Posted
2 hours ago, Lord Nev said:

Dees fans - 'Stop talking and start winning!'

Also Dees fans - 'The club doesn't talk enough!'

Not sure what your point is LN.

For one thing there is not an amorphous dees fan that holds multiple, contradictory views. The dichotomy you express is likely held by two distinct fans, not one.

As an example i don't hold to the view they should stop talking, And have long been of the view that they don't talk enough in terms providing interesting, engaging content to supporters.

But in any case the the content i'm suggesting there be more of is the opposite to the bog standard, cliche ridden interview that is the norm in the AFL. That sort of meaningless, script based talking i could do with less off, albeit acknowledging it has its place and is what the media demands. 

Here is an example of what i mean about cheap, easy to produce content that brings fans closer to their team and builds engagement: Brett Brown talking to his team after their first playoff win last season (the 76ers post this sort of stuff regularly to their twitter feed and club website)

https://www.nbcsports.com/philadelphia/video/brett-brown-ring-bell

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Hitting the juice early Bin?

The kids don't care about spelling either. Just getting with the times

(ps bloody smart phones and rushing)

Posted
17 minutes ago, binman said:

The kids don't care about spelling either. Just getting with the times

(ps bloody smart phones and rushing)

You are not alone binman, all just part of the 21st century we live in.

Posted
45 minutes ago, binman said:

Not sure what your point is LN.

For one thing there is not an amorphous dees fan that holds multiple, contradictory views. The dichotomy you express is likely held by two distinct fans, not one.

As an example i don't hold to the view they should stop talking, And have long been of the view that they don't talk enough in terms providing interesting, engaging content to supporters.

But in any case the the content i'm suggesting there be more of is the opposite to the bog standard, cliche ridden interview that is the norm in the AFL. That sort of meaningless, script based talking i could do with less off, albeit acknowledging it has its place and is what the media demands. 

Here is an example of what i mean about cheap, easy to produce content that brings fans closer to their team and builds engagement: Brett Brown talking to his team after their first playoff win last season (the 76ers post this sort of stuff regularly to their twitter feed and club website)

https://www.nbcsports.com/philadelphia/video/brett-brown-ring-bell

Was a joke mate.

Posted

Maybe I'm different and grew up in an era when if you got one newspaper article a week on your team you felt lucky.

I personally think there is too much media.  It's all I could do to bring myself to watch the Michael Hibberd video and I knew what he was going to say.  Goody's pressers during the season require large doses of concentration to avoid going to sleep (this is not a criticism of Goody, frankly the less we give the oppositon the happier I am).  I could count on one hand the interesting video's I seen from anyone since seasons end and they would probably be Burgo giving his none too complete injury report.

I understand it's different for everyone but it just seems that no matter what we do it's not good enough for some.  And I'd also be interested to see how we compared with other AFL clubs, not those from different sports.

How many clubs had an information night at the end of their seasons?  And perhaps the Club think they have better places to spend their limited resources.  Perhaps they think the information provided on Demonland is so good anything much they add is unnecessary.

I'm with Lord Nev.  Seems if we produce stuff it's just fluff and if we don't it's no good.

Seventeen days to go, I for one can't wait.

Posted
18 hours ago, big_red_fire_engine said:

Frosts’ role is there for the taking is it not? If we want Lever to play the intercept then its Omac or Smith for the second tall defender. Smith offers more defensive flexibility I suggest. 

If Oscar gets a game in front of Smith then the club is stuffed Defensively! Smith offers much if fit!

Posted
14 minutes ago, Baghdad Bob said:

Maybe I'm different and grew up in an era when if you got one newspaper article a week on your team you felt lucky.

I personally think there is too much media.  It's all I could do to bring myself to watch the Michael Hibberd video and I knew what he was going to say.  Goody's pressers during the season require large doses of concentration to avoid going to sleep (this is not a criticism of Goody, frankly the less we give the oppositon the happier I am).  I could count on one hand the interesting video's I seen from anyone since seasons end and they would probably be Burgo giving his none too complete injury report.

I understand it's different for everyone but it just seems that no matter what we do it's not good enough for some.  And I'd also be interested to see how we compared with other AFL clubs, not those from different sports.

How many clubs had an information night at the end of their seasons?  And perhaps the Club think they have better places to spend their limited resources.  Perhaps they think the information provided on Demonland is so good anything much they add is unnecessary.

I'm with Lord Nev.  Seems if we produce stuff it's just fluff and if we don't it's no good.

Seventeen days to go, I for one can't wait.

I grew up in that era too 'Bob', but we don't live there now.

It shouldn't be too much to expect some decent pix at least. We are spoiled with the quality 'Six6Six' posts but in reality the club should be able to post similar from the camp.

Is it too much to ask?

Posted
1 hour ago, dpositive said:

I reckon you'r right be.

Dland reporters have provided some high quality commentary and photos without any huge infrastructure or structural support.

The Qland troupe maintained the standard and well done to them.

The club provided content is necessarily formulating c as they are probably offered to conventional media. We still do not have enough clout to get the content on that media, unless it is Max's leg.

Its good that the club a team least posts its content to us but we are unlikely to get more cover until we have success.

Who knows Dland posters may have job opportunities (ie hardbacks son Liam) as we begin to forge our next premiership. By the time we have completed our three peat Saty, Baghdad, and George will be the Joffa of Demons.

I'm not sure what Saty, Baghdad and George will be more offended by...that they could ever be considered to be like Joffa or, by inference, with each other?

I know I'd never be considered to be like any of them. I haven't got Saty's hair, I'm the wrong religion to be allowed anywhere near Baghdad and I don't sit in the outer. And as for Joffa? Well, I've got all my own teeth.

Posted (edited)
34 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Was a joke mate.

Quite a long response by me to a joke then!

Posted
14 minutes ago, rjay said:

It shouldn't be too much to expect some decent pix at least. We are spoiled with the quality 'Six6Six' posts but in reality the club should be able to post similar from the camp.

Is it too much to ask?

No its not.

But i agree with Bob. The sort of scripted interview that is the standard AFL fare is dead boring. If for no other reason than the answers are cliche ridden and are designed to avoid providing any real insight.

And whilst most demonlanders might watch post match pressers and 5 minute media interviews with players most young people won't. They want something more interesting. And different. It surely is not hard.

Look at the fly on the wall stuff from the draft night. Dead easy, cheap and interesting. My 17 year old son (who will watch lo fi grainy clips of high school basketball from the states and videos of a TV showing video) who is basically lost to footy because he has lost interest, even watched and enjoyed those two videos.

The key focus of an AFL clubs media strategy is surely fan engagement. And so their content should be engaging. 

Posted
17 minutes ago, Demon Dude said:

there's better up to date, and more interesting, reports and photos to be found from our track watchers on the Demonland training threads than anything up on the MFC site.

That is 150% true.

It's an indictment on the club website that I come to Demonland for all the training and injury news.

I doubt the other clubs are any better in terms of keeping their supporters in the loop.

Posted

I thought the media from the camp was fine. Ben Gibson did some good interviews with Petracca and Tom McDonald. Good article on Viney.  I am glad they never ran the Salem barber shop, pretend snake at the beach type ones from years previous.  

One thing they could do more of is just random vision from training. That is the stuff of real interest. 

Posted
1 hour ago, rjay said:

Is it too much to ask?

I know times have changed rjay, I just have to look in the mirror!

But really, is this complaint about "not enough pics"?  We get them most training sessions, how many do you want?  And if we got 150 of the last training session how many would you look at from the next?

I get it, people are different but we are clutching at straws to pot the Club for this I reckon.  We got fantastic vision of draft night, we got the members info night, we get regular player interviews, we get injury reports, we get radio interviews with players, coach and Mahoney, we are going to get an insight through "To Hell and Back".

Not enough media?  Really?

Posted (edited)
16 minutes ago, Baghdad Bob said:

But really, is this complaint about "not enough pics"?  We get them most training sessions, how many do you want?  And if we got 150 of the last training session how many would you look at from the next?

I get it, people are different but we are clutching at straws to pot the Club for this I reckon.  We got fantastic vision of draft night, we got the members info night, we get regular player interviews, we get injury reports, we get radio interviews with players, coach and Mahoney, we are going to get an insight through "To Hell and Back".

Agree there is more than enough rubbish, stock standard media BB. Media filtered through old media platform like like TV and radio. 

But young people simply do not use those platforms or engage with talking head scripted player and coach interviews.

If we want to be build our support base and remain relevant as football club we need to engage with young people - not you and i. Simple as that. We're dead in the water if we don't. And young people want interesting, engaging content.

There is a reason Morgon Stanley has valued youtube at $160 billion. It has the content young people and kids demand. 

Its not about not being enough media. It's about there not being enough right type of media. 

Posted
16 minutes ago, binman said:

Agree there is more than enough rubbish, stock standard media BB. Media filtered through old media platform like like TV and radio. 

Its not about not being enough media. It's about there not being enough right type of media. 

Well I can hardly think of anything that is not now available of a phone, tablet or computer be it television or radio.  And I suspect the "right type of media" is a phrase easily thrown out there but very difficult to manufacture. And what is "right" to some is fluff to others and boring to yet others.

Anyway that's it from me, I've made my point.

Posted
2 hours ago, binman said:

Look at the fly on the wall stuff from the draft night. Dead easy, cheap and interesting. My 17 year old son (who will watch lo fi grainy clips of high school basketball from the states and videos of a TV showing video) who is basically lost to footy because he has lost interest, even watched and enjoyed those two videos.

The key focus of an AFL clubs media strategy is surely fan engagement. And so their content should be engaging. 

Maybe, but surely he will only become interested in footy by the footy itself, not by some videos concerning players etc., however cool.    I'm an old fogie, but I reckon going to the footy and playing it when young is what makes a footy fan. Pity the cost of going to the footy is now so huge in these modern professional commercial days.

Posted
7 hours ago, Redleg said:

To be honest I would happily accept less info and more wins.

I might wrong Red, but I don't think the club's media people can win games for us. Although last year they might have gone closer than the players once or twice

Posted
7 hours ago, Baghdad Bob said:

The original question related to the Training Camp only. I gave an opinion that the coverage wasn't as good as previous years and I wasn't impressed by the Instagram stuff. I may have been a little derogatory in my comments and that is likely a result of my general experience of media. I still say it wasn't as good as previous. If there was a team up there working on the "To Hell and Back" doco and the limited resources were channeled into that, then fair enough, I'm happy to reconsider the criticism. 

Posted
43 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

I might wrong Red, but I don't think the club's media people can win games for us. Although last year they might have gone closer than the players once or twice

Do you think you missed my point?

Posted
17 hours ago, sue said:

Maybe, but surely he will only become interested in footy by the footy itself, not by some videos concerning players etc., however cool.    I'm an old fogie, but I reckon going to the footy and playing it when young is what makes a footy fan. Pity the cost of going to the footy is now so huge in these modern professional commercial days.

Is it? Has anyone  seen any analysis which compares the cost of going to the footy today compared with previous eras in real terms? I'd be surprised if "going to the footy" is materially more expensive. However, I wouldn't be at all surprised if the additional costs (food and beverage, primarily) are more expensive, but in my view, they are avoidable costs.