leave it to deever 17,618 Posted December 4, 2021 Posted December 4, 2021 (edited) Imho, I reckon Dusty Martin played his best footy about five years ago. Not saying hes now a bad player but at 25 his stats and club votes indicate his best year. So has Trac peaked at 25? Even if he has it's not to say he can't keep playing at the same level for for the next five years. Oliver is 24. And we have a great deal of good players under 25. Obviously it's not just age ...its also the number of games but all things being equal is 25 the consensus for a players best year? Should we be looking for another young tall forward? Edited December 5, 2021 by leave it to deever 1 Quote
Fritta and Turner 4,696 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 I would have thought 25-27. Depending on your strength, even longer. For example Robert Harvey could run all day and no one could keep up with him. Trac missed a year with a knee and i dont think has peaked yet and Oliver hasn't (I hope). As our goal to goal line is almost old enough to play for Geelong then yes another tall is required. 3 1 1 Quote
TeamPlayedFine39 8,525 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 It’s completely subjective - many players peak at 19, others aren’t even considered by recruiters until they’re 22. Its seemed over the years, the general consensus is 26 - 29 is the sweet spot for age, strength, durability and experience. Looking at recent Brownlow winners, though an imperfect metric, gives us some idea… Dangerfield 26yo Martin 26yo Mitchell 25yo Fyfe 27yo Neale 27yo Wines 26yo 2 4 Quote
adonski 13,274 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 Mid 20s for midfielders Late 20s for talls 3 1 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,555 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 25-29 would be the sweet spot as a general rule, I would’ve thought. Quote
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted December 5, 2021 Author Posted December 5, 2021 11 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: 25-29 would be the sweet spot as a general rule, I would’ve thought. Yep given Oliver@ 24 Salem, Trac, Gus and Langdon @ 25 Quote
FlashInThePan 1,893 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 This is a really interesting question. I would definitely agree that players reach their peak for accumulating stats in their mid twenties or so. I think that is also pretty much what the Brownlow measures. Many players start to have more impact with fewer possessions as they head toward their late twenties though. Dusty is a great example of that, Burgoyne another. 1 Quote
Garbo 1,567 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 (edited) Physical peak 25-26, game knowledge and how to put it together 30+ For most the culmination of the 2 will be around 28-29 but if they can keep there physical condition up it’s almost indefinite these days, just look at messi or ronaldo in soccer or Brady in nfl or djokovic in tennis arguably they got better post 30 Edited December 5, 2021 by Garbo 2 Quote
Cranky Franky 2,270 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 Think its more about games. Tom Hafey & Allan Jeans reckoned as a rule players had to play 85 games before they peaked. 1 1 Quote
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted December 5, 2021 Author Posted December 5, 2021 (edited) 46 minutes ago, FlashInThePan said: This is a really interesting question. I would definitely agree that players reach their peak for accumulating stats in their mid twenties or so. I think that is also pretty much what the Brownlow measures. Many players start to have more impact with fewer possessions as they head toward their late twenties though. Dusty is a great example of that, Burgoyne another. Thanks Fitp. I was thinking about the age of our mid players and others who starred this year like Lever and Salem. If 25 is the consensus...it partially explains our success this year. Edited December 5, 2021 by leave it to deever Quote
Guest Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 2 minutes ago, KingDingAling said: 25-27 Bloody Norah. That would kill an elephant! Quote
Bang Bang Bang 5,875 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 Depends on the player really. Franklin and Judd played their best footy at 21, where as Hawkins reached new heights at 32-33 and is showing no signs of slowing down. I'd also say that modern players are generally more durable than they used to be. I remember when 30 was generally the age you'd expect a player to bow out. It's more like 32-35 now. May and Gawn are both turning 30 very soon but have fresh AA blazers in the wardrobe and should be at their peak a while yet. Trac and Clarry honestly have an eternity of good footy left in them. 5 Quote
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted December 5, 2021 Author Posted December 5, 2021 I think I was wondering age wise how we will fare in the future. I think we will be relevant with this current list for at least the next five to seven years and win at least one more cup. Hopefully two. Quote
Biffen 12,949 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 About 1am is when I do my best work. 2 Quote
bush demon 2,209 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 9 hours ago, leave it to deever said: Imho, I reckon Dusty Martin played his best footy about five years ago. Not saying hes now a bad player but at 25 his stats and club votes indicate his best year. So has Trac peaked at 25? Even if he has it's not to say he can't keep playing at the same level for for the next five years. Oliver is 24. And we have a great deal of good players under 25. Obviously it's not just age ...its also the number of games but all things being equal is 25 the consensus for a players best year? Should we be looking for another young tall forward? Is DM a one-trick pony? Just asking. Quote
DeeSpencer 26,682 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 I'm paraphrasing but I'm pretty sure in the Last Dance, Michael Jordan describes his physical peak in the late 80's when he was mid 20's but his mental peak didn't come until the 90's and only got stronger through that period of winning championships. He won his first championship at 28 and I think that's about the time when physical ability and mental capacity in both understanding your own game and team work combine. But it's different for all players and particular sports. I think there's a lot of AFL footballers who excel at about 23-27 and after that probably start to lose a bit of step given the physical nature and the extreme athletic demands. Repeat injuries can cause a toll too. Other players who rely more on skills and smarts and have the appetite for slowly but steadily improving sections of their game can get stronger and stronger through their 20's and even in to their 30's. 2 1 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,863 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 i think the athletic demands of 'modern footy' has meant that players are hitting their peaks later, once they have the incredible fitness base that is required to compete against experienced, hardened opposition Quote
adonski 13,274 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 Salem will play til he's 38. Skills persist. 1 Quote
John Crow Batty 8,893 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 (edited) When do players peak? How long is a piece of string? What’s more relevant is how long does it take a team peak? in our case I would say the string is about as long as four premierships. Edited December 5, 2021 by John Crow Batty Quote
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted December 5, 2021 Author Posted December 5, 2021 The consensus seems to be mid 20s. I was thinking about this because I was thinking how many key players had a great year. Fritta 24 Oliver24 Trac 25 Lever 25 Langdon 25 Gus 25 So I think next year we should go even better. We seem to have the perfect mix of players ages. Quote
Nasher 33,686 Posted December 5, 2021 Posted December 5, 2021 11 hours ago, adonski said: Salem will play til he's 38. Skills persist. I’m 38 and while I’ve obviously never been an athlete, it’s really stark how much more easily I get sore, and how much harder it is to maintain condition even compared to my early 30s, and that’s without decades of punishment of elite contact sport. There’s a very good reason why few players can sustain the training required for that long and it’s got little to do with skill. Quote
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted December 5, 2021 Author Posted December 5, 2021 (edited) 15 minutes ago, Nasher said: I’m 38 and while I’ve obviously never been an athlete, it’s really stark how much more easily I get sore, and how much harder it is to maintain condition even compared to my early 30s, and that’s without decades of punishment of elite contact sport. There’s a very good reason why few players can sustain the training required for that long and it’s got little to do with skill. I'm a good deal older than you Nasher but I remember thinking how Fletcher was still playing for the Don's past your age. I have no idea how he did it. Its probably easier for a fullback who probably doesnt run as much as other positions but he was still a freak of nature. Edited December 5, 2021 by leave it to deever 1 Quote
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted December 5, 2021 Author Posted December 5, 2021 14 hours ago, bush demon said: Is DM a one-trick pony? Just asking. Nup. You dont win a Norm Smith and Brownlow with only one trick in your kit. Quote