1 hour ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Gee, all the doom and gloom for GWS to kick off this thread aged well didn't it??!!

To be fair, I was mostly thinking the same thing before the game started and certainly not complaining about the result.

Does have me worried about all the tallent that GWS still have on their books.  Loose their elite key forward before the start of the season, have a horror run with injuries and still compeditive with good teams and in touch with finals.  They have been inconsistent, which is why they are not deeper inside the eight right now, but that is probably somewhat because they have struggled have any consistency with personal due to injuries and a young side.  If those two things turn for them next season, they could be quite a formidable team.

This was the best win of the season by any team by a long way.

Off a 5 day break,  8 changes from 5 days ago against a team that rarely loses at home for 15+ years. 

They had 1 other fit player on their list to choose from,  staggering. 

• Author
12 minutes ago, Hell Bent said:

This was the best win of the season by any team by a long way.

Off a 5 day break,  8 changes from 5 days ago against a team that rarely loses at home for 15+ years. 

Amazing win. Just shows if you give 100% and attack the footy all game you are always a chance. 

massive choke from the Cats. They now need to win one of their last two games to guarantee top 4. More conceding for them would be going into finals in bad form plus 3 injuries

Not that I’m condoning what Jack Viney did last week but now that being a bad look for the game is a hanging offense then a few players from last night’s game deserve a holiday. Toby Greene for one - and unlike Jack’s opponent who played on uninjured, Greene’s was subbed off. 

When will we hear word whether Selwood gets cited by the MRO. It was a reckless bump so he has a case to answer you would think

6 minutes ago, Chelly said:

Not that I’m condoning what Jack Viney did last week but now that being a bad look for the game is a hanging offense then a few players from last night’s game deserve a holiday. Toby Greene for one - and unlike Jack’s opponent who played on uninjured, Greene’s was subbed off. 

Selwood will be interesting, chose to bump without eyes on the footy and gets Taylor in the head. 

Should get a week but chook lotto says no.

4 minutes ago, Hell Bent said:

Selwood will be interesting, chose to bump without eyes on the footy and gets Taylor in the head. 

Should get a week but chook lotto says no.

Add in that the player he made contact with was subbed out with concussion (so will miss next week). Should be minimum a week, but I’m sure he’ll find a way to get off free. 

2 minutes ago, Pates said:

Add in that the player he made contact with was subbed out with concussion (so will miss next week). Should be minimum a week, but I’m sure he’ll find a way to get off free. 

Unfortunately that is not the case, Taylor played on and was BOG. Danger was subbed out from Greene hit.

Looked at the replay frame-by-frame. Selwood took his eyes off the ball and chose to bump, collected Taylor in the head - should get 2-weeks.

Great effort from GWS, just shows kick straight make the most of your opportunities and you can overcome a top side on their own turf. Hmnnnn, very similar to our loss.!!!!!

There are some great Learnings for our boys from those two games.!!!

Edited by DeeZone
Added learnings

Selwood proves yet again that the only weapon he has left in his toolkit at his age is to hit people high. It’s his mode of operation now. 

13 minutes ago, DeeZone said:

Great effort from GWS, just shows kick straight make the most of your opportunities and you can overcome a top side on their own turf. Hmnnnn, very similar to our loss.!!!!!

There are some great Learnings for our boys from those two games.!!!

At the time of Dees loss to GWS I posted that I really rated GWS , esp the midfield, and they are a bona fide finalist so not yet a disaster for us at the time like the Hawks draw turned out to be

Their accuracy won it for them also -or at least helped.  demon forwards note.

This season, each week, 8 of the 9 winners, on average, had an equal or better scoring accuracy than their opponents.

19 minutes ago, TRIGON said:

Looked at the replay frame-by-frame. Selwood took his eyes off the ball and chose to bump, collected Taylor in the head - should get 2-weeks.

This is what the MRP will calculate. I would argue intentional which is 2 weeks reduced to 1.

DCCFD13F-3FDD-4AD7-B781-7FC548ED0237.png

It’s curious going onto the AFL app that you see the article “Is Greene in trouble for this high elbow on Dangerfield?” Yet interestingly there is nothing at all about Selwood’s much more reckless bump. It’s hard not to make you think….

EDIT in the match report article towards the bottom there is a mention of Selwood’s bump. 

Edited by Pates

7 minutes ago, Watson11 said:

This is what the MRP will calculate. I would argue intentional which is 2 weeks reduced to 1.

I can’t see how this is anything but intentional . He lined him up from a distance with no desire for the footy whatsoever.

The calculator needs the “ not a good look for footy” button that was applied to Viney!

Edited by Hell Bent
Added 2nd sentence

15 minutes ago, Pates said:

It’s curious going onto the AFL app that you see the article “Is Greene in trouble for this high elbow on Dangerfield?” Yet interestingly there is nothing at all about Selwood’s much more reckless bump. It’s hard not to make you think….

EDIT in the match report article towards the bottom there is a mention of Selwood’s bump. 

How many Geelong supporting Journalists are working with the AFL industry? That will tell you the tale as to why they get treated so favourably and the smaller clubs who are a threat to their premiership aspirations get smashed from pillar to post.

That little sniper needs to get weeks for his grubbiness.

At the post match interview Sam Taylor seemed to have an eyeball that was bleeding on the side that Selwood collected. It may have been an old injury as he had black ring under his eye.

I can't realistically see how it would happen, but I'd really love it if Gold Coast could dig deep after their embarrassment of last week and knock off Carlton today.  Would make Carlton supporters feel some Melbourne like pain of having their season snuffed out totally by a team they should beat every other day, after thinking they might be within a sniff of a finals chance after their win last week.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

• Author
50 minutes ago, Watson11 said:

Based on this formula I would say he’ll only get a fine  If the bloke was injured he’d get a week or two though

Talking about players/teams doing a Melbourne, gee I loved that shot for goal from was it Jordan Clark last night in the last quarter.

Easy set shot, 15m out stuff all angle and he tries on some stupid around the corner kick and puts it out on the full.

Geelong were only 9 points down at the time and had around 6mins or something on the clock.  Had he kicked that, I reckon GWS would have [censored] the bed and rolled over.

Way worse than Max Gawn's miss against the Cats in 2018 or whenever it was.  At least Max had the excuse of genuine pressure of the moment and in front of a big crowd.  Reeked of arrogance and a lack of footy sense on behalf of Clark.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

4 hours ago, Hell Bent said:

Wow, that's incredible.

Wouldn't it be amazing if they got more injuries before the end of the season and had to pick some lucky bloke out of the VFL not even on an AFL list to put 22 players on the field.

Glad to see gold coast has turned up today. So far that is.

Suns system is good. We just gave them no opportunity last week.

4 hours ago, BDA said:

When will we hear word whether Selwood gets cited by the MRO. It was a reckless bump so he has a case to answer you would think

He doesn’t watch the ball once. There’s no way he can argue his focus was the ball. He’s just lucky the bloke got up.