Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, waynewussell said:

Perhaps it is time for Jonesy to give up the title, allowing Max to become co-captain with Jack.

Hnmm Lifelong mate of mine who played over 200 games of AFL/VFL many of which were at MFC was absolutely scathing about our lack of leadership. I spoke to him recently . He reckoned that we have the worst Captains in the AFL?....! he also questioned this dual Captains policy, and so do I 

Now just think about that for a minute! I said this

Jones has been a stalwart for a long period of time and Viney hard at it and this is what I suggested to him.

His response was, That setting an example was one thing but actually WINNING GAMES OF UR OWN BOOT

and having SERIOUS X FACTOR, is not something that comes easy, and we lack BIG TIME!

That is why he believes we are lacking leaders! 

Hnmm Interesting words!

Posted
1 hour ago, america de cali said:

Which Viney? I imagine senior won’t allow it without a fight.

Yeah well id be happy if both cracked it and left!!...

No great loss IMV

Posted
5 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Viney will continue to be captain while daddy is there.. which is a joke really! 

Gawn should be out right captain with Lever as Vice.

And May Dazzle!!

Posted
5 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Viney will continue to be captain while daddy is there.. which is a joke really! 

I reckon behind those two Steven May is the third best leader at the club. Jordan Lewis 4th. and then the current co captains 5 & 6 arguably. bit of a sad state really isn't it when your best leaders aren't in formal positions. 

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

In fact if either Viney or Jones is Capt Next year we will be in struggle town.

Time for MFC to grow some and make some serious changes!

U can bet it won't happen, too conservative and not RUTHLESS enough!! 

Heart of MFC mindset really!

Posted
7 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I think Max should be sole captain - can’t see the point of co-captains. Lever needs to earn credibility and respect on field before being a vice - captain. His form needs to lift from what he showed on Saturday, given that he is rusty. Nonetheless some of his efforts were well below par.

Posted

I had the good fortune to sit next to Martin Flanagan at a match. (Friend of a friend.) He is a top bloke ... and an awesome sports writer.

Viney ... he's an Old Carey boy. He is not a credit to the old school ... semi articulate at best. He should spend the entire pre season learning to kick/handball on his right side. And barging headlong into tackles isn't a great idea. Other teams have well and truly worked him out. And if he deals with these issues, perhaps some elocution lessons?

Posted

Saw on Instagram that Maxy is a player sponsor for Corey Wagner. So he’s basically using his personal finances to sponsor a fellow player ? 

Posted

If Jacks sir name wasn't Viney would be be in trade discussions? he's one dimensional, injury prone and we have too many of that type of player. he'd have currency on the trade table. 

Posted
4 hours ago, Pipefitter said:

Absolutely agree with this. I think we are all hoping Viney wasn’t going to become our Selwood but he’s barely AFL level at the moment.

barely AFL level.  get your hand off it mate

Posted

I called for Jones to not be captain last preseason and no one agreed. 

Do not doubt Jack Viney.  He should be our sole Captain.  he came back while injured and was inspirational in the finals' wins last year.

he still has to grow but he is a natural leader.  Gawn is perfect in the LG. don't need to put that pressure on him, let him stay his affable self and dominating the middle

no one comes out of 2019 looking good but Viney is our man and I will back him to the hilt.

Posted
6 hours ago, Soidee said:

Says Gawn should be Captain!  Agree 100%

A very enjoyable listen.

Do yourself a favour and spend 15 minutes listening to this rather than trawling through all the other doom, gloom and idiocy that seems to be apparent in nearly every new topic listed. 

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

What on Earth has Lever done? There is no way he should be replacing anyone.

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, picket fence said:

In fact if either Viney or Jones is Capt Next year we will be in struggle town.

Time for MFC to grow some and make some serious changes!

If Jones wants to play on we should take a leaf from Hawthorns books and move him on.
They had the gonads to let premiership players Mitchell, Hodge,  Lewis, Suckling and Durea go to get some new blood flowing.
This year they're giving the big hint to Roughy.
Is there any-one that would take Jones though?

Edited by Fork 'em

Posted
2 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

If Jones wants to play on we should take a leaf from Hawthorns books and move him on.
They had the gonads to let premiership players Mitchell, Hodge,  Lewis, Suckling and Durea go to get some new blood flowing.

Gold Coast would take him in a heartbeat.

Posted
5 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

I wish people wouldn't keep bringing up Hawthorn as the great example of what to do?

Their list is in a totally different position to ours.

It was/is an ageing list with plenty of experience & stars. They needed to move players on.

We can start with plenty of NQR & injury prone players to get some new blood flowing before we get to Jones.

We have no depth as it is without losing a player that can still contribute at the level.

As for anyone taking Jones on, in the Hawthorn example you are so fond of they got peanuts for their ageing stars. What benefit would we derive getting a draft pick we may not even use for Jones?

Posted

This writing off Viney, as though he is a liability holding the team back, is ludicrous! He puts his body on the line in every game... part of the reason he has been struggling in recent times. Jack shows what it means to give one's all for the team, and has done so since his first game. He has played through pain, battered and bruised at times, to try and lift his teammates and this club! What short memories his detractors have! If bravery and competitive instinct are part of the good Captain's DNA, then Jack has them covered, and then some. Remember, Ronald Dale was struggling to find his place, early days under Norm Smith. It was said at the time that he simply banged the ball on his boot in careless fashion and was a danger to his teammates with his manic attack on the ball... does that sound familiar?

Posted
12 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

What a disgraceful slur on two of the most loyal and passionate contributors this club has seen in the past 50 years!

Posted
15 hours ago, america de cali said:

Which Viney? I imagine senior won’t allow it without a fight.

If the decision was made and Senior tried to intervene it would be the last gasp of the 2011 era boys club. Can't see it happening.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, waynewussell said:

This writing off Viney, as though he is a liability holding the team back, is ludicrous! He puts his body on the line in every game... part of the reason he has been struggling in recent times. Jack shows what it means to give one's all for the team, and has done so since his first game. He has played through pain, battered and bruised at times, to try and lift his teammates and this club! What short memories his detractors have! If bravery and competitive instinct are part of the good Captain's DNA, then Jack has them covered, and then some. Remember, Ronald Dale was struggling to find his place, early days under Norm Smith. It was said at the time that he simply banged the ball on his boot in careless fashion and was a danger to his teammates with his manic attack on the ball... does that sound familiar?

These are the kind of apologist compassions I hate and are plain wrong. Viney is now in his 7th season and still hacks the ball by boot. Can’t kick for goal and is a momentum killer at clearances. Barassi already had 4 premierships at the end of his 7th season. Bravery does equate to competence and leadership.

Posted
11 hours ago, Watts the matter said:

What on Earth has Lever done? There is no way he should be replacing anyone.

What have Jones and Viney done?? Good players but thats it.

Where is our Pendlebury? Selwood? 

Posted
1 hour ago, waynewussell said:

What a disgraceful slur on two of the most loyal and passionate contributors this club has seen in the past 50 years!

Loyalty and Passion does not equate to leadership and Premierships!

Posted

I think we are being incredibly tough on Jack Viney. his finals last year coming off very little preparation were pretty amazing really, i remember thinking a leader can be many things, and his actions on field show why. He is young, and he has been hampered by injuries the last few years. 

Right now, i think we dont have any other options, and a great leader is usually supported by a great cast, we dont have that either. Gawn yes. but in reality Nathan Jones should now be concentrating on his footy,, its clear he cant do both that well at the moment, Jordan Lewis has hardly been in the side, neither Lever or May or Jetta. Brayshaw has not got one ounce of leadership in his body, Clayton is not a leader nor should he be, Tom Mc has had a year from hell, Trac is to immature and inconsistent, Harmes is good player, but thats not an automatic reason to suggest he is a leader.  Who else is there.. honestly. 

Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, rjay said:

I wish people wouldn't keep bringing up Hawthorn as the great example of what to do?

Their list is in a totally different position to ours.

It was/is an ageing list with plenty of experience & stars. They needed to move players on.

We can start with plenty of NQR & injury prone players to get some new blood flowing before we get to Jones.

We have no depth as it is without losing a player that can still contribute at the level.

As for anyone taking Jones on, in the Hawthorn example you are so fond of they got peanuts for their ageing stars. What benefit would we derive getting a draft pick we may not even use for Jones?

To get some new blood flowing.
And lets face it.
He's been holding his spot by the skin of his teeth for the past 2yrs.
I couldn't care less if we get nothing.
Retire/Leave doesn't matter.
And we should make calls the other NQR players as well for that matter rather than persist with what clearly isn't working.
Compare Hawthorns record over the past 50yrs to ours.

Edited by Fork 'em