Posted
3 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

Use your eyes to assess players. Stats are only there to confirm what you already think or don't think. And for the record, i think Tomlinson is going to be like Oscar Mcdonald playing on the wing. 

Probably wasn't worth popping that on the record mate. It's a ridiculous observation, but righto.

Posted

23 minutes ago, A F said:

Probably wasn't worth popping that on the record mate. It's a ridiculous observation, but righto.

I think its reasonable. Oscar is a nice kick but its his decision making, lack of speed and overall decision making that frustrate us. I've seen the same from tomlinson this year. 

Posted
On 9/9/2019 at 7:06 AM, Dr.D said:

Tomlinson is cr@p. Marks the ball, a million decisions go through his mind so he freaks out and kicks it long down the line everytime. will definitely slow down our ball movement.

On 9/17/2019 at 9:07 PM, Dr.D said:

tomlinson is not a good player. sure he fits the age profile but he is very hesitant with the ball in hand. and doesn't offer much in terms of rebound. so I dont see how he helps us. 

On 10/7/2019 at 4:25 PM, Dr.D said:

I'm sorry to be a buzz kill but Tomlinson is very average. he is a very poor decision maker and also not quick.  not at all sure what the dees recruiting team saw in him. unless he us going to be used as a key forward then I think this is a poor move. 

3 hours ago, Dr.D said:

Why the f@#$ did we pick up tomlinson who is slow yet get rid of frost who is our quickest player. bloody stupid.

We've bloody lost the plot. we're the slowest team in the comp before this idiotic move. Not looking forward to seeing tomlinson hobble down the wing whilst he is trying to catch jaiden Stephenson or something. ffs

47 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

Use your eyes to assess players. Stats are only there to confirm what you already think or don't think. And for the record, i think Tomlinson is going to be like Oscar Mcdonald playing on the wing. 

1 hour ago, Dr.D said:

Not sure why people think tomlinson fills a need. We are the slowest and slowest working football side in the comp so we decide to trade out our quickest player and pick up a slow 6'4 fringe player that is slow on foot but also in the mind with making decisions. Crazy

Soooooo I could be wrong here but I think you’re not a fan of Tomlinson..? 

• Haha 12
Posted

I'm not going to troll through the thread here, I'll only make a simple small comment. He's an upgrade on the players we've already got and we didn't have to give up a pick from him only $alary $pace.

Posted
47 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Soooooo I could be wrong here but I think you’re not a fan of Tomlinson..? 

You're a Detective aren't you 

Posted
6 hours ago, Pates said:

I'm not going to troll through the thread here, I'll only make a simple small comment. He's an upgrade on the players we've already got and we didn't have to give up a pick from him only $alary $pace.

This is the only post worth reading in this thread

Posted
On 10/7/2019 at 7:44 PM, monoccular said:

I must admit to never watching GW$ much - some very mixed reactions on this site.  ( I watched him with interest at the GF and didn't gain a lot ... but then he was far from Robinson Crusoe that day).

Question, addressed please only to those who are positive about Adam:  where do you see him fitting into our jigsaw puzzle?

What position?  What assets?

For starters, I'd see him as a half-fwd flanker with an eye for some midfield duties in the clearances receivings....

Posted

I don't know if anyone else has noticed, but in the highlights package of Tomlinson, one of the highlights is of him breaking free from an Ed Langdon tackle... Not exactly a ringing endorsement for our next recruit.

(Joking)

Posted
11 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

This is the only post worth reading in this thread

It's more worrying that the list managers and the coaches feel that we need tomlinson. That's a concern for me. Why we didn't target Papley concerns me that the club has no idea what they're doing. Did they not see some of the pathetic slow football we played last year. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

It's more worrying that the list managers and the coaches feel that we need tomlinson. That's a concern for me. Why we didn't target Papley concerns me that the club has no idea what they're doing. Did they not see some of the pathetic slow football we played last year. 

Papley wants a massive salary and would cost a warchest of picks. Tomlinson came with at no cost (picks) and on a reasonable contract...

How about we wait until the end of the trade / draft period before we lose our marbles?

Posted (edited)
On 10/9/2019 at 3:40 PM, Pennant St Dee said:

If you understand footy you understand the ball moves quicker than any player ever will.

There's a reason why clubs don't recruit 100m athletes 

There’s a reason why 17 clubs fancy themselves against Melbourne.

’”Put speed on the game” is the mantra in every oppo huddle.  Nothing to do with our ball movement!!!!!  You don’t think foot speed is important on defensive transition?  And you reckon you understand footy.  

You MFC supporters are ATAR smart because your folks and more likely grandparents sponsored your private school education and weekly tutoring.  We’re not street smart.  We’re not smart where it counts.  We’re comfortable with excusing failure, because anything contrary to it is counter to our DNA.  Bit like the libs with climate change:  deny the undeniable because at the end of the day, the islanders will be under water and the rich white man will be able to afford 3 phase aircon.

Understand footy?  Pfft.

Edited by TGR
Posted
1 hour ago, Dr.D said:

So, doc, you know for a fact that we didn’t target Papley??

Posted (edited)
10 hours ago, TGR said:

’”Put speed on the game” is the mantra in every oppo huddle.  Nothing to do with our ball movement!!!!!  You don’t think foot speed is important on defensive transition?  And you reckon you understand footy.  

You MFC supporters are ATAR smart because your folks and more likely grandparents sponsored your private school education and weekly tutoring.  We’re not street smart.  We’re not smart where it counts.  We’re comfortable with excusing failure, because anything contrary to it is counter to our DNA.  Bit like the libs with climate change:  deny the undeniable because at the end of the day, the islanders will be under water and the rich white man will be able to afford 3 phase aircon.

Understand footy?  Pfft.

Pathetic post, stereotyping. You know absolutely nothing about me or my background, if you did you'd understand how ridiculous your comments were about me, my parents and Grandparents are. I've seen and lived poverty mate, but it pales into insignificance to what my parents and grandparents went through.

Absolute garbage

Edited by Pennant St Dee
  • Like 16
Posted
11 hours ago, TGR said:

Understand footy?  Pfft.

What a pathetic and uneducated post. Give yourself a right hook to the face and walk yourself out.

Posted
11 hours ago, TGR said:

Understand footy?  Pfft.

I lost a few brain cells just reading this post.

pWISEBLOOD

Posted

Don't get sucked in by that sad individual.  His commentary says far more about his character than those he is purportedly assessing.

GFY

Posted
13 hours ago, whatwhatsaywhat said:

So what’s the process for blocking someone again?

What is the criteria?

- Makes me feel awkward?

- Makes me feel challenged?

- Makes me confront our cultural flaws?

- Makes debate a tad robust?

- Makes me defend supporting decisions that have invariably failed?

Guilty as charged.

Apologies to yourself and:

1. Wiseblood

3 hours ago
  2. AshleyH30

3 hours ago
  3. Demon Diva

Demon Diva

11 hours ago
  4. Dr. Gonzo

Dr. Gonzo

12 hours ago
  5. Neil Crompton

13 hours ago
  6. A F

A F

13 hours ago

Strawberry fields for ever.

pTGR

Posted
On 10/10/2019 at 8:20 PM, TGR said:

Understand footy?  Pfft.

Spot on TGR.  We are such an easy football team to play against. Have people forgotten how [censored] we are just because we haven't lost a game in a while? We lost to Port by 5 goals at the G, geelong by 80, stkilda by 40, rich 40, coll 40, syd 50 not to mention winning by less than 1 goal to gold coast and carlton.  

We need 2-3 small forwards with elite leg speed (none of this JKH, spargo cr@p, not even weightman), an additional key forward, a key defender to replace Oscar mcdonald who will no doubt play when Lever/May get no doubt injured. We also need another small defender as Hibberd and Jetta have looked slow the last 12 months. This can't be done overnight but we need to start making changes that help the list and not hurt it. 

Like seriously, who in our team can stop the likes of stephenson, degoey, hoskin-elliott? I only chose collingwood as an example and saw that they kicked 9 goals against us last year. Case in point.

Posted
On 10/10/2019 at 7:20 PM, TGR said:

Understand footy?  Pfft.

So you are one of those people dumb enough to fall for the globalist Hoax of man made climate change?

Don't be slagging off at private school education when you are a clear example of the failure of Public Ed.

Tomlinson will be a useful addition, and Langdon brings a bucket load of that speed you crave.

Be happy and drop the sad sack act.

Posted (edited)
On 10/10/2019 at 5:20 PM, TGR said:

It’s up to 4 phase air-con now, 3 phases are for the peasants.

Turn up your air-con TGR, you’re melting. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay