I thought pies were a sneaky chance with their top 4 chances on the line but didn't have the balls to tip them...

I am not surpised the pies won, that's what they do. Lift in big games. 

But how pathetic were west coast in that final term. They had there best team in, yes they lost Cripps but the pies lost Moore therefore Kennedy and Darling should have dominated. Darling did well but Kennedy had a shocker. 

They led by 16 points at 3/4 time on there home ground and all they kicked was 1 measly point. That just isn't good enough. They had a chance to go 2 games clear of the pies and sit nicely on 2nd spot. They blew it big time tonight. 

Now we have to hear about the pies win. Thank you west coast. 

Players watch & learn how strong leadership helps to win games 

Coaches watch how playing both ways is done 

we are bunch of down hill skiers 

13 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

I am not surpised the pies won, that's what they do. Lift in big games. 

But how pathetic were west coast in that final term. They had there best team in, yes they lost Cripps but the pies lost Moore therefore Kennedy and Darling should have dominated. Darling did well but Kennedy had a shocker. 

They led by 16 points at 3/4 time on there home ground and all they kicked was 1 measly point. That just isn't good enough. They had a chance to go 2 games clear of the pies and sit nicely on 2nd spot. They blew it big time tonight. 

Now we have to hear about the pies win. Thank you west coast. 

That measly point was their only score since the 10 minute mark of the 3rd. Completely lost their way.

1 hour ago, monoccular said:

Maggots keeping Magpies in it.  A very rare occurrence over there. The AFL will be thrilled with the closeness of it. 

I wonder if Stevo had a few (through his mate of course) on a close result.

Maybe the conversation Bucks had with the umpires at the start might have been to confirm the odds were in the favour of a close result. Oh and a magpie payout would be more beneficial.

Was there tonight great game and great result. Meth Coast is a team I despise and I tipped the Pies.

Thought Pies were lucky to be that close at halftime but they controlled the 2nd half didn't get rewarded in the 3rd and looked in the 4th as if they weren't going to capitalize for their dominance inside 50m.

Grundy destroyed Natanui around the ground, Goodwin and the FD need to learn from that along with Maynes job on Hurn.

2 hours ago, picket fence said:

You know what they do Mono ?? They hide guys like Cameron in the Waffle..... Noone knows anything about them over here and they get picked number 59 or something!!!

Crackin Win by Collingwood!!

Ffs they didn't hide him, everyone knew about him. He was outstanding in the WAFL Colts.

Let's not rewrite history he was part of their next generation academy and were never giving him up.

Freo are also going to do the same this year with Liam Henry.

We could do with getting some value out of our NT deal and getting first access to their kids from outback communities 

Far out Cameron, the 18yo brother of Charlie was picked at 39 as part of the WC academy.  how the hell did he not go first round, did no one bid on him?  seems like a top 5 talent to me.

We are so far behind WC's fwd line it is not funny.

I agree Pennent, we need to work on a NT academy.

8 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Ffs they didn't hide him, everyone knew about him. He was outstanding in the WAFL Colts.

Let's not rewrite history he was part of their next generation academy and were never giving him up.

Freo are also going to do the same this year with Liam Henry.

We could do with getting some value out of our NT deal and getting first access to their kids from outback communities 

Its one of the reasons Matty Whelan' was recruited "... He will also manage the club’s Reconciliation Action Plan, in conjunction with the current working group, focus on the Next Generation Academy, with an emphasis on Alice Springs and the club’s Indigenous/Multicultural pathways, plus build relationships in the Northern Territory..."  whelan-rejoins-melbourne-in-new-role

The role was created 2.5 years ago but haven't heard anything re talent development around Alice or NT.  Hopefully Matty has some players in the wings to unveil soon...

Be interesting to see if Caro and Barrett think Collingwood “over celebrated” at the end.

de Goey looked like he was doing Riverdance when the siren went and there were more Collingwood jumpers dry humping than in a Centrelink queue. 

10 minutes ago, Robot Devil said:

Be interesting to see if Caro and Barrett think Collingwood “over celebrated” at the end.

de Goey looked like he was doing Riverdance when the siren went and there were more Collingwood jumpers dry humping than in a Centrelink queue. 

As much as I hate the hate the filth, I have to admit that it was an impressive win against a top side interstate. 

it's almost like all these close matches are scripted or something....

Can I get in early and say to any StKIlda fan going down to geelong tonight to sit though what Im assuming is going to be a cold, wet windy night and I think it could be a hiding well done to you and also sitting through with geelong fans around you. 

The game in Tassie could be interesting today as well. I reckon the hawks will get the job done although Gunston could be a loss. 

But Nth please do us a favour and win today. 

Can someone explain why richmond get there last 7 games all at the G? Yes I know they are a team that people watch, 2 years ago they won the flag and I know they won't be the home team for all games but serioulsy 7. That gives them a dream run. They don't have to go anywhere. 

Conflicted about the Swans-Blues result. Swans lose and we can feasibly finish higher. But equally Blues more likely to overtake us and gift us a top two pick. 

Wonder if Cunnington will punch anyone in the guts again. Has done it 5 times this year and has yet to be suspended. 

Edited by dees189227

22 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Wonder if Cunnington will punch anyone in the guts again. Has done it 5 times this year and has yet to be suspended. 

Yep. I could've sworn the rule was if you're fined 3 times in a year it's an automatic suspension.

Edit

According to this story from 2017, it is (was) 3 fines = suspension:

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/more-news/dustin-martin-fined-twice-but-still-eligible-for-brownlow-medal-bernie-vince-cops-twomatch-ban/news-story/afe5403282bce6da1c2dc261f06727bc

When did this change?

Edited by FireInTheBelly
New information

5 minutes ago, FireInTheBelly said:

Yep. I could've sworn the rule was if you're fined 3 times in a year it's an automatic suspension.

nothing to see here... He is an expert at it, and  must have done it a lot at school methinks, just to get the kids who paid out on his name.

Was really impressed by the way The Pies ground their way back into the game last night. They did exactly what we can't manage,   they were dominated then just stopped the opposition,  nothing pretty and the rest came from there. Our defensive workrate has been seriously wanting much of this year

Ben Cunnington has done it again

I am still [censored] off from when he hit Bernie Vince. He needs to be dealt with. The MRP won’t touch him

Is Teague trying to make Judd look stupid? 3 wins outta 5....

22 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Ben Cunnington has done it again

I am still [censored] off from when he hit Bernie Vince. He needs to be dealt with. The MRP won’t touch him

Yeah these big bad North Melbourne players are a protected species. I mean C'mon.

I've watched the Bummers last four matches and no other team has got a better run with the umps this year than them (I don't include West Coast with umpire Dean Margetts as that's the gold standard)

1 hour ago, xiss said:

Was really impressed by the way The Pies ground their way back into the game last night. They did exactly what we can't manage,   they were dominated then just stopped the opposition,  nothing pretty and the rest came from there. Our defensive workrate has been seriously wanting much of this year

Your not allowed to say impressed and Pies in the same sentence. 

Yeah Cunnington was lucky he hit the footy and not the essendon players stomach. But seriously is he stupid or what? I mean he has been fined over 15.000 so far this year. He has been wanred about doing it and he tries to do it again. 

When he did it to Vince people called Vince out for going down easily but he has shown form doing this. 

Not that I condone it but Ablett got booed for his 2 shots no one does it to cunnington. I guess he isn't the superstar player.