I would have expected Jackson to be out before T McDonald, partly because of the need to manage payers and partly because I have more confidence in T McDonald at the moment, even with his struggles, than I do with Jackson. That Jackson is playing gives me an uncomfortbale feeling that it's some insurance in case Max isn't right.

On 04/08/2020 at 05:12, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I would have expected Jackson to be out before T McDonald, partly because of the need to manage payers and partly because I have more confidence in T McDonald at the moment, even with his struggles, than I do with Jackson. That Jackson is playing gives me an uncomfortbale feeling that it's some insurance in case Max isn't right.

Why ?

Wonder what to expect from T-Mac for the rest of the year, given some seem to indicate he sooks a bit when things are not as he wants.

On 04/08/2020 at 05:12, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Now that everyone seems to agree that we need to play 2 key forwards, not 1 or 3, can someone explain who the 2 marking targets are in the forward line because Jackson is not taking contested marks. ( This is not meant to mean he shouldn't be in the side)

On 04/08/2020 at 04:35, faultydet said:

T.Mac out is welcome news.

Now Goody, about your mate Melksham........

Melksham's one of the rare players at the club that can kick a ball properly and through the big sticks.

He stays.

Don't know why we couldn't throw TMAC down back.

Lever May OMAC TMAC on paper looks so much better

On 04/08/2020 at 05:32, The Stigga said:

Too top heavy massive trouble when it hits the deck. Our backline is functioning well leave it alone

On 04/08/2020 at 05:32, The Stigga said:

Better than what?

On 04/08/2020 at 05:14, BW511 said:

Wonder what to expect from T-Mac for the rest of the year, given some seem to indicate he sooks a bit when things are not as he wants.

Maybe start by losing a few kg's and improving his mobility. That's if that is even possible....

On 04/08/2020 at 05:47, Yung Blood said:

Maybe start by losing a few kg's and improving his mobility. That's if that is even possible....

This.

Something must be wrong with him i reckon. Must be carrying an injury still.

In terms of condition he has never got close to his best since his foot issues. Funnily enough i thought he looked in better shape in the Suns game than he did after a three week block of uninterrupted training and not having to recover from games.

On 04/08/2020 at 05:47, The Stigga said:

What it is at the moment

Insert not sure if serious giph.

For one thing he is not fit or mobile enough to play down back.

And for another thing the last time his spot in the team was under an threat was when he was a defender. His kicking out of defence made Frost look like Jordon Lewis. Moving him forward was n act of desperation, which if it didn't work Tmac was gonski

And even if fit and suddenly could hit target why on god's good earth would they have four bigs down back.

On 04/08/2020 at 05:51, binman said:

This.

Something must be wrong with him i reckon. Must be carrying an injury still.

In terms of condition he has never got close to his best since his foot issues. Funnily enough i thought he looked in better shape in the Suns game than he did after a three week block of uninterrupted training and not having to recover from games.

Yeah he's never been able to turn corners with much ease, I can't recall him even ever wheeling around to snap the ball. So his lateral movement has always sucked but he just looks so much more stiff and restricted with his movement this year. I think he looks heavy, more so top heavy, lumbering around and even his running looks strained because of it.

You could be right and I actually hope the issue is that he's carrying an injury that with an off season can possibly reset him for next season. But he just looks so off the pace at the moment. Looks shot for confidence. When he turns the ball over because he is unable to get his arms free or break away from the tackle, he looks dejected and frustrated. Much the same when he is unable to take a contested mark.

On 04/08/2020 at 05:47, Yung Blood said:

He's certainly playing a lot heavier than I remember.

I thought it may have been a directive for him to get bigger so he can be a stay at home forward. Or am I imagining that?

If it was a ploy, it was ridiculous considering he isn't a crash and bash type

On 04/08/2020 at 05:57, BW511 said:

I thought it may have been a directive for him to get bigger so he can be a stay at home forward. Or am I imagining that?

You might have thought that perhaps because a poster was stating that as fact earlier this season (the name escapes me but i don;t recall them posting for a bit) ie they got him to stack on the weight as they wanted him big to play the gorilla role and would be played deep forward out of the square.

Which never happened (playing out of the square) - though given his lack of mobility that is the only spot i would have played him. Instead they played him up the ground, to the teams detriment. Crazy. 

In any case there is no way an AFL club would ask any player Tmac's size to get bigger and heavier given how important athleticism in footy these days. All the key forwards (eg hawkins) have gone the opposite direction 

On 04/08/2020 at 05:54, binman said:

Insert not sure if serious giph.

For one thing he is not fit or mobile enough to play down back.

And for another thing the last time his spot in the team was under an threat was when he was a defender. His kicking out of defence made Frost look like Jordon Lewis. Moving him forward was n act of desperation, which if it didn't work Tmac was gonski

And even if fit and suddenly could hit target why on god's good earth would they have four bigs down back.

Sure, just trying to think outside the box.

Last week, Port had 47 entries for 23 scoring shots, so they were scoring  nearly 50% of the time the ball came in.

Our defense is not all its cracked up to be.

Looks like ANB has been called up. A good move IMO. 

On 04/08/2020 at 06:14, The Stigga said:

Last week, Port had 47 entries for 23 scoring shots, so they were scoring  nearly 50% of the time the ball came in.

To be fair it was coming in so fast and with such little pressure, very few defences would've been able to stop it.

I personally think they're starting to look pretty good. Thought May was good, and I saw Lever really put his body on the line early on, plus he seems to be getting to better spots.

On 04/08/2020 at 05:57, BW511 said:

Other 'gorilla' fwds have slimmed down in recent years:  Hawkins, Dixon, Kennedy (WCE).   It has been suggested Buddy slim down.

So it would be going against the trend if we bulked up TMac.  Given that he has had foot and knee problems carrying extra weight doesn't seem helpful. 

T Mac needs to take a bath in WD40

his body just cannot allow him to be agile enough to play Key fwd

On 04/08/2020 at 06:36, DubDee said:

Worth a try!

On 04/08/2020 at 06:14, The Stigga said:

Tough on our defence, their entries were with very little pressure from our midfields. How often were they streaming towards the forward line with players essentially escorting the player with the ball? 

Not unlike the forward line, for the defence to function properly it requires the midfield doing their job properly. Instead they turned the ball over with easy kicks and handballs (jeez it really was a horror show). 

On 04/08/2020 at 06:36, DubDee said:

Don't google that at work. I'm sure there is some fetish group out there involving WD40