Posted
5 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

according to afl site, pickett will definitely play, as will may, salem, brayshaw, and oliver - no mention of hibberd which i guess puts jetta back in the starting side frame, and the general 'vibe' seems to be that jordon will debut...

B: Jetta - May - Lever
HB: Hunt - Tomlinson - Rivers
C: Langdon - Petracca - Salem
HF: Jones - McDonald - Spargo
F: Fritsch - Jackson - Pickett
Foll: Gawn - Oliver - Harmes
I/c: Brayshaw - Jordon - Baker - Chandler
Med sub: vandenBerg
Emerg: Bedford - Sparrow - Petty

Medical subs are going to be Under21 (not  31!!!) 

Sorry but that's the slowest Melb team for years! 

Dont like Jetta (slow) and Baker (Form) Replaced by  Bowey and Hibberd.

Half Forward line too slow also Swap Tmac and LJ and start with Chandler.

Both Petty ( Instead of Tommo) and Sparrow ( as med sub) give greater ability and pace.  

Posted
2 hours ago, Dee Dee said:

There are small areas for standing room on level one, ground floor scattered around the ground. I think there is room for about 5,000 standing room patrons. However I’m not sure in this environment what rules will apply. Probably a phone call to the ground would be your best bet.

Sit down and barrack DD. A beer at halftime will be allowed in your seat!

50 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Nah, not the last one W’DEE, we need your sub. 

Posted
4 hours ago, binman said:

I can't believe it. Got my tickets and pumped for this game.

Then just realized I have a family commitment that can't be changed at exactly the same time as the game starts.

So won't even be able to watch the game live.

So have to reframe the day and console myself with the inaugural:

Binman Super Saturday Sporting extravaganza!!!! 

The day will involve:

• A lead in on the Friday night, watching a bit of footy, watching the  Moonee Valley races, featuring the Group 1 William Reid Stakes and doing my form for the following day, which includes the Golden Slipper - always a great race to watch
  • Saturday morning, finalising my selections and then watching the early races 
  • Complete media and all external communication blackout from 1:41pm (i'll listen to the build up) - note: of course i'll also avoid Demonland but i don't need to read it to know what will be in the game day thread
  • Family commitment
  • Watch the dees game 'as live' from about 4:30 
  • Celebrating a win
  • Then from 6:45 watching the dees women's team also beat Freo, but this in real time - and secure a finals berth
  • Counting my money from the races
  • Watching the replay of the dees men's team win against Freo

Pity the AFLW does not involve Dees vs Freo till Sunday night!!! Last I heard.

Posted
13 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

what?!?? is that for real?

Prob not but Clarkson was gunning for it and maybe it  hasnt got through.

Makes sense though . 

Posted
3 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Kick enough points and we win, it's as simple as that. 

I hope they kick goals, but each to their own

Posted
16 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Yeah I know but don't think my folks will have one - it's all good I ended up just screenshotting the tickets and sending them via messenger

They won't scan on the code Dr.

its not a paper ticket it's electronic! 

Posted
22 minutes ago, DubDee said:

One cannot be Meek against Gawn

If he becomes another ruckman Gawn makes a laughing stock of then I'm hoping the headline will read:

The Meek inherits the mirth

Posted (edited)
15 minutes ago, binman said:

If he becomes another ruckman Gawn makes a laughing stock of then I'm hoping the headline will read:

The Meek inherits the mirth

Or assuming he has got a lot bigger since being drafted:

The Meek inherits the girth

Meek.jpg?width=952&height=592

Posted

Justin Longmuir said in an interview that Freo will likely go with 1 KPF (Tabenar) with Lobb injured, Sean Darcy unfit and Treacy suspended

Tomlinson any chance to possibly miss out or moved to the wing? 

Posted

If we lose this then I can't see us making the 8. 

They have so many out and although we have a few out too, we're playing at home and have a good spine other than a missing FWD line (praying Tmac kicks 2-3) 

I actually think we'll turn up and get the job done. 

Would like it even more if we won by 30+ points. 

Nervous energies! 

Posted
11 minutes ago, Dannyz said:

Why does Salem often get named to play wing when he never plays there?

It confuses the opposition.....

:goody:

Posted
5 minutes ago, Nelo said:

Might be a nil all draw with both teams lacking a forward line. 

And both good backlines. Could be a low scoring game.

Posted
23 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

cos he plays the role as 7th defender - rolls back after starting initially on the wing

That's never happened.

Posted
1 hour ago, DemonLad5 said:

Justin Longmuir said in an interview that Freo will likely go with 1 KPF (Tabenar) with Lobb injured, Sean Darcy unfit and Treacy suspended

Tomlinson any chance to possibly miss out or moved to the wing? 

No chance on the wing, and I reckon there's every chance Freo slide a key defender forward if needed, and if not will play Fyfe forward. I expect we'll keep the 3 talls. Tomlinson has the endurance and straight line speed for smaller opponents (if not the agility). May has to be a chance to take Fyfe and slide Tomlinson on to Tabs as well.

Posted

FB: Hibberd  May  Rivers
HB: Lever   Tomlinson Salem
C;  Langdon  Petracca  Vanders
HF: ANB  McDonald Spargo
FF: Chandler Jackson Fritsch
Foll: Gawn  Oliver Harmes
Int:
Hunt - back
Pickett - mid/forward
Jones - wing/mid/forward
Jordon - mid/forward

Sub: Bedford
E: Bowey, Petty, Brayshaw

Backline: I'd like to have taken chances on Petty and Bowey down back but overall I think they'll stick with Tomlinson and Hunt for a bit more experience and size. I'd take my chances with an underdone Hibberd. Fitness isn't ever his strength anyway but he can win a contest and he takes the game on and makes position to move the ball. He can play slightly limited minutes and as the deepest small.

Forward: It's really hard to go away from the Fritsch/Jacko/McDonald trio as about all we've got right now. And I think we need the skill and pressure of 3 hard running smalls. They're all super fit and can do the work.

Mids: 4 locks in Gawn, Oliver, Petracca, Langdon. After that it's hard to know. I think we'll need Harmes on ball for Fyfe when he's there, we can't be beaten up by Fyfe. Vanders then becomes the best of a not great group of options for the wing. He knows how to bring the pressure and work rate required. After that it's looking more and more like Kozzie will get good midfield minutes which is exciting. Then there's 2 remaining spots and they trust Jones to fill in forward and on the wing, and they clearly want to reward Jordon for his summer. That means Brayshaw misses out which sets the standard for the year that you've got to be really fit to earn a game through the midfield. 

Posted
19 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Much harder to distribute to family though

I was able to share with a mate via SMS. No problems at all.  But who knows maybe I just got lucky, I did it at like 5pm so maybe not as much traffic

Posted
24 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

FB: Hibberd  May  Rivers
HB: Lever   Tomlinson Salem
C;  Langdon  Petracca  Vanders
HF: ANB  McDonald Spargo
FF: Chandler Jackson Fritsch
Foll: Gawn  Oliver Harmes
Int:
Hunt - back
Pickett - mid/forward
Jones - wing/mid/forward
Jordon - mid/forward

Sub: Bedford
E: Bowey, Petty, Brayshaw

Backline: I'd like to have taken chances on Petty and Bowey down back but overall I think they'll stick with Tomlinson and Hunt for a bit more experience and size. I'd take my chances with an underdone Hibberd. Fitness isn't ever his strength anyway but he can win a contest and he takes the game on and makes position to move the ball. He can play slightly limited minutes and as the deepest small.

Forward: It's really hard to go away from the Fritsch/Jacko/McDonald trio as about all we've got right now. And I think we need the skill and pressure of 3 hard running smalls. They're all super fit and can do the work.

Mids: 4 locks in Gawn, Oliver, Petracca, Langdon. After that it's hard to know. I think we'll need Harmes on ball for Fyfe when he's there, we can't be beaten up by Fyfe. Vanders then becomes the best of a not great group of options for the wing. He knows how to bring the pressure and work rate required. After that it's looking more and more like Kozzie will get good midfield minutes which is exciting. Then there's 2 remaining spots and they trust Jones to fill in forward and on the wing, and they clearly want to reward Jordon for his summer. That means Brayshaw misses out which sets the standard for the year that you've got to be really fit to earn a game through the midfield. 

Great analysis.  I agree re Bowey and Petty - would love to have them in but they will probably make them earn it in the VFL first and come in if the ones in the team fail to fire.

I agree with your reasoning but at the same time it seems a big stretch to leave Brayshaw out (esp when Viney will probably be looking to come in in round 2).  The question for mine will be whether we'd play all four of Kozzie, Chandler, ANB and Spargo.  It would definitely be a different look.  I don't mind it but i suspect it may mean that Kozzie / Spargo might get more time up the ground eg on the wing.  That means that Vanders spot will be under threat.

Will be really interesting to see what they go with.