Brad has put some (dare I say it!?) demons to bed, which is warming to see. I happened to call what turned out to be his Mum in a membership call-out shortly after he 'left' the club. She was NOT happy. Welcome back, Brad. And MRS Green, I hope!?

On 22/10/2020 at 10:26, A F said:

Based on what? How would you know the operation of the board or otherwise?

56 years of failure.

Next question.

On 22/10/2020 at 10:16, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

I expect his worth will be considerable in the new headquarters project.

I suspect his worth will be even greater in the decisions about the Bentleigh Club.

On 22/10/2020 at 10:29, Biffen said:

56 years of failure.

Next question.

They've been around for 56 years have they? Strange logic, but each to their own, Biffboy.

On 22/10/2020 at 10:32, A F said:

They've been around for 56 years have they? Strange logic, but each to their own, Biffboy.

The failure has-and the comfort.

Congrats to both Brad and David.?

Now off to work David, there is no time to waste in building our brand new home?

Thought this is a good place to summarize the composition of our Board and some of their roles.

image.png.f0ea3a4eb360d71414ec2da92a1e6def.png

Still not sure why Green is on the board. Does he have business accumen? Has he worked in management? What exactly does the board role of 'football' mean? 

Needs to be explained what skills he brings to the board outside of being an ex MFC player and assistant coach, which are FD roles

Not sure being an assistant coach cuts it as experience for a board position. Or perhaps he is there to work on our forwards set shot routines at training

Loved him as a player and captain, just unsure of what he brings to the board

On 22/10/2020 at 22:55, Moonshadow said:

Still not sure why Green is on the board. Does he have business accumen? Has he worked in management? What exactly does the board role of 'football' mean? 

Needs to be explained what skills he brings to the board outside of being an ex MFC player and assistant coach, which are FD roles

Not sure being an assistant coach cuts it as experience for a board position. Or perhaps he is there to work on our forwards set shot routines at training

As Peggy O'Neill said recently: Richmond are in the business of creating a successful football product (or similar, quote not exact).

Modern football is exremely technical. The FD will report progress and performance to the Board. They need expertise to help interpret and evaluate the message.

That was my wording based on what was implied in the press release.  May have misinterpreted it.

An earlier report suggests it would be as 'Director of Football'.  Other clubs that have a similar role are:  North (Archer), Carlton (Judd), GWS (Bartell) and their may be others.  From what I can tell about their roles they generally work with the GM Football on stuff.

• Author
  On 22/10/2020 at 23:22, Lucifer's Hero said:

That was my wording based on what was implied in the press release.  May have misinterpreted it.

An earlier report suggests it would be as 'Director of Football'.  Other clubs that have a similar role are:  North (Archer), Carlton (Judd), GWS (Bartell) and their may be others.  From what I can tell about their roles they generally work with the GM Football on stuff.

Surprised some are so against this decision. Green aside, surely it's a good move to have a former footballer on the board of a football club? Will only help to facilitate the connect between the board and the footy department and help to give the board even more clarity around how their decisions effect the playing group and coaches.

On 22/10/2020 at 23:34, Lord Nev said:

Surprised some are so against this decision. Green aside, surely it's a good move to have a former footballer on the board of a football club? Will only help to facilitate the connect between the board and the footy department and help to give the board even more clarity around how their decisions effect the playing group and coaches.

If Mahoney stays as GM Football, it will be interesting dynamics with Green.  Mahoney was one of Green's coaches and then Football Manager when Green was moved on. 

Rennick sounds promising particularly given the priority to establish a home base.  

Loved Greeny as a player (hated the period when he was Captain but that's hardly his doing) but seems like a bit of an odd fit for the board.  Hope he proves me and others wrong.

Edited by deelusions from afar
spelling

On 22/10/2020 at 08:55, chook fowler said:

David Rennick. Who’s that?

Terry O Brien would have been another excellent choice as Board member. Do some homework people!

Hopefully he is directly involved in the running of the Football Department 

(Speaks regularly with Yze and Goodwin)

I know zero about this kind of thing but Green's resume looks a little bare.

I’d like to see the position description and required skillset as well.

What we don’t need is a Mark Ricciuto type shooting his mouth off at every opportunity and talking out of school.

I hope he brings the same knowledge and acumen that Jason Dunstall brought to the role at the hawks. Can’t say I’m optimistic though. Nothing about his public utterances suggests to me he has the depth of knowledge or competence to challenge the strategy/direction of the footy department which I would have thought the role is all about.

Fantastic servant of the club so I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt.

On 22/10/2020 at 23:34, Lord Nev said:

all for former players as long as they have the chops for the job. I haven't seen anything to suggest Green has the credentials but will be delighted to be proven wrong.

• Author
  On 23/10/2020 at 01:58, Better days ahead said:

all for former players as long as they have the chops for the job. I haven't seen anything to suggest Green has the credentials but will be delighted to be proven wrong.

I don't know Brad personally or professionally, so not making a judgment there as yet, more raising the point that having someone with actual football experience seems a no brainer as far as connecting the board with the footy department goes.

On 23/10/2020 at 02:20, Lord Nev said:

I don't know Brad personally or professionally, so not making a judgment there as yet, more raising the point that having someone with actual football experience seems a no brainer as far as connecting the board with the footy department goes.

Agree. No question we should have someone with a deep knowledge of football on the board to keep Mahoney and the FD honest.

My concern is whether he has the skills for the job. It’s an important role requiring a high degree of footy smarts. Passion and connection to the club aren’t enough.

• Author
  On 23/10/2020 at 02:27, Better days ahead said:

Agree. No question we should have someone with a deep knowledge of football on the board to keep Mahoney and the FD honest.

My concern is whether he has the skills for the job. It’s an important role requiring a high degree of footy smarts. Passion and connection to the club aren’t enough.

Yeah agree mate. He seems to have decent broad AFL experience given he was a player, captain and assistant coach, but I guess we'll find out how much impact it makes going forward.

You don't need a whole lot of business acumen to assume the footy director position. You need FD acumen which you would assume a prominent former player, captain and then assistant coach would have. 

Edited by Dannyz

Folks might have inappropriate expectations of the Board and its members.

Its primary role relates to strategy and governance re football performance, financial performance etc  Implementation is the role of Pert and his GM's.  So I wouldn't expect to see a specific impact from Green on the football department.  That is what a GM Football is for. 

Several examples of football related board roles from other clubs (Don't know how we work). Note:  this isn't an exhaustive list at those clubs.

• Carlton:  Board/sub committee signs off on game plan/strategy and key trades. 
  • Geelong:  Board/sub committe signs off on List Management strategy.  It has governance protocols in place where it reviews/endorses any player contract which is:  1) > than 3 years, 2) a player > than 30 and 3) > than $2m. 

I would like to think that Greens' role is to review the Board governance protocols around football and other football matters and recommend improvements, if necessary.   And work with GM football for regular performance reviews to report back to the Board or a sub committee.

For the Board to want a football person on the board signals they think there is work to be done on connections between the football department and the Board.  Otherwise it would hint of tokenism which I do not think would happen.