MyFavouriteMartian 572 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 (edited) On 26/06/2020 at 07:33, Bring-Back-Powell said: I thought Jetta was a bit stiff. The only time he lowered his colours in rd 2 was when he was on McKay who’s about 38 centimetres taller than him. I’m open minded about the changes, but it does seem very experimental at this stage. Expand I think this is it. We must have tried Nev on a tall against the Blues to see how he would go, so we can start to bring some new players thru the back-line. Rivers being the first of many, I think. I'd like to see Maxy play forward, and ruck as required, to get our Mids to fight harder when things are on a Silver platter for them. With Tomlinson rucking, and Salem to wing. Smith either to tall back pocket, or CHB. Lockhart to small back pocket, and Rivers to HBF. B: LOCKHART, MAY, LEVER HB: RIVERS, SMITH, HARMES C : LANGDON, PETRACCA, SALEM HF: FRITSCH, T.MCDONALD, VANDENBERG F: GAWN, HUNT, PICKETT FOLL: TOMLINSON, OLIVER, VINEY IC: BRAYSHAW, MELKSHAM, HANNAN, HIBBERD Edited June 26, 2020 by MyFavouriteMartian Quote
John Demonic 5,988 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 (edited) On 26/06/2020 at 09:46, Queanbeyan Demon said: So Simon is only three years behind trend? Expand TMac would be dominated by Collingwood in a prelim this year if he's sole focus. But then we'll recruit a Tom Lynch equivalent (Daniher?) to take off pressure so he can flourish as no2.. Short term pain, long term gain. 2021 premiership? Edited June 26, 2020 by John Demonic Clarification Quote
M_9 2,216 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 09:52, John Demonic said: TMac is due to be dominated by Collingwood in a prelim this year and then we'll recruit a Tom Lynch equivalent (Daniher?) to take off pressure. Short term pain, long term gain. Expand Geez I hope not. Doubt I could bring myself to cheer for that bloke. 2 Quote
John Demonic 5,988 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 09:58, M_9 said: Geez I hope not. Doubt I could bring myself to cheer for that bloke. Expand We can just refer to him as Neale's nephew if that makes it easier for ya 2 1 1 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 09:06, picket fence said: I'll Say it NOW and posters can hold me to account GARBAGE SELECTIONS Jetta??????????? Held Eddie Betts to almost zero Hibberd cooked I've already spoken about Harley Benell's exclusion WE WILL GET FLOGGED P.S Why perservere with the HARMES move on HBF Needs to be where the action is What has Hannan done to deserve a game T. Mac would want to play career best game Rubbish! IMV Expand Let it all out Picket, hold nothing back and you can a have a good nights rest Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 Our backline is so lacking in options it's not funny If Hawkins gets on top of May what's plan B? Lever? undersized and not good one on one and loses his best weapon by playing that way. I get the desire to get Lochart into the side, but i'm not sure if he's going to be able to play that role on Ablett as effectively as Nev could Quote
JTR 2,910 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 09:26, Queanbeyan Demon said: Agree PF. I don't think I've ever commented on selection previously. However the farcical nature of this team selection is beyond comprehension. Hannan, unfortunately, is a dud. Hibberd a headless chook. We all love Nev, and although it's sad to see him go, it's about the only selection decision that might be described as 'understandable'. How is TMac getting a friggin game? The turning circle of the Queen Mary and the on field footy smarts of Michael Gaffer. And we prefer him now to Jackson. And as for the dropping of Harley (pretty close to the only non-butcher at the club) . . . speechless. Expand Bennell has not been "dropped" He is being managed and will be all season. Get used to it. 2 Quote
darkhorse72 1,943 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 25/06/2020 at 09:12, binman said: I would be shocked if he is dropped. i highly recommend the zoom sessions the club is running at the moment. Fantastic intiaitive from the club. I have only missed one so far. The only go for 30 mins but they have been super interesting and informative. The zoom format and having members only really seems to creat an open and transparent vibe that is relay refreshing compared to the sound bite media pressers. Anyway Ben Matthews said on Tuesday that Brayshaw was the clear stand out in the intra club game. Expand How are the zoom meetings organised for the members? Quote
loges 6,767 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 One thing thats become obvious with selection this year, names and reputations mean nothing. Selectors will pick what they regard as the best side regardless. Oh, and some of the criticisms on here would be better left until after the game. 3 Quote
JTR 2,910 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 (edited) On 26/06/2020 at 10:26, Darkhorse72 said: How are the zoom meetings organised for the members? Expand Email comes around once per week from which you can register for the session/s you want to attend. Then on the day of you get another email with a link to the meeting. Agree with binman in that they have been really good. Next ones are Plapp on Tuesday and Mahoney next Friday. Mahoney is the regular one each Friday but others that have been on so far are Gawn, Viney, Matthews & Richardson. Edit - questions you want asked can be pre-submitted or asked during session. Edited June 26, 2020 by JTR 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,777 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 usually it's about round 8 that you realise the season is it's usual wasted self... this year is weird.. I have the usual feeling after round 2. Would be noice to get the 2018 (even the hope of 2017) feeling back again. Quote
CHF 2,825 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 With the way that this season have been chopped up for us I am not surprised at any of the selections. I like the team and think it will be very difficult to coach against if we get a few goals early. Reasonable defence, a good deep midfield and a forward structure that will at least be interesting to watch. Oliver to run against Dangerfield and Harmes to spend all day with Ablett, No matter where he is. I would back them both to win their day against those two. TMac to play deep and run and launch at every pack with 3 or 4 at his feet. 3 Quote
MyFavouriteMartian 572 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 09:17, TheKozzieExperience said: Definitely different seeing the likes of Jonesy and Nev Jetta out of the team. Someone said yesterday Jetta was a great matchup for Ablett, which is true despite him being down on form. Fingers crossed Ablett doesnt cut loose. Expand We've got just the player for him. On 26/06/2020 at 09:46, Queanbeyan Demon said: So Simon is only three years behind trend? Expand So far behind trend, he's actually setting it, the trend. ? Quote
MyFavouriteMartian 572 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 09:28, Gorgoroth said: So with Jetta oit who plays on Ablett? Nev has a great record vs Ablett when he rested forward, I don’t trust anyone else for the job. Expand Harmes. Quote
DubDee 26,682 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 11:03, Diamond_Jim said: usually it's about round 8 that you realise the season is it's usual wasted self... this year is weird.. I have the usual feeling after round 2. Would be noice to get the 2018 (even the hope of 2017) feeling back again. Expand We are 1-1. Why do you have that feeling already? im holding out til round 8 ? Quote
Gorgoroth 13,220 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 11:15, MyFavouriteMartian said: Harmes. Expand Ablett kills Harmes, Harmes isn’t a natural defender. Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,030 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 10:24, JTR said: Bennell has not been "dropped" He is being managed and will be all season. Get used to it. Expand Astonishing! Quote
Jack Russell 80 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 11:45, Queanbeyan Demon said: Astonishing! Expand Not really I predicted it after Carlton it is really smart playing the long game - we have sig depth at the moment build him up to 80% then let him loose for run home 3 Quote
Tarax Club 4,196 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 (edited) On 26/06/2020 at 10:47, Clint Bizkit said: Rubbish forward line. Expand Maybe we are seeing a sea change in the coaches' thinking re: forward line/goal scoring dynamics. With Tom's contribution being questioned and Sam Weideman not coming on as expected. As a poster reported earlier in this thread, tall forwards are not represented in the top ten goal kickers, thus far this season in the competition. Is the bomb it long and hope for a spectacular pack mark by a power forward being consigned to the same fate as the demise of the dinosaurs? With some canny defensive strategies coaches now have in place, largely negating taller forwards already limited opportunities. Intercept defenders who read the flight of the ball so well, paired with swiftly moving attacking rebounding defenders. Of course there could still be a gorilla keeper or two still lurking close-by. Reliance on medium sized and small forwards with their array of individual attributes and flashes of brilliance could be risky. Hopefully support will be forthcoming from the midfield, to lower their eyes and deliver the ball lace out. Some additional goals too, would also help the overall scoreboard In the post-game analysis of last weekends scratch match Whatwhatsaywhat's observation 'I can completely understand the team selection based upon watching that highlights package again having hannan, hunt, pickett and bennell in our forward line alongside t mac, fritsch as marking targets plus milkshake and avb bustling around COULD work' certainly resonated here. Edited June 26, 2020 by Tarax Club 2 1 Quote
binman 44,851 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 10:40, JTR said: Email comes around once per week from which you can register for the session/s you want to attend. Then on the day of you get another email with a link to the meeting. Agree with binman in that they have been really good. Next ones are Plapp on Tuesday and Mahoney next Friday. Mahoney is the regular one each Friday but others that have been on so far are Gawn, Viney, Matthews & Richardson. Edit - questions you want asked can be pre-submitted or asked during session. Expand I meant to do tonight's one. Was working and list track of time, remembering only at 7:28. Was it good? Quote
MyFavouriteMartian 572 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 11:52, Jack Russell said: Not really I predicted it after Carlton it is really smart playing the long game - we have sig depth at the moment build him up to 80% then let him loose for run home Expand Exactly. We new at the start of the year that Bennell would be a week to week proposition, for this very reason, that he can't be rushed with his past issues, and the fact they have taken a complete band of muscles out of his lower legs. Which will mean his lower legs will be under strength to some degree. His body will need time to start to re-balance itself, via strengthening the other calf muscles to counter the loss. 1 Quote
John Demonic 5,988 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 (edited) On 26/06/2020 at 12:04, Tarax Club said: Maybe we are seeing a sea change in the coaches' thinking re: forward line/goal scoring dynamics. With Tom's contribution being questioned and Sam Weideman not coming on as expected. As a poster reported earlier in this thread, tall forwards are not represented in the top ten goal kickers, thus far this season in the competition. Is the bomb it long and hope for a spectacular pack mark by a power forward being consigned to the same fate as the demise of the dinosaurs? With some canny defensive strategies coaches now have in place, largely negating taller forwards already limited opportunities. Intercept defenders who read the flight of the ball so well, paired with swiftly moving attacking rebounding defenders. Of course there could still be a gorilla keeper or two still lurking close-by. Reliance on medium sized and small forwards with their array of individual attributes and flashes of brilliance could be risky. Hopefully support will be forthcoming from the midfield, to lower their eyes and deliver the ball lace out. Some additional goals too, would also help the overall scoreboard In the post-game analysis of last weekends scratch match Whatwhatsaywhat's observation 'I can completely understand the team selection based upon watching that highlights package again having hannan, hunt, pickett and bennell in our forward line alongside t mac, fritsch as marking targets plus milkshake and avb bustling around COULD work' certainly resonated here. Expand The difference between us and the Pies though is their first round pick drafting of gun midrange forwards and the piecing together of a defense out of cheap trades and a f/s. We've done the opposite with Def/fwd and now have a rag tag forward line and gun defense at least on paper. And while we all wait for cohesion and experience to form, there is a ceiling, if you do lack these explosive natural forwards. Hoping Kosi can impact like Stephenson did. But yeah, would've been nice to get Jamie Elliot last year at least. Although what we really lack is De Goey if we're going down this midrange forward path. Bennell reaching his peak is exactly what we need. No pressure ha Edited June 26, 2020 by John Demonic 1 Quote
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 On 26/06/2020 at 10:26, loges said: One thing thats become obvious with selection this year, names and reputations mean nothing. Selectors will pick what they regard as the best side regardless. Oh, and some of the criticisms on here would be better left until after the game. Expand Not sure I agree totally mate. ANB was good against the Blues - Dropped. Hannan & vandenBerg - Rushed straight back in from injury. Brown and Weid - Not even getting a sniff. TMac and Gus - Indifferent form for a long time now but picked every week regardless. Sure, Nev and Jones have been dropped, but most of the other names are the same ones that get the same amount of either extremely limited or seemingly overextended chances. 1 Quote
JTR 2,910 Posted June 26, 2020 Posted June 26, 2020 (edited) On 26/06/2020 at 11:45, Queanbeyan Demon said: Astonishing! Expand Really? He's played 3 games, had 25 calf injuries and not run pain free in 5 years (until now), and you are surprised they are cautiously easing him back into a full workload? Edited June 26, 2020 by JTR 3 1 Quote