Posted
15 hours ago, george_on_the_outer said:

2019: Watts 2 games 0 goals.  Kent 13 games 12 goals.....not much in the way of goal kicking sources.

Kent’s 12 goals in 13 games probably would’ve won him a Bluey the way most of our player went about it last year.

If Kent played a full season he would’ve kicked 25 odd goals which would’ve been enough to win the leading goal kicking award.

So yes, he would’ve provide a valuable goal source if you think about it.

Posted
18 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

In 2019 we could’ve done with Kent and Watts as goal kicking sources.

Both missed most of 2019 with a injury

Posted
6 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Yep, Watts plainly should’ve done much more even though he suffered a badly broken leg and dislocated ankle in round 2 and was in rehab for the rest of the year.

As an aside, in 2016 and 2017 Watts was ranked #2 in the competition for effective kicks inside 50.

I reckon it’s fair to say we could’ve used a player like that last year.

Nope. Nope and nope. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Kent’s 12 goals in 13 games probably would’ve won him a Bluey the way most of our player went about it last year.

If Kent played a full season he would’ve kicked 25 odd goals which would’ve been enough to win the leading goal kicking award.

So yes, he would’ve provide a valuable goal source if you think about it.

let it go bbp.....you'll feel much better

Posted
8 hours ago, ProDee said:

You mean he matured after 10 years in the system ?  Wow.  Good on him.

What you, and others, seemingly constantly fail to understand is that his attributes ...

weren't ''enough''.

Plainly we don’t agree on the value of Watts’ attributes.. In short, I think his attributes have value, it seems you don’t - not at AFL level at least.

Relevantly, a good mate of mine (who’s a Port supporter and who’s very well connected at the club) told me that Watts is well regarded at Port and that they were expecting him to have a really good season in 2019 off half back. Despite his well documented activities in Munich immediately following season 2018, he apparently had a great preseason and was set for a big year. A badly broken leg put paid to that.

Make of this what you will. I expect you’ll attribute zero credence to it. The fact is however that Watts has skills which are recognised by knowledgeable people in the industry. This is a fact, not my opinion.

As an aside, I remain a Goodwin supporter, but I think even he would acknowledge that he has adjusted his settings on contested beasts and that he now (partially) respects players with good foot skills - i.e. he may now have more respect for Jack Watts’ attributes than he did a couple of years ago.

Anyway - Jack is not the enemy. Against his will, he was traded to another club. He seems to have accepted it and moved on. Why keep bagging him?

Posted
3 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Plainly we don’t agree on the value of Watts’ attributes.. In short, I think his attributes have value, it seems you don’t - not at AFL level at least.

Relevantly, a good mate of mine (who’s a Port supporter and who’s very well connected at the club) told me that Watts is well regarded at Port and that they were expecting him to have a really good season in 2019 off half back. Despite his well documented activities in Munich immediately following season 2018, he apparently had a great preseason and was set for a big year. A badly broken leg put paid to that.

Make of this what you will. I expect you’ll attribute zero credence to it. The fact is however that Watts has skills which are recognised by knowledgeable people in the industry. This is a fact, not my opinion.

As an aside, I remain a Goodwin supporter, but I think even he would acknowledge that he has adjusted his settings on contested beasts and that he now (partially) respects players with good foot skills - i.e. he may now have more respect for Jack Watts’ attributes than he did a couple of years ago.

Anyway - Jack is not the enemy. Against his will, he was traded to another club. He seems to have accepted it and moved on. Why keep bagging him?

Point 1.  Yes, plainly we agree that we disagree.  No, I don't value Watts two kicks per quarter.  Nor did his former coach and nor did his new coach, otherwise he wouldn't have had his [censored] kicked to the kerb by the former and he wouldn't have been dropped by the latter.

Point 2.  Yes, he's OK behind the ball.  Thank FFT, as he's useless anywhere else.

Point 3.  Yes, he has skills.  If you need industry sources as validation of Watts' skills give up watching footy.  We all know he has skills.

Point 4.  I doubt Goodwin craves your validation, but I also have zero doubt about his desire for the contest.  It hasn't changed.  Now, he knows there are degrees of contested beasts, but his ''acceptable level'' in the contest would not have changed.  We sucked in the contest in 2019 for a number of reasons and Watts wouldn't have helped that criteria.  He's comical.  But he still has a belated chance to improve this failing at his current club.

Point 5.  Why keep bagging him ?  If a poor watcher of football makes incorrect assertions about a player, i.e you, I reserve the right to contribute.  I responded to drivel, I didn't initiate.  You did.

Posted
13 hours ago, JakovichScissorKick said:

Didnt really  like the pickup at the time.. always though he was overrated at the Pies.

Have we ever won a trade with them?

Everyone at the Pies is overrated. Always. It's because that club is media-hyped up the yinyang.

Remember the little kid on the Coodabeens who rang every week to ask if Craig Starcevich was going to win the Brownlow? That said it all.

Posted
10 hours ago, ProDee said:

Point 4.  I doubt Goodwin craves your validation, but I also have zero doubt about his desire for the contest.  It hasn't changed.  Now, he knows there are degrees of contested beasts, but his ''acceptable level'' in the contest would not have changed.  We sucked in the contest in 2019 for a number of reasons and Watts wouldn't have helped that criteria.  He's comical.  But he still has a belated chance to improve this failing at his current club.

Why do you say things like this? I’ve not ever suggested that Goodwin cares about my opinion or sought to make this an issue.

It just takes debates into an unnecessarily personal realm.

Quite frankly, I don’t know anyone here (or Simon Goodwin) and I certainly don’t crave any validation in this aspect of my life. I am a passionate Dees’ supporter and merely come here to find out stuff about the club and the list etc, and to otherwise have a chat with people who seem also to support the club (which is my only avenue really given that my wife has zero interest in AFL and I live in Sydney where 100% of people of zero interest in the Melbourne Demons).

That said, I appreciate your response. Thank you.

Posted

Lumumba played an unreal quarter against North in that ridiculously scoring Hobart game in early 2016. Otherwise serviceable but given that we only paid for with a 'retired' Mitch Clark he did enough. Certainly didn't have the negative influence that some expected. If you'd gone by the forums when he was recruited he was going to have the rookie list in a circle reading Marx and launching a revolution to overthrow the President.

Posted

I cant believe people could be missing Jack Watts or Lamumba. For followers of the Demons to believe we would be a better club with these two airheads still on board is hard to grasp. This board would be in meltdown if we still carried these clowns who would have influenced younger players with their crap. Anyone who had met Heretier and saw his posing 1st hand would not be upset with his departure.

Posted (edited)
On 1/10/2020 at 8:27 PM, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I prefer Hogan over May as Hogan actually provided good service to us and barely missed games (aside from 2014 and the last few weeks of 2018).

Hopefully May has a full season this year.

Definitely prefer what Hogan gave us over May, and at 28yo having never played a full season it's pretty unlikely he will unfortunately.

Edited by TheoX

Posted
On 1/11/2020 at 6:16 AM, ProDee said:

Lumumba was one of the softest Melbourne players I've had the misfortune to lay my eyes on.

He'd have to have stiff competition for that!

Posted
35 minutes ago, Damo said:

I cant believe people could be missing Jack Watts or Lamumba. For followers of the Demons to believe we would be a better club with these two airheads still on board is hard to grasp. This board would be in meltdown if we still carried these clowns who would have influenced younger players with their crap. Anyone who had met Heretier and saw his posing 1st hand would not be upset with his departure.

One man's airhead, another man's guru. 

There but for the grace of whatever god...

Why waste time and energy bagging players?

Posted
On 1/11/2020 at 10:33 AM, faultydet said:

Jurrah ate him for breakfast in the softness stakes.

Lumumbas biggest problem was his softness between the ears. A huge dose of self importance can do that to a bloke.

In a cesspool of Collingwood rejects we have taken , Lumumba was possibly the worst one yet!

Posted
2 minutes ago, picket fence said:

In a cesspool of Collingwood rejects we have taken , Lumumba was possibly the worst one yet!

Look on the bright side: there was the occasional gem: Peter Moore, Wayne Gordon, Henry Coles...

Posted
4 minutes ago, picket fence said:

No, Phil Carman takes that prize.

Posted
2 minutes ago, dieter said:

No, Phil Carman takes that prize.

Bill Barham???

Posted
54 minutes ago, dieter said:

One man's airhead, another man's guru. 

Ok thanks for letting me know where you're at.