Bring-Back-Powell 15,527 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 (edited) 38 minutes ago, Demonland said: Can you imagine playing a home grand final against Port in Adelaide. FMD. It’s a sick joke if you ask me. A potential 17-4-1 season and we don’t host a game at our beloved MCG throughout the finals, and then face Port at AO in the grand final for a cherry on the sundae. Edited August 20, 2021 by Bring-Back-Powell
Dr. Gonzo 24,467 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: It’s a sick joke if you ask me. A potential 17-4-1 season and we don’t host a game at our beloved MCG throughout the finals, and then face Port at AO in the grand final for a cherry on the sundae. Bring it on Would rather see us win the flag in front of 50k feral Port supporters than in front of 60k west aussies out for a day on the grog. Edited August 20, 2021 by Dr. Gonzo 4
Bring-Back-Powell 15,527 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 4 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said: Bring it on Would rather see us win the flag in front of 50k feral Port supporters than in front of 60k west aussies out for a day on the grog. Yeah fair call.
dl4e 5,851 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 Put it this way. What would you prefer. Fly into Adelaide morning of the game and sit in the cricket pithces and dream of being Dennis Lillee or have to fly into perth and put up with several days of hotel quaranting in mcgowanville ? Dennis Lillee thankyou very much. 1
Little Goffy 14,946 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 6 hours ago, Demonland said: I saw that Tom Browne segment at half time. / He was asked, "Do you think Adelaide have a case to host the grand final or would Perth still be in pole position despite the easier travel to Adelaide and the presence of Port as a contender?" I swear that man is some kind of malfunctioning android. There should be a twitter account dedicated to determining if the passes the Turing Test.
Demonsone 2,056 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 59 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: It’s a sick joke if you ask me. A potential 17-4-1 season and we don’t host a game at our beloved MCG throughout the finals, and then face Port at AO in the grand final for a cherry on the sundae. Whats sad is Port have beaten 4 top 8 sides vs 8 by the Dees yet they could finish higher, afl fixture hey
Bring-Back-Powell 15,527 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 18 minutes ago, Little Goffy said: I saw that Tom Browne segment at half time. / He was asked, "Do you think Adelaide have a case to host the grand final or would Perth still be in pole position despite the easier travel to Adelaide and the presence of Port as a contender?" I swear that man is some kind of malfunctioning android. There should be a twitter account dedicated to determining if the passes the Turing Test. He asked Luke Beverage the first question of the presser via Zoom, Beverage wasn’t impressed with the question and responded with a question back to Tom. Tom was nowhere to be heard and clearly skirted the question.
rpfc 29,017 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 5 hours ago, Demonsone said: Whats sad is Port have beaten 4 top 8 sides vs 8 by the Dees yet they could finish higher, afl fixture hey Umm, we lost to Coll and Adel and drew with Haw so we kind of fixtured ourselves there… 4
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 7 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: It’s a sick joke if you ask me. A potential 17-4-1 season and we don’t host a game at our beloved MCG throughout the finals, and then face Port at AO in the grand final for a cherry on the sundae. I guess it’s how interstate teams feel having to play a Grand Final at the MCG. 3 1
BDA 23,048 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 If the GF is played in Adelaide so be it. Port are very beatable. They would have to deal with the pressure of expectation in front of their own fans and the home crowd energy can work against them as well. Go behind and the anxiety from the crowd can inhibit their performance Perhaps we could crowdfund a plan to get as many Crows supporters as possible into the game for free. They hate Port and would cheer us on I’m sure. Plus, we are a better team anyways. And Georgiadis is out (I feel for the kid, very good young player) Strong umpires essential though. Can’t be having any hometown favouritism ruining the game Btw some examples of home teams losing major soccer finals https://lastwordonsports.com/football/2021/07/09/england-beware-major-finals-home/ 2 1
Demon17 5,251 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 7 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: It’s a sick joke if you ask me. A potential 17-4-1 season and we don’t host a game at our beloved MCG throughout the finals, and then face Port at AO in the grand final for a cherry on the sundae. And I don't care what anyone says, Port are the worst 2nd place team in many seasons. And last night 1 goal in a half against one of the poorer defences. Cats (although without Stewart is a complication), Lions and Dees will deal with them.
Demon17 5,251 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 Just now, BDA said: Perhaps we could crowdfund a plan to get as many Crows supporters as possible into the game for free. They hate Port and would cheer us on I’m sure. Absolutely they will. My son and i went to the Dees vs Port game in Adelaide in 1998. Dees won kicking 13 goals to 7 after 1/4 time and putting us into the 8 in Danihers first season. My son wore his Dees jumper at the airport going home that afternoon and was asked by multiple Adelaide residents who won and were rapt when he told them the Dees had. Adelaide truly hate Port. It will be a help for us in this scenario. Probaly even be happy for ex- favourite son Jake Lever.
Bring-Back-Powell 15,527 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 1 hour ago, Clint Bizkit said: I guess it’s how interstate teams feel having to play a Grand Final at the MCG. Fair call to be honest. 4
Pennant St Dee 13,428 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 9 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said: Bring it on Would rather see us win the flag in front of 50k feral Port supporters than in front of 60k west aussies out for a day on the grog. Without the Eagles being involved you won’t get that , you will actually get football lovers
Ethan Tremblay 31,382 Posted August 20, 2021 Posted August 20, 2021 (edited) I reckon McClownan will make it too difficult for the AFL to have the game in WA. Edited August 21, 2021 by Ethan Trembley 2
rpfc 29,017 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 What rpfc would do - if we win - take the Lions down to Tassie for a packed house that would have more Dees and old Lions fans. If we lose, we are off to Adelaide for the right to play a Prelim probably in Adelaide…
layzie 34,527 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 On 8/18/2021 at 8:37 PM, Bring-Back-Powell said: Who’s to say it will even be this year? We might give it everything we’ve got but Bontempelli or Hawkins or even bloody Charlie Dixon gets a hold of us in a prelim. There’s still some brilliant teams in contention, we don’t have the finals experience of others and we might not quite be the final product yet. A premier has to get it perfect for 3 games in the September pressure cooker. Time will tell if that’s us. And that’s the hardest part, the alternative scenario. This situation would have been hard enough without all the extra stuff. It’s just so much to digest.
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 1 hour ago, rpfc said: What rpfc would do - if we win - take the Lions down to Tassie for a packed house that would have more Dees and old Lions fans. If we lose, we are off to Adelaide for the right to play a Prelim probably in Adelaide… I love the idea of playing in Tassie. I just worry that the ground conditions there are not ideal. 1
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 (edited) I won’t be surprised to see Sydney or GWS playing in a prelim. Edited August 21, 2021 by Clint Bizkit 2
ManDee 7,391 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 37 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said: I won’t be surprised to see Sydney or GWS paying in a prelim. How much would they have to pay?🙂 1
drdrake 3,203 Posted August 21, 2021 Posted August 21, 2021 I think both 1 v 4 and 2 v 3 will be played in Adelaide next week and maybe even a 3rd game. If Melbourne and Geelong win next week I reckon both will go straight to WA to quarantine for prelims. The other teams will either stay in Adelaide or head to Brisbane and quarantine for the semi finals and prelims If they win.
BDA 23,048 Posted August 22, 2021 Posted August 22, 2021 Geelong won't recover from that lose. absolute confidence crusher. I predict a straight sets exit Doggies form has deserted them. I reckon they'll lose their elim final GWS or Sydney to win through to a prelim with the Lions No bye a huge advantage for us and Port. And Port with home advantage a great chance to make the GF. We'll win through as well Port and Dees GF i reckon
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 22, 2021 Posted August 22, 2021 Sydney worry me the most. They will challenge us the most with their contested footy. They have a lot of talent across the board. Very good ruckman. Excellent mids. Buddy. The coach I rate the most in the AFL (except Clarko). They are the one side I really don’t want to meet in finals. 1