4 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Out- season 2020

oh boy dunk GIF

14 minutes ago, binman said:

Makes the decision to play him against the crows even more perplexing

Possibly.

Let's say he just misses this game - if we rest him from the soreness against the Crows, then he has less time to get up for the North game, and therefore he possibly miss both North and the Adelaide games.  This way, he can miss the North game anyway but have time to get himself up for the Pies game six days later.

If he misses the Collingwood game then I'll be more inclined to think Max and the club made the wrong decision in playing him.

Regrettably seems my mail was correct.

If we didn't take Preuss with us to Adelaide, despite knowing Gawn was in danger of not being able to play either/both games, that's horrendous IMO. What's worse is it means TMac will get back in, presumably with Jackson playing Gawn's role and TMac playing Jackson's. Disastrous result: Jackson might not be fit enough to play 1st ruck, and his opponent is a top 5 ruckman this season, and TMac's horribly out of form.

Fingers crossed we have Preuss available and we can put him in Gawn's spot. Structurally much better result.

Viney out should mean Brayshaw and Harmes spend more time in the middle. I'd put Harmes on Higgins and bring Rivers in to play Harmes' defensive role. Jetta to replace Lockhart if Lockhart's injured.

Pickett for ANB, maybe Hannan for Benell too, so could see 4-5 changes.

1 minute ago, Elegt said:

For those who are suggesting Tmac over preuss, watch this 

Yes that was the moment that we started to draw up a contract for Preuss. If he’s fit, he the one to bring in. I just think goody might go with a tom mcd and LJ combo. 

20 minutes ago, Demonland said:

I like the way we let the opposition know so early every time we have an injury

Mighty neighbourly of us. We like helping them in their prep

Dam 2 big outs. Our mids might want to study up goldstein. He will have a field day. Gee Viney is a huge loss. 

also loses Gawn's impact in the backline. 

So how did Viney get concussion? 

3 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Possibly.

Let's say he just misses this game - if we rest him from the soreness against the Crows, then he has less time to get up for the North game, and therefore he possibly miss both North and the Adelaide games.  This way, he can miss the North game anyway but have time to get himself up for the Pies game six days later.

If he misses the Collingwood game then I'll be more inclined to think Max and the club made the wrong decision in playing him.

Surely the logical thing do to was to rest him for both the crows AND the roos game so he is cherry ripe for the Peis and Grundy. 

I'm excited by what our midfield group can achieve without Max and Viney. I think we'll be pleasantly surprised. Oliver, Gus and Petracca/Harmes. ?

Just now, binman said:

Surely the logical thing do to was to rest him for both the crows AND the roos game so he is cherry ripe for the Peis and Grundy. 

I'll agree with you if he misses the Pies game. That would be a terrible result. 

If he gets up for the Pies game then he has theoretically only missed one game as opposed to two. 

2 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Fingers crossed it's May. 

Reckon it will be, unless Jones captains...

Just now, A F said:

I'm excited by what our midfield group can achieve without Max and Viney. I think we'll be pleasantly surprised. Oliver, Gus and Petracca/Harmes. ?

Good outlook, mate. 

I'd also hope that someone like Sparrow gets a few more midfield minures as well as I think he has shown a few positive signs in the last two weeks. 

4 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Yes that was the moment that we started to draw up a contract for Preuss. If he’s fit, he the one to bring in. I just think goody might go with a tom mcd and LJ combo. 

6 weeks for that these days...

13 minutes ago, binman said:

Source?

Melbourne Facebook page. Can’t insert a link for you sorry mate.

The big decision is do we play Pruess who has no match fitness and doesn’t do much around the ground or do we go with make shift rucks. 
tomo/weed/etc 

id go the latter

cant wait to see Gus in the middle

16 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Regrettably seems my mail was correct.

If we didn't take Preuss with us to Adelaide, despite knowing Gawn was in danger of not being able to play either/both games, that's horrendous IMO. What's worse is it means TMac will get back in, presumably with Jackson playing Gawn's role and TMac playing Jackson's. Disastrous result: Jackson might not be fit enough to play 1st ruck, and his opponent is a top 5 ruckman this season, and TMac's horribly out of form.

Fingers crossed we have Preuss available and we can put him in Gawn's spot. Structurally much better result.

Viney out should mean Brayshaw and Harmes spend more time in the middle. I'd put Harmes on Higgins and bring Rivers in to play Harmes' defensive role. Jetta to replace Lockhart if Lockhart's injured.

Pickett for ANB, maybe Hannan for Benell too, so could see 4-5 changes.

Please tell me we got Pruess into the hub knowing that Big M was carrying & suffering from an injury a while back?

LJ is just settling nicely in to a forward / minor ruck relief role and we are expecting him to take over a major ruck role the next week against Goldy?  And T-Mac as LJ's replacement?  Recipe for a solid loss if so.

15 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

I'll agree with you if he misses the Pies game. That would be a terrible result. 

If he gets up for the Pies game then he has theoretically only missed one game as opposed to two. 

Even if he does play he could have done with the rest and would have surely been in better condition to take on grundy, in a must win game. He had torn muscles in his back after the Port game.

4 minutes ago, DubDee said:

The big decision is do we play Pruess who has no match fitness and doesn’t do much around the ground or do we go with make shift rucks. 
tomo/weed/etc 

id go the latter

cant wait to see Gus in the middle

Yes.  He only rucks the square and plays a spoiling role a kick behind play down the line or as part of the wall.  Don't see why he can't cover ruck down back most of the time as well.  LJ covers anything in the arc.

1 minute ago, binman said:

Even if he does play he could have done with the rest and would have surely been in better condition to take on grundy, in a must win game. He had torn muscles in his back after the Port game.

Every game is a must win clash for us.  To play finals we need to win most games from here, so IF he only misses one game, I can see the logic.

But I'll hold fire until next weekend.  If he doesn't get up for the Pies game, or even has a shocker and Grundy dominates, then I'll agree that we made an error in playing him against Adelaide.

May should be the VC alongside Viney.  Flies the flag.