Posted

Yeah look I’ve shared more than enough of what I think about the situation. It does feel like something I’ve lived with hope for all my life is going to have cold water poured on it and it is hard, very hard. It makes you question whether one of your life dreams was actually worth having and the next 6 days I know I’m going to have some very difficult moments dealing with it. But there’s one thing that is for certain, there is absolutely nothing we can do about it. I never ever wanted to cry on GF day for anything other than tears of joy but throwing this on top of it does not help at all. I just hope that time will mend the pain of not being there and that we can somehow take something out of the unique circumstances eventually. Something that only we would have as opposed to everyone else. I live in hope anyway.

Posted
1 hour ago, Demon trucker said:

Yep and if you don't get vaccinated, you won't be able to even go into a supermarket, and that's not conspiracy that is what's going to happen, even to go to a park and have a picnic will get you a $5000 fine if you're not vaccinated, and that's fact.

Well, if that's the case, you'd have to be an absolute dill not to get vaccinated wouldn't you?

Posted
1 hour ago, Demonstone said:

Well, if that's the case, you'd have to be an absolute dill not to get vaccinated wouldn't you?

I agree, but what's next, as soon as you lose for freedom of choice it is lost for every, then what's next?  slowly slowly you  lose your rights, then what's next? one day they might say you need to be genetically modified.

Posted

I know this whole COVID saga has taken its toll on all of us in various ways and to different degrees, but I can't help but think you're jumping at shadows here, Mr. Trucker.

No doubt we'll all feel much better after we win the big one on Saturday.

Posted
2 hours ago, Demon trucker said:

Lockdown are not working anymore, Vic lockdown down hard and early now we have over 350 cases a day, NSW locking down early would only mean they would have 300 cases a day Just like VICTORIA, 99% of  population use to  follow the rules, now only 80% follow the rules. and even now they had 2 leaks from hotel quarantine just the other week, so that would have sent us into lockdown anyway, no don't blame Gladys, blame a failed hotel quarantine system which should have been replaced 6 months ago.

Lockdowns do still work when you go early and go hard, which is exactly what Gladys didn't do.

I agree that the long lockdowns no longer seem to be working to eliminate it, probably partly due to delta and partly due to lockdown fatigue, both of which are a good reason to have short sharp and effective lockdowns.

Posted (edited)
38 minutes ago, Demon trucker said:

I agree, but what's next, as soon as you lose for freedom of choice it is lost for every, then what's next?  slowly slowly you  lose your rights, then what's next? one day they might say you need to be genetically modified.

So long as they don't turn me into a Collingwood supporter, I think I'll be ok. 😜  Lol!

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter
Posted

Something that drives me nuts is how easily some people are able to accept watching a grand final at home with a well stocked fridge and all that crap. That's just hell for me, plus we went through that junk last year and once was enough.

It's definitely time for bed. 

Posted
6 hours ago, layzie said:

Something that drives me nuts is how easily some people are able to accept watching a grand final at home with a well stocked fridge and all that crap. That's just hell for me, plus we went through that junk last year and once was enough.

It's definitely time for bed. 

Well you could always join the anti  lockdown protest, 

Posted
22 hours ago, KLV said:

I feel that way too, but more about Carlton and Essendon, whose arrogance from success permeated my formative years. 
As the Covid damage became clear I consoled myself that it was ok if we didn’t win, because we couldn’t be there. But now we’re so close, I desperately want it (like everyone), they are SO hard to win. 
The cruelest part is that we’re not allowed to be with our demon friends and family. That part really hurts.

The clincher for me is the last paragraph! I'm also LIVID at the Politicians that allowed this to get so out of hand.😱

Posted

My take is that the Norm Smith curse applies to the MCG. Once broken (this week) we will enter a new golden age. We will go on a spree of flags never to be equalled. Covid will be seen as a blessing for allowing us to break the curse. 

I know it's hard to believe but some people think I see the positive in everything. 

Over 80,000 at the G next season round 1 for the flag unfurling. I will be there, I will be the one with tears in my eyes.

• Love 4

Posted
10 minutes ago, ManDee said:

My take is that the Norm Smith curse applies to the MCG. Once broken (this week) we will enter a new golden age. We will go on a spree of flags never to be equalled. Covid will be seen as a blessing for allowing us to break the curse. 

I know it's hard to believe but some people think I see the positive in everything. 

Over 80,000 at the G next season round 1 for the flag unfurling. I will be there, I will be the one with tears in my eyes.

The ‘one’??

Posted

I have been applying to get Perth for a while as we wanted to move here for a few months to get out of Melbourne as my wife is originally from Perth.   We got declined multiple times and then we got accepted last Tuesday.  So we are now here and I will be in quarantine for the GF 😩🙈.  I’m still incredibly pumped for the game and adding lots of Dees colours to the house I am staying in. 

Posted

I'm in NNSW so one of the sad parts is not cycling around Mel, to work, seeing all the Dees decorations. My little corner of the Northern Rivers is going to be very red and blue Friday arvo. Dees guernsey being worn to work and all over Lismore. Yes, back into Lockdown for another 2 weeks as some clowns have flown to Sydney and bought covid back with them, then done a lap of the Northern Rivers.

Went for a run the other day before work on a local access road near the Eltham Pub, wearing Dees guernsey (#13 on back).Two cars in a row slowed down, windows down, fists out the window - "GOOOO DEEEES" - a real heart warmer.

Posted
51 minutes ago, ManDee said:

I told my son (6 and a mad Tracc fan) that if we win it, we'll be at his first ever Dees game, at the G, for a flag unveiling. He doesn't quite get it. Not yet anyway.

Posted
On 9/18/2021 at 7:02 PM, DubDee said:

I even considered if I’d prefer to lose so i might be able to see The curse broken in person. Then I came to my senses and realised we may very well not be in a GF for another 20 years. Remember the pies of 2010? So young, they’ll dominate for 6-7 years. So I’m pumped as to see the boys play next week  

There's no way I want us to lose on Saturday as there are just way too many benefits of winning a flag outside of simply enjoying the win on the day. Eg- increased membership, sponsorship, destination club potential, marquee fixtures and just general pride as a supporter of the club.

However, if we were to lose, I'd take a small amount of solace in the fact that there is still that live chance of seeing the club break the drought in person at our beloved MCG which is what we all dream of...not watching it in severe lockdown with a curfew.

As for the day itself, I reckon being able to watch the game at a Melbourne pub with a hundred other MFC fans would go some way to simulating the match day experience and would've definitely softened the blow of not being there. But alas, not to be. 

Posted

I like the idea Covid and the fact that tbe GF has to be played in Perth is all part of the Norm Smith curse.

The red fox never did things by halves, so a world wide pandemic is def his mo.

Win it and the curse is broken. 

And pre curse normal service resumes - the next dynasty is on our door step.

Next year's GF is going to be epic.

Posted

Hopefully we are up and about the next few years, would be nice to see the drought breaking event, but if it happens this year, it is what it is. 

To me, at the end of the day it comes down to the following (if we win);

The Fear of Melbourne not winning a Grand Final in my lifetime is greater than the fear of not witnessing a Melbourne Grand final  win live/in person.

Posted

also just a Disclaimer: I only have 1 close mate that goes for Melbourne and he lives regionally so I go to most games by myself (or with opposition fans). Obviously those with family connections will be more disheartened than me than having to watch alone or without friend/family etc.

I also would not have gone to the parade, as I do not care for that kind of thing. 

Posted
5 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

There's no way I want us to lose on Saturday as there are just way too many benefits of winning a flag outside of simply enjoying the win on the day. Eg- increased membership, sponsorship, destination club potential, marquee fixtures and just general pride as a supporter of the club.

However, if we were to lose, I'd take a small amount of solace in the fact that there is still that live chance of seeing the club break the drought in person at our beloved MCG which is what we all dream of...not watching it in severe lockdown with a curfew.

As for the day itself, I reckon being able to watch the game at a Melbourne pub with a hundred other MFC fans would go some way to simulating the match day experience and would've definitely softened the blow of not being there. But alas, not to be. 

My thoughts to the millimetre BBP. Absolutely nailed it. 

Posted

So after a barrage of texts from an airline I finally cancelled my bookings I made 7 weeks ago . I felt the GF was headed to perth 2 months ago . I also thought we would get there and decided to bite the bullet. If things are back to normal next year (haha) might use the credit for an away game.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Satan said:

So after a barrage of texts from an airline I finally cancelled my bookings I made 7 weeks ago . I felt the GF was headed to perth 2 months ago . I also thought we would get there and decided to bite the bullet. If things are back to normal next year (haha) might use the credit for an away game.

That’s excellent you got a credit.

My much better half talked me out of booking Perth flights in August because she correctly pointed out that if the GF is in Perth, then VICS won’t be allowed to attend.