View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

6 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

little interest for weed now that coleman-jones has nominated north and krueger wants to go to the filth

i reckon he'll stay on a one year deal with us, similar to that which narkle is signing at the cats

then it's make it or not in 2022

Do you think Freo could be after him after all  they got rid of Hogan and never replaced him.

2 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Do you think Freo could be after him after all  they got rid of Hogan and never replaced him.

no, there's no demand for weed whatsoever at this point

I'm not against keeping Weed on a 2 year deal. Gives us some depth with a young enough player on not huge money who could still turn things around. And if he does, he puts himself in a great position after the 2023 season as a free agent.

If he doesn't turn things around then we can delist him or  let him walk then. Plus hopefully we draft a young key forward this off season, who by then would of had 2 years under their belt and will be ready to take the next step!

Scott's coaching panel is getting thin. 

Matthew Knights has gone to Eagles, Corey Enright off to the Saints.  Now Voss (if he gets the Carlton gig) has his eyes on Nigel Lapin.  And there have been a few articles that Matthew Scarlett may be moving on.

From an outside view the coaching panel has looked insular.  Scarlett, Enright and Lapin have only known the 'Geelong way' for the entirety of their coaching careers. Scarlett and Engright were ex Cats players. And both Lappin and Scott come from the Leigh Matthews stable of players.

So Scott will not only need to rebuild the playing list he will need to rebuild his coaching panel at a time when availability is low, having already found new homes.  Not to mention he has to do something with his out dated game plan.

He has had it fairly easy as a coach.  Took over a multi premiership team.  Had to do very little development of his player-turned-coaches.  Is he ready to do the really hard work?  I have my doubts.

Based on this article, Scott won't be calling the shots:  chris-scott-contract-offseason-changes-coaches-leaving-steve-hocking-new-ceo-age-of-playing-list

It is late September and I'm trawling through a trade rumours thread looking for distraction.

Good to know some things don't change.

Finally the distraction of footy is over and we can get on with the real stuff

3 minutes ago, adonski said:

Finally the distraction of footy is over and we can get on with the real stuff

So, who wants to come to the reigning premiers? 

2 hours ago, Mickey said:

So, who wants to come to the reigning premiers? 

More members for a start.

That flag is going to be massive for list management. You watch the FAs and the stars line up now.

Don't be surprised if Cerra nominates Melbourne in the coming days. Ralph is a muppet.

Also now is the time to put big long contracts in front of Oliver and Jackson. 
When I say now I mean right now. They’re very drunk. It’s a good way to get them to agree to terms. 

Edited by Jaded

My priorities:

1. Sign up our 2022 out of contract players (Jackson, ANB, etc.).
  2. That is all.

For the first time ever, I don't otherwise care about the trade period. Take whatever picks we have to the draft.

1 minute ago, A F said:

That flag is going to be massive for list management.

I love the thought that we just win flags for the list management gains! 😁

5 minutes ago, Axis of Bob said:

We win flags to take our Trade period, the greatest time of the year, to a new level. How very Melbourne of us 😄

Edited by Mickey

3 minutes ago, Axis of Bob said:

I'm all about the list management mate. 😀  Sustained success.

My only real priority would be to get a Hibbo replacement. A lock down medium defender with pace. We can probably go the draft for that. But also we are prime to just pick talent from other clubs so why not. 

On 9/23/2021 at 9:40 AM, Premiers said:

Scott's coaching panel is getting thin. 

Matthew Knights has gone to Eagles, Corey Enright off to the Saints.  Now Voss (if he gets the Carlton gig) has his eyes on Nigel Lapin.  And there have been a few articles that Matthew Scarlett may be moving on.

From an outside view the coaching panel has looked insular.  Scarlett, Enright and Lapin have only known the 'Geelong way' for the entirety of their coaching careers. Scarlett and Engright were ex Cats players. And both Lappin and Scott come from the Leigh Matthews stable of players.

So Scott will not only need to rebuild the playing list he will need to rebuild his coaching panel at a time when availability is low, having already found new homes.  Not to mention he has to do something with his out dated game plan.

He has had it fairly easy as a coach.  Took over a multi premiership team.  Had to do very little development of his player-turned-coaches.  Is he ready to do the really hard work?  I have my doubts.

Based on this article, Scott won't be calling the shots:  chris-scott-contract-offseason-changes-coaches-leaving-steve-hocking-new-ceo-age-of-playing-list

Very very fortunate to have inherited the players he did. VERY AVERAGE COACH IMV

Really reluctant to lose Sparrow now. This kid will be a gun. 

Edited by Skuit

6 minutes ago, Skuit said:

Really reluctant to Lose Sparrow now. This kid will be a gun. 

Yep, booming kick, tough as nails. Unless he wants to go home or it's a serious upgrade, I'd like to keep him too

9 minutes ago, Skuit said:

Really reluctant to Lose Sparrow now. This kid will be a gun. 

After his G.F performance I agree wholeheartedly.

Kid was brilliant.

12 minutes ago, Skuit said:

Really reluctant to lose Sparrow now. This kid will be a gun. 

Where is the news Sparrow is leaving?

3 minutes ago, AllMyTeamsAreWank said:

Where is the news Sparrow is leaving?

The suggestion of him going back to Adelaide has been floating around for a while now. Then a poster said we could lose a couple fringe-22 players (not of the 2019 crop) in our pursuit of Cerra. But letting him go would be a big mistake in my opinion. 

Sparrow could go somewhere for more midfield minutes, but he now goes down in history as a Melbourne premiership player!! Hopefully he stays. The lure of being part of some sustained success is here.

We better lose no one. This list is going to get us the next 5 flags. [censored] Cerra

6 minutes ago, deebug said:

I would keep Sparrow before Gerra.

From the available footage, not impressed with Gerra at all. Gone completely missing every time the Google search heats up.