1 minute ago, D4Life said:

When are GWS building their new stadium?

They redeveloped and expanded Giants Stadium/Showgrounds in 2012. 

2 minutes ago, Fat Tony said:

They redeveloped and expanded Giants Stadium/Showgrounds in 2012. 

I’m sure a Tassie team could spend just as much on Blundstone or UTAS and have a similar magnificent stadium, vs being told to spend $750M!

Just a furphy from the AFL to take eyes of the main question. Team or no team in Tassie?

Lets make sure our facility is finished before the AFL and Fed gov't start putting money into a Tassie stadium.

My message to the Tasmanian government is to give the AFL whatever they're asking for because you've never been this close and if you're rejected it's hard to see how it's going to happen 

Edited by one_demon

• 1 month later...

On 3/13/2022 at 10:47 PM, Stiff Arm said:

I reckon Gil/AFL exec wants North or Saints to go to Tassie.

Still call them NM or StK for a year or two, claim it's just playing home games there for $. Then it becomes permanent and the name changes. Tassie Kangas or Tassie Saints. A lot of detail and nuance to play out, but there's something in the air 

Gil is a Saints man isn't he? Doubt he wants his club to go to Tassie.

As one who hates the totally iniquitous  bye bye bye in VFL I hope that we never again have an odd number of teams. 
How about merging StKilda, North and Hawthorn and sending them to Hobart. 
16 teams - less dilution of talent, and ridding us of three teams I dislike intensely. (If they added Geelong and Footscray too then 14 teams even better). The Tasmanian ferry now goes from Geelong so that would suit them, and a new or a nuanced stadium in Hobart could be a proper size and shape. 

On 6/16/2022 at 12:01 PM, Dwight Schrute said:

To me it does make the most sense that a smaller Victorian team re-locate to Tasmania, ultimately it's a national competition and we have 3-4 excess Victorian teams that are in debt, heavily reliant on the AFL just to run and fairly irrelevant in terms of on field success. 

Going to Tasmania for one of these clubs has the clear potential to greatly improve one of these clubs in terms of financial standing and relevance, and i understand the history behind clubs and why they don't love the idea, but surely from a practical standpoint it's a pretty straight forward one.

When you say 3 or 4 mate, who is the 4th we're referring to? North, Bulldogs, St Kilda and?

Was thinking that the best option would be relocating North Melbourne to Tasmania perhaps?

Hobart Kangaroos?

Anyway, I guess we shall wait and see what happens.

I do think there should be a Tasmanian team in the AFL eventually. Money is the issue unfortunately.

Q1  Will a Tasmanian team make the comp more enjoyable or not to its current and future consumers?

A1   For 2% of the Australian population (count the heads and divide by two)  they may well enjoy a home team.  For 98% of the Australian population, the bye will be very annoying and the extra team will be another one to keep track of although we don't care if they live or die e.g. Port, Freo, GC.

Therefore, no Tasmanian team!!

Note, these figures assume that the Northerners will see the error of their ways and enbrace the true faith.

Edited by redandbluemakepurple

• 1 month later...

Things have been really quiet here for sometime and there's supposed to be an announcement soon.

Wondering if @Nasher can advise what the local expectations and feeling is at the moment?

Gold Coast, Adelaide and Geelong have endorsed it.

Apparently AFL will be giving other teams more time to decide.

1 hour ago, Purple77 said:

to speed things up, the afl have given the other teams until the country hits carbon-zero to decide

1 hour ago, Purple77 said:

I didn't realise the AFL had a democratic process...

2 hours ago, Engorged Onion said:

I didn't realise the AFL had a democratic process...

Only when it suits them :P

I would be interested to read the business plan. I've read hundreds over many years and have yet to see one which didn't show a resounding success.

• 1 month later...

I used to think we would get a home before Tassie got a team. Guess who won. No money left for us at the AFL. 

If I were a cynic I would view this as. My god we are in trouble on multiply fronts do we have a rabbit and a hat? Oh good news let's give Tassie a team. That will stop people thinking of troubles. 

Great for Tasmanian, apparently a stadium with a roof. Hope they get the necessary support from the AFL et al.

I assume a team and the stadium will not be ready until 2025, even 2026.

Will they get a magic round?

Edited by kev martin