Posted

Have seen no reportage of these two since GF. Crackers always talked the Dees down in favour of his beloved North. Stan never really showed the love of the red and blue either, after spending most of his career as a champion in a losing side. Stan's first three games in 1965 had been in the Dees' (very briefly)  undefeated premiership team.

Wash ur mouth out Bush Dee, I have it on EXCELLENT authority from another player of the era that these two and Stan in particular were absolutely WRAPPED in the GF! Take that to the bank!!

Ha!

While he played more games for the club than I ever will, Crackers literally wrote a book about his career as ruck coach at Collingwood! I've also heard him say on radio once that he had no love for us.

crackers.thumb.jpg.87aee42ee834c318d5baddac7b14dd62.jpg

If he tried jumping on the bandwagon now, he'd get as much love from me as Mark Jackson would. Or Cameron Schwab. 

I heard Stan speak at an MFC function around 2003 might have even been the B&F. All he talked about in his speech that night was his love for the red and blue and his deep regret that he couldn't help bring us premierships. Another time I heard him speak at length about Norm Smith and how he helped shape him into not only the footballer but the person he became. Make no mistake there is much love there.

Edited by layzie

• Author
  On 06/10/2021 at 07:02, picket fence said:

Wash ur mouth out Bush Dee, I have it on EXCELLENT authority from another player of the era that these two and Stan in particular were absolutely WRAPPED in the GF! Take that to the bank!!

Well I'm pleased to hear that. Alves was my hero 'in the day'.

On 06/10/2021 at 07:07, layzie said:

I heard Stan speak at an MFC function around 2003 might have even been the B&F. All he talked about in his speech that night was his love for the red and blue and his deep regrets that he couldn't help bring us premierships. Another time I heard him speak at length about Norm Smith and how he shaped him into not only the footballer but the person he became. Make no mistake there is much love there.

I also think Stan was also a conspicuous presence at the club when Jimmy tried to bring us together during the 'Foundation Heroes' era.

On 06/10/2021 at 07:09, bush demon said:

I think Alves had a falling out with Skilton, someone can correct me on that.

Ah yes heard the same thing! Look, I have had some meetings/dealings with Stan and he is a magnificent human being and passionate Dee. Just a great bloke!!

On 06/10/2021 at 07:14, picket fence said:

Ah yes heard the same thing! Look, I have had some meetings/dealings with Stan and he is a magnificent human being and passionate Dee. Just a great bloke!!

Me too Picket. His playing career was well before my time but just after his time coaching the Saints ended my school had him down to take a few of our training sessions.

He's one of those people you don't forget.

On 06/10/2021 at 07:09, bush demon said:

I think Alves had a falling out with Skilton, someone can correct me on that.

Yes he did. Wrote that senior players came to him requesting Skilton be removed. He passed this on to the committee, Skilton found out, blamed Alves & demanded he be sacked. The Club backed the coach & that was it.

I loved Alves, my favourite player till Robbie came.  A champion & regular state rep.

I use to speak to Crackers a few times a week for a number of years when I lived in Maribyrnong as he use to take his son to a mate of mines place for boxing training . He never once said a bad word against the MFC but he did have an intense dislike of Cameron Schwab.

Until this year I always felt it was akin to having teeth removed for Gerard Healy to reminisce positively about his days at Melbourne 

On 06/10/2021 at 07:46, joeboy said:

Until this year I always felt it was akin to having teeth removed for Gerard Healy to reminisce positively about his days at Melbourne 

Gerard Healy: Still haven't forgiven

My very 1st autograph was Stan Alves.
Before training MCG Jolimont end goal square.

Alves and Wells - both such huge losses. Alves was a gun, absolute gun. I was only young but footy obsessed and Alves was part of what made me listen on the radio and check the scores of a Saturday. I reckon he would be rapt to see a red and blue flag. 

On 06/10/2021 at 07:48, Colin B. Flaubert said:

20 pieces of silver like the rest of them and the list grows Scully, Howe etc.

Prefer to talk about those who stayed.

Turns out $cully should have stayed with the Dees. What an unmemorable career

I used to listen to Stan alves on the abc, never heard him say anything positive about the Dees.

Happy to hear he’s got passion for the red and blue.

wasn’t Crackers also on the abc for a bit?

On 06/10/2021 at 08:50, KLV said:

Lucky for Voldemort that the GF wasn’t played at the G. The standing boovation he would have copped during the retiree parade would have been brutal.

On 06/10/2021 at 08:53, KLV said:

I used to listen to Stan alves on the abc, never heard him say anything positive about the Dees.

Happy to hear he’s got passion for the red and blue.

wasn’t Crackers also on the abc for a bit?

I mean, let's be honest, there probably wasn't anything positive to say about the Dees during the period he was commentating!

Edited by Northern Summer

On 06/10/2021 at 08:50, KLV said:

But lots of $’s.

On 06/10/2021 at 07:02, picket fence said:

That cheque will bounce.

Keenan definitely not barracking for the Dees in the GF.

He does keep in touch with past players but regards himself as a North player first and foremost, followed by Essendon.

On 06/10/2021 at 07:48, Colin B. Flaubert said:

Gerard Healy football career is one big irony  t isn't it, he left Melbourne to go to Sydney "saying he wanted to have some success" only to be knocked out of the finals race in 87 by which team his old team.

I would be curious to know Brock McLean's thoughts on the Demons winning the 2021 Premiership. I suspect still a lot of bad blood there.....

Mark "Jacko" Jackson's would be quite bemusing to know about too. He was definitely popular with Demons fans in the early 1980s apparently, but whether or not he cares about us anymore I would be surprised.

Actually the two people I would really like to hear their thoughts on about the Demons winning the 2021 flag would be David Neitz and David Schwarz. I bet they had tears of joys in their eyes just like the rest of us!

The former Demons coach John "Swooper" Northey would be over the moon too! Glad he is still around!

Edited by Supreme_Demon