Posted
21 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

The pragmatic question is. What don’t the football department see in him going forward. What are the risks that he brings to play? and what is coachable in his attributes? 

I think the real problem with this whole situation is not that the club don't believe in his ability to play, but the footy department not accounting for a) how much improvement Frost would show this year, and b) the amount of players we would have to bring in during this trade period plus their salaries to equalise our deficiencies around the park. 

I don't think anyone after last year could wholeheartedly say that they saw a year like this coming - especially when factoring in just how much personnel we'd have to fix up come trade period. Frost coming out of contract at this time of year was probably viewed as an easy fix. Now with the likes of Langdon, Tomlinson and possibly others linked it seemingly looks like a squeeze for cash.

The only thing I'll say is that if we really want to keep him, we need to get rid of the absolute list-clogging hacks that are taking up valuable coin.

Posted
18 minutes ago, AaronDaveyChipsAndGravey said:

Can't see how Petty is in front of him, has shown nothing down back to make me think he's part of the best 6 down back. Think the club will develop his forward role this year

I couldnt agree more Petty is no where near Frost at the moment

Posted
8 minutes ago, AaronDaveyChipsAndGravey said:

I think the real problem with this whole situation is not that the club don't believe in his ability to play, but the footy department not accounting for a) how much improvement Frost would show this year, and b) the amount of players we would have to bring in during this trade period plus their salaries to equalise our deficiencies around the park. 

I don't think anyone after last year could wholeheartedly say that they saw a year like this coming - especially when factoring in just how much personnel we'd have to fix up come trade period. Frost coming out of contract at this time of year was probably viewed as an easy fix. Now with the likes of Langdon, Tomlinson and possibly others linked it seemingly looks like a squeeze for cash.

The only thing I'll say is that if we really want to keep him, we need to get rid of the absolute list-clogging hacks that are taking up valuable coin.

Omac Stretch ANB JKH a pair of Wagners for a start

Posted
1 minute ago, Kent said:

Omac Stretch ANB JKH a pair of Wagners for a start

Delist - Omac
Seek Trades/use in deals - ANB, Stretch, JKH 
Keep - Wagners (Corey keep on Rookie list unless we can find some thing better through rookie draft, Josh defensive depth)

Posted
1 hour ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

To just look at scores from turnovers is a simplistic one sided analysis.  At times this year Frost intercept marking has been huge, he regularly spoils and saves goals that others simply wouldn't. 

I agree Rodney, it was simplistic, and reductionist - I was a little rushed to make my point in-between kids drop off etc. Nonetheless that particular point is illustrative of my overall view. For me, Frost is too inconsistent in game, even though he had a far superior and consistent year than any other.

Posted

We are slow & risk losing a defender with speed! He turns over the ball but perhaps if our forwards etc moved to the right space he would find targets! Too much upside to let him go, but as usual he will go to the hawks & be a premiership player!

Posted

Before we start leaving skid marks in our jocks, lets see how this plays out first.  We have no idea what's going on behind the scenes.

Also, how many of you getting angry would have been happy to move him on at the end of last season?  I'd say 95% of you would have, and would have said as much in some of the threads.  Just calm down and think rationally for just a few seconds.

Posted
1 minute ago, Wiseblood said:

We have no idea what's going on behind the scenes.

Funni cause I don’t think the MFC know what’s going on either. 

Posted
Just now, DemonOX said:

Funni cause I don’t think the MFC know what’s going on either. 

I think seeing us pursuing both Tomlinson and Langdon, plus the potential of splitting our first pick for two slightly later picks and a player, shows that we know exactly what is going on and that we need to bring in further talent in various areas to combat that.

Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

I think seeing us pursuing both Tomlinson and Langdon, plus the potential of splitting our first pick for two slightly later picks and a player, shows that we know exactly what is going on and that we need to bring in further talent in various areas to combat that.

I was just being a smart [censored] Wise but sometimes it does feel like the club has no idea. 

Time will tell how good it turns out. 

Edited by DemonOX
Posted
15 hours ago, John Demonic said:

Frosts job is as a 1st or 2nd KPD stopper. Why is it that his 'bonus' attribute of elite speed suddenly is an essential aspect of our back 6 going forward? Other clubs don't demand it of their stoppers. Don't we have Hibberd, Salem and Lever (KK, Wagner etc) as rebounding runners/kickers? If you want more speed out of defence, replace Hibberd. Try Jason Johannisen. If you want a reliable KPD to help May, recruit a KPD primarily to Stop (Like we were apparently reported to be doing with Keath)

It's essential because attack starts from defence & Frosty is the only one that has shows any resemblance of speed in transition,,,,,

Hibberd, Salem, Lever & KK for that matter are no Stawell Gift winners. The Dees are lacking speed & that has never been more notable than this year & now it sounds like they are going to let Frosty go?

Just astounding.....

Posted (edited)
27 minutes ago, Laughing Goat said:

It's essential because attack starts from defence & Frosty is the only one that has shows any resemblance of speed in transition,,,,,

Hibberd, Salem, Lever & KK for that matter are no Stawell Gift winners. The Dees are lacking speed & that has never been more notable than this year & now it sounds like they are going to let Frosty go?

Just astounding.....

Where have to read that Melbourne are just going to 'let Frosty go'? 

All I've read so far is that Hawthorn have shown interest but his manager has been quoted saying Melbourne are communicating that Frost is a "required player" and that contract talks have been positive.

I really doubt this is about Frosts playing but more about salary and contract talks. We've got guys playing alongside him on big money and I imagine fitting him in with a decent contract isn't straight forward at the moment.

Edited by Yung Blood
Posted

Mixed feelings with Frosty, he finally began to play some consistent footy but it must be hard to play a system when you have a headless chook back there.  Which is why I am baffled as to why the hawks would want him, high possession, kicking team. smacks of desperation from Clarko. he needs to go back to the draft but he might be too stubborn

Frosty is a good B grade type player but we can't be paying guys like him big wages or we'll be screwed soon. so if he goes, he goes. 

Posted
11 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Or the torpedo punts into the centre square from full back 

Or round 23 when he destroyed Brown

Or the run and 2 handballs and one kick to setup a goal v Freo 

Frosty was one of the very few bright lights in 2019

ridiculous to low ball any contract offer 

Exactly that, our List management is and has been Appalling over the years??

Posted (edited)
17 hours ago, Laughing Goat said:

Typical Melbourne.....one of the only blokes who is a 100m player & whilst his efficiency isn't ideal I love how he takes the game on  attacks from the back half.

Exactly the type of player we need to keep.....we are not going to get extra outside run from Tomlinson.

Does the 100m take into account the metres lost when the ball goes flying back over his head from a turnover?

Posted
15 hours ago, Brownie said:

He's improved since this. We'd be mad to get rid of him.

He'll be our best defender within 3 years I reckon.

His disposal has improved steadily this year.

That was earlier this season. He hasn't improved, he's still chaotic and had the most goals scored from turnovers for our side (if not the comp).

Posted
13 hours ago, TGR said:

Goodwin, Taylor and Bartlett should tour Waverley.  I’ll pay for their Uber.

Goody has troubles differentiating carp from ‘the good stuff’.

Ross Lyon 2021

pTGR

So you're off Plough now?

Posted
53 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Does the 100m take into account the metres lost when the ball goes flying back over his head from a turnover?

Ha Ha.....Probably not Dr G, but lets face it, he's not the lone ranger with turnovers. Be interesting to see who are the safest players we have? Prob a site for this I'm guessing......

Posted

Whole lot of people on here jumping to conclusions. If he's been told he's a required player then clearly the footy department rate him, however the impose might involve the money and length of contract. Just because they rate him, doesn't mean they automatically give him a contract based on what he and his manager want.

Wouldn't be at all surprised if his manager is doing all he can to pump up his value, he seems to be the one quoted in the media.  

Posted (edited)

everyone carrying on like we are losing the second coming of peter knights needs to calm down a bit

frost is a classic 'good, ordinary' kpp

he's never shown any consistency in his play from quarter to quarter let alone season to season

there is PLENTY of time for it all to play out in the wash before trade period is over

i'm not fussed if we keep him or he goes; we'll get something for him, particularly if other clubs are keen on his services

i still think we massively overpaid for him as a second round pick

Edited by whatwhatsaywhat
Posted
10 minutes ago, whatwhatsaywhat said:

everyone carrying on like we are losing the second coming of peter knights needs to calm down a bit

frost is a classic 'good, ordinary' kpp

he's never shown any consistency in his play from quarter to quarter let alone season to season

there is PLENTY of time for it all to play out in the wash before trade period is over

i'm not fussed if we keep him or he goes; we'll get something for him, particularly if other clubs are keen on his services

i still think we massively overpaid for him as a second round pick

I'm a novice at this stuff but what do we get for someone who is out of contract?