzie’s work. I knew little about him before he came to us. 
his Post Game interview in 2020 from Cairns sold me

He was just honest “what we put out there tonight was just not good enough”, a year later we win the Flag. 
May should win the Brownlow for what he does, but we know he never will. 
He looks like The Terminator in a Melbourne Jumper (imagine him as a direct opponent!!)

and so well spoken…

3 hours ago, jnrmac said:

I can't think of a better or more impressive trade into our club that Steven May in the past 50 years. He is an absolute rock.

When we changed our recruiting after Prendergast and started looking for fierce competitors we started getting guys like Viney, Lever, Tracc, Oliver, Langdon and May

Outstanding individuals.

Agree a brilliant trade in.

May came courtesy of Jesse leaving. We got Jesse from the compo pick we got for that number one pick bloke we had for an instant, who left no mark on the MFC and whose name I have forgotten and actually erased from my mind.

As to the competitors we drafted, that was a non negotiable from guys like Brendan McCartney, whose mantra was that the game is won at the contest.

Also agree that they are outstanding individuals and even more of course like Gus, Sparrow, Rivers, Bowey and others can be added to that group of fierce competitors.

15 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Love Mayzie’s work. I knew little about him before he came to us. 
his Post Game interview in 2020 from Cairns sold me

He was just honest “what we put out there tonight was just not good enough”, a year later we win the Flag. 
May should win the Brownlow for what he does, but we know he never will. 
He looks like The Terminator in a Melbourne Jumper (imagine him as a direct opponent!!)

and so well spoken…

Hope he looks after his body and we can get another 4-5 years out of him.

IMO Oliver and May are our two most important players.

Just now, Redleg said:

Hope he looks after his body and we can get another 4-5 years out of him.

IMO Oliver and May are our two most important players.

Yes indeed. Players like Steven can set the standard for years after they finish. Petty and Bowey have the benchmark Teachers

the targetting and recruiting of May was a masterstroke in the rebuilding of The MFC

Still don’t know if he was worth the Jesse Hogan pick…

Just kidding the guy is a bloody legend and one of my favourite players, as the guys said on the show he’s a great person to have interviewed as he’s not a robot with his responses. He gives honest answers and is such awesome ambassador for our club. 

Loved hearing him say he gave Trac a spray with 3min to go in the Grand Final with us 60+ points up! 

I liked the way Gary Lyon pretty much told him not to give away too much info that others teams could pick up on and potentially use to their advantage.  

Great viewing.

I always knew he was a very good player at the Suns, but, nowhere near the level he's been able to maintain at Melbourne.

Big, strong, scary, smart and skillful. What an absolute ripper. 

39 minutes ago, Wodjathefirst said:

I liked the way Gary Lyon pretty much told him not to give away too much info that others teams could pick up on and potentially use to their advantage.  

Always gives me the jeebees listening to our players talk tactics with the media.
Tell 'em nothin' boys.

There was important game last year and they had May out on the ground before the game discussing our backline structure and how he and Lever work together.
 I was sitting there thinking "WTF Maysie.... Too much info." 😕

Loved his interview there though.
He speaks very well. 

Edited by Fork 'em

Great player, leader and ambassador for our club he speaks so well. At his peak at age 30 as well I reckon he could be one of those guys still playing top footy at 34, plenty left in the tank

Edited by sisso

6 minutes ago, sisso said:

Great player, leader and ambassador for our club he speaks so well. At his peak at age 30 as well I reckon he could be one of those guys still playing top footy at 34, plenty left in the tank

He could easily play a Hibberd or even Salem-style role after he starts to slow down. Mid 30s for sure, injury permitting. 

2 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Yeah he is definitely handsome, and at 29 it's not even creepy for me to comment on because he's not that much younger than me 😁

I believe he's taken. Our own WCW has first dibs.

3 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

I'll add handsome with an impish grin to his qualities.☺️

Interesting, I’ve never really noticed. 

20CBA107-B56E-4A0A-9D82-A553B16D801D.gif.be72c42b4e68473f514ae34553420e49.gif

28 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said:

We’ve broken up, Maze. Hard to maintain a relationship while 500 metres apart. 😁

Just now, WalkingCivilWar said:

We’ve broken up, Maze. Hard to maintain a relationship while 500 metres apart. 😁

He's just playing hard to get. Have you tried yelling "I love you Steven" from the cheer squad after every goal?

1 minute ago, Mazer Rackham said:

He's just playing hard to get. Have you tried yelling "I love you Steven" from the cheer squad after every goal?

Duh 🙄 why do you think I joined the cheer squad in the first place?

Incidentally, the ‘Army’ invited me to help make the banner this week. And with that comes the entitlement of raising said banner on game day. That’ll be my best opportunity to declare my undying love. It’ll also be security’s best opportunity to try out that new headlock method of removing undesirables. 

8 hours ago, Deeoldfart said:

Maysie is always articulate, open and honest in his interviews.

I laughed when Garry told him to basically to stop giving away their tactics.

Great interview tho.

1 hour ago, Mazer Rackham said:

I believe I’m also taken but perhaps for May things can change 😂

9 hours ago, ElDiablo14 said:

We are definitely blessed with many leaders down and up the field.

Gawny, Trac, May, Lever, Viney, Angus.

Each with their unique style of leadership.

Um Clarry Choo Choo??? Mate if I played with him I would be SOOOOOO INSPIRED, I would willingly climb over broken glass with him and then share that Large as life grin that he enables with his teammates that definately show Love Empathy and Genuine care and concern for those around him as an "On Field" GENERAL! Sign me up Son!!!!

5 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Um Clarry Choo Choo??? Mate if I played with him I would be SOOOOOO INSPIRED, I would willingly climb over broken glass with him and then share that Large as life grin that he enables with his teammates that definately show Love Empathy and Genuine care and concern for those around him as an "On Field" GENERAL! Sign me up Son!!!!

Clayton is definitely a very special player, however he doesn't seem one of the most vocal from the group.

He can definitely lead with his relentless commitment to the contest and footy proes.

Great interview.  May is so honest and loves footy and loves the team.  He’s the sort of guy who you want to play footy with and he demands your best.  

The “experts” laughed and ridiculed the Dees after 2019. Suns took pick 6 and drafted Ben King. Predictions of him being a 10-15 year full forward superstar.  May was injured in 2019 as we struggled.  

But May has proven to be an amazing recruit.  A leader. A premiership player.  

Clipped version I found on YouTube.

Love how Mayzie speaks. No straight bat being played here. Happy to be open about his career and setbacks.