Deedubs 157 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 Guys I don't like to be a negative Nelly but I thought today was horrendous. :( Can someone lift my spirits!? Things that I saw: - A complete inability to defend the switch kick or outlet kick. - Inability to have an answer for Dylan Moore who absolutely tore us up. - Brayshaw having way too much confidence kicking on his left foot. Kicked it on the full twice. - Inability to make good decisions going forward. Time and time and time and time again. - No game sense. Giving away dumb frees. But also going inside 50m. A stoppage going inside 50m is a massive win when the game is close. Instead guys like Fritsch, Spargo and half the team turned it directly over to hawthorn. Almost cost us the game. Dunstan was just about the only guy the went inside 50m with any sense of game smarts. Straight to the hot spot. - A complete lack of defensive pressure. 3 Quote
binman 44,824 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 9 minutes ago, demon3165 said: Forward line big problem, teams can predict we go pockets, we got away with it last year but need to change up to many entries are just bombed in hope that can get sorted out. We got away with it? We won the bloody flag! 9 1 4 Quote
Beetle 4,739 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 13 minutes ago, Tom Dyson said: A wakeup call without losing is a good result, hawthorn showed everyone the blueprint on how to beat us, take it quick through the corridor and keep lever accountable. Just shows how important Petty is to our backline. When Petty plays Lever doesn’t need to be accountable. 2 Quote
Demonstone 23,573 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 We were shaken, but not stirred. 3 3 7 Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 I don't think Bedford deserves to be sub again for awhile. I missed seeing Goody out on the field hugging the players after the win 2 Quote
TheWiz 787 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 Awesome by Bedford. That running crum and his running goal were fantastic. Very hard to do and without him we would have looked even more flat. Depending on how some of the team recover, would love to see him get a second gig. 6 Quote
BrisbaneDemon 1,575 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 Tmac went against the team ethos of playing unselfish. Unreal win with 6 premiership players out! 1 Quote
Nasher 33,686 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 1 minute ago, Deedubs said: Guys I don't like to be a negative Nelly but I thought today was horrendous. :( Can someone lift my spirits!? Things that I saw: - A complete inability to defend the switch kick or outlet kick. - Inability to have an answer for Dylan Moore who absolutely tore us up. - Brayshaw having way too much confidence kicking on his left foot. Kicked it on the full twice. - Inability to make good decisions going forward. Time and time and time and time again. - No game sense. Giving away dumb frees. But also going inside 50m. A stoppage going inside 50m is a massive win when the game is close. Instead guys like Fritsch, Spargo and half the team turned it directly over to hawthorn. Almost cost us the game. Dunstan was just about the only guy the went inside 50m with any sense of game smarts. Straight to the hot spot. - A complete lack of defensive pressure. - We won - We had a massively disrupted week - Hawthorn threw absolutely everything they had at us - We won Save the overanalysing it for the replay. This was a tough game, we still won and we’re 7-0. 20 3 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,716 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 2 minutes ago, Deedubs said: Guys I don't like to be a negative Nelly but I thought today was horrendous. :( Can someone lift my spirits!? Things that I saw: - A complete inability to defend the switch kick or outlet kick. - Inability to have an answer for Dylan Moore who absolutely tore us up. - Brayshaw having way too much confidence kicking on his left foot. Kicked it on the full twice. - Inability to make good decisions going forward. Time and time and time and time again. - No game sense. Giving away dumb frees. But also going inside 50m. A stoppage going inside 50m is a massive win when the game is close. Instead guys like Fritsch, Spargo and half the team turned it directly over to hawthorn. Almost cost us the game. Dunstan was just about the only guy the went inside 50m with any sense of game smarts. Straight to the hot spot. - A complete lack of defensive pressure. You must have been watching a different game. 1 Quote
Guest Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 4 minutes ago, Tom Dyson said: Thought Jake Melksham had a great game. Competed well, won ground ball nicely, used it well, calm experienced head when the ball was pinging about. Quick reminder to everyone that he isn't done yet and still has something to offer. 100% ❤️💙 Quote
Redlagged 813 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 1 minute ago, Deedubs said: Guys I don't like to be a negative Nelly but I thought today was horrendous. :( Can someone lift my spirits!? Things that I saw: - A complete inability to defend the switch kick or outlet kick. - Inability to have an answer for Dylan Moore who absolutely tore us up. - Brayshaw having way too much confidence kicking on his left foot. Kicked it on the full twice. - Inability to make good decisions going forward. Time and time and time and time again. - No game sense. Giving away dumb frees. But also going inside 50m. A stoppage going inside 50m is a massive win when the game is close. Instead guys like Fritsch, Spargo and half the team turned it directly over to hawthorn. Almost cost us the game. Dunstan was just about the only guy the went inside 50m with any sense of game smarts. Straight to the hot spot. - A complete lack of defensive pressure. 'Can someone lift my spirits?' We have won 14 games in a row, including a Grand Final by 12 goals. Does that help? 8 2 5 Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 4 minutes ago, Deedubs said: Guys I don't like to be a negative Nelly but I thought today was horrendous. :( Can someone lift my spirits!? Things that I saw: - A complete inability to defend the switch kick or outlet kick. - Inability to have an answer for Dylan Moore who absolutely tore us up. - Brayshaw having way too much confidence kicking on his left foot. Kicked it on the full twice. - Inability to make good decisions going forward. Time and time and time and time again. - No game sense. Giving away dumb frees. But also going inside 50m. A stoppage going inside 50m is a massive win when the game is close. Instead guys like Fritsch, Spargo and half the team turned it directly over to hawthorn. Almost cost us the game. Dunstan was just about the only guy the went inside 50m with any sense of game smarts. Straight to the hot spot. - A complete lack of defensive pressure. We are sitting on top undefeated Ask bowey how we're going. He's yet to lose Quote
BoBo 2,956 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 5 minutes ago, Deedubs said: Guys I don't like to be a negative Nelly but I thought today was horrendous. :( Can someone lift my spirits!? Things that I saw: - A complete inability to defend the switch kick or outlet kick. - Inability to have an answer for Dylan Moore who absolutely tore us up. - Brayshaw having way too much confidence kicking on his left foot. Kicked it on the full twice. - Inability to make good decisions going forward. Time and time and time and time again. - No game sense. Giving away dumb frees. But also going inside 50m. A stoppage going inside 50m is a massive win when the game is close. Instead guys like Fritsch, Spargo and half the team turned it directly over to hawthorn. Almost cost us the game. Dunstan was just about the only guy the went inside 50m with any sense of game smarts. Straight to the hot spot. - A complete lack of defensive pressure. -You support the Premiership defenders that haven’t lost a game. -It isn’t 2011 Melbourne team. -You’re in the middle of the greatest football period of your life. 13 1 Quote
deanox 10,070 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 26 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: bank it and move on Very few highlights save that Bedford is ready. Not sure what if anything it did to solve the Weid v T Mac debate Need to play a lot better next week I reckon every time they play together with Brown we get the same nil all result. 1 Quote
Roger Mellie 4,205 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 Toby 'The Crumb' Bedford Great game young fella! 1 Quote
#11-TonyAnderson 868 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 17 minutes ago, leave it to deever said: not a bad effort without,.....ANB....Sparrow.....Salem.....Jackson....Petty and Pickett. 6 premier players. And Hibbo - says Hi 6 Quote
Garbo 1,567 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 Nothing tonight made me more comfortable about next week but then again 5 forcefully changes due to covid and we won. Next week will be our first test against a fellow in form team the outcome of which will tell us a lot. Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 10 minutes ago, Deedubs said: Guys I don't like to be a negative Nelly but I thought today was horrendous. :( Can someone lift my spirits!? Things that I saw: - A complete inability to defend the switch kick or outlet kick. - Inability to have an answer for Dylan Moore who absolutely tore us up. - Brayshaw having way too much confidence kicking on his left foot. Kicked it on the full twice. - Inability to make good decisions going forward. Time and time and time and time again. - No game sense. Giving away dumb frees. But also going inside 50m. A stoppage going inside 50m is a massive win when the game is close. Instead guys like Fritsch, Spargo and half the team turned it directly over to hawthorn. Almost cost us the game. Dunstan was just about the only guy the went inside 50m with any sense of game smarts. Straight to the hot spot. - A complete lack of defensive pressure. You appear to have a new variant of MFCSS. Rather than being miserable when we lose you’re miserable when we win. 3 8 Quote
demon3165 2,865 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 6 minutes ago, binman said: We got away with it? We won the bloody flag! Flag was last year, teams move on we have got away with it for now, with amount of entries over the last few weeks we have to stop looking to kick to both pockets to deliver to, I know it's part of the game plan but sometimes you need more than plan A. Quote
deanox 10,070 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 Sitting behind the goals it was really interesting how Hawthorn tried pierce our zone by repeated switching. In the first it worked really well. And they kept troubling us all day. Similarly When running out of defence they did a good job of getting out of our zone, often having overlap players on the outside and then switching back over the heads of our guys who were slow to come across. I really thought that the loss of ANBs relentless work and Kosi's harrassing was a big part of this. Bedford tried but wasn't as effective. Melksham had his moments but doesn't have the defensive workrate. I really think those two are critical for our structure and it will be interesting to see if teams try to counter our structure by taking those two out of it in future games. 8 Quote
Redlagged 813 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 1 minute ago, BDA said: You appear to have a new variant of MFCSS. Rather than being miserable when we lose you’re miserable when we win. Nice. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 Not a game I'll write home about but no problem! Bank the chocolates or take the biscuits or whatever the cool guys say. Maximus Dorsi, no one can stop this guy. TB12 (The new TB12 for some people who catch my drift) you put in a nice shift! Benny Brown presenting well. Jack Viney just battering anyone who wants to stand in his road. Clarry and Trac shining through like well filtered cream. Had a bunch of natural fans in front of me.One Pies, one Dons and one Port Adelaide who told us they were there to see a good team play and catch up. It's so great being that provider of entertainment. We got through and hopefully there's not too many more into isolation this week. Had a few bevies, intend on having a few more, Go Dees! 3 Quote
Deedubs 157 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 9 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said: You must have been watching a different game. What did you see? I saw us play 1 bad quarter, 1 average quarter, 1 good quarter and 1 terrible quarter. 2 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 (edited) 29 minutes ago, chook fowler said: Lever is better with Petty playing. Everyone is better when Petty is playing. He is criminally underrated because he does as much interceptions as Lever and you can’t stop both. Of course our pressure was off when we missed ANB and Pickett. We had Melksham and Dunstan playing the ANB role but sadly neither are half as good as him defensively. Bedford was very good and definitely made up for the loss of Pickett. I hate playing 3 talls up forward but I thought Weid rucked well. To have such a disruptive week and still win against a team that has pushed a lot of sides is a really good result. If anyone told you we would be 5 players down with Covid and without our senior coach you’d put that down as a loss. Bowey is amazing. Had a lot of clearances at half back and I still think he ends up as a winger. Edited April 30, 2022 by Jaded No More 7 Quote
dees189227 12,512 Posted April 30, 2022 Posted April 30, 2022 (edited) Max had 29 disposals with his 2 goals. Not bad by the skipper Edited April 30, 2022 by dees189227 12 1 Quote