Posted

While we debate the illicit drugs in off-season (and in season) issue within the AFL, the NRL has had a nightmare off-season.This is in today's Sydney Morning Herald. I wonder whether the AFL will soon be embroiled in something similar? I hope not, but as much as I like to think NRL and its supporters are somehow inferior to the AFL, I suspect that our code will not be immune to something similar.

Posted
1 minute ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

While we debate the illicit drugs in off-season (and in season) issue within the AFL, the NRL has had a nightmare off-season.This is in today's Sydney Morning Herald. I wonder whether the AFL will soon be embroiled in something similar? I hope not, but as much as I like to think NRL and its supporters are somehow inferior to the AFL, I suspect that our code will not be immune to something similar.

Listening to Andy Maher they other day callers talked about it being rife in all AFL clubs as well as in local footy.

So, yep it's only a matter of time before it starts coming out.

Posted
1 minute ago, rjay said:

Listening to Andy Maher they other day callers talked about it being rife in all AFL clubs as well as in local footy.

So, yep it's only a matter of time before it starts coming out.

Fair dinkum where the [censored] are young men's' heads at? How immature do you have to be share videos of your 'conquests' - not to mention being a complete disrespectful [censored] to do so without consent. 

Happy International Women's Day indeed. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Moonshadow said:

Sooooo, AFL footballers should not be drug tested because the horses get away with it? Righto.

To me the biggest issue is still PED use but no one seems to care anymore and most have given up.

All sport is tainted too ... all the way down to suburban level.  And the AFL doesn't care either because just like most sporting organisations,  catching drug chests damages the brand (money)

Since the Essendon saga,  the PED use debate has gone silent.  Again,  no one cares. If a sportsperson wants to cheat,  they can and will most likely get away with it.

But if someone utters a word in a non politically correct way (no matter how minor) there's hell to pay. 

And 5% -7% PED use in any sport taints that sport.  Does anyone truly believe that AFL is clean?  I don't.

Posted

Only difference between NRL and AFL is the AFL are much better at brand protection, also Sydney journos are not afraid to muckrake NRL players and clubs. AFL seems to be able to stop this from happening most of the time.

Cannabis, coke, heroin and ecstasy should be legalised. Not sure about speed and no to meth. That said, OxyContin is a bigger problem than all of those, and most of those preaching zero tolerance in society are probably prescription pill poppers.

I agree with Dane Swan too on testing everyone in the AFL industry, not just players.

Posted

I recon they should have a one dayer, whereby anything goes. They all can load up with anything they like and just go at it.

Bit barbarian and gladiator like,make for a fine spectacle in the greatest stadium on earth.

Imagine the tackles,the bone jarring hits,the fights. Imagine the $s Gill. Allow the crowd to take their tinnies like the old days. I really miss the full can throwing, the crowd erupting onto the field, the fights, The game has been ruined of late.

You could even include the pre game warm up with Fev doing the interviews whacked again.Question like-" Now what have you got in ya Lance"? and "oh look, here's Mad dog Muir come along for the brawls." Now don't you go jumpin the fence Robbie"

The TV rights, the sponsorship, the AFL would make a killing.Bring it on I say. 

Posted
30 minutes ago, doc roet said:

I recon they should have a one dayer, whereby anything goes. They all can load up with anything they like and just go at it.

Bit barbarian and gladiator like,make for a fine spectacle in the greatest stadium on earth.

Imagine the tackles,the bone jarring hits,the fights. Imagine the $s Gill. Allow the crowd to take their tinnies like the old days. I really miss the full can throwing, the crowd erupting onto the field, the fights, The game has been ruined of late.

You could even include the pre game warm up with Fev doing the interviews whacked again.Question like-" Now what have you got in ya Lance"? and "oh look, here's Mad dog Muir come along for the brawls." Now don't you go jumpin the fence Robbie"

The TV rights, the sponsorship, the AFL would make a killing.Bring it on I say. 

“The Purge”

Posted
6 hours ago, binman said:

Fair dinkum where the [censored] are young men's' heads at? How immature do you have to be share videos of your 'conquests' - not to mention being a complete disrespectful [censored] to do so without consent. 

Happy International Women's Day indeed. 

It's out of control if true 'bin' and no reason to believe it's not.

Apparently sharing across private groups.

The world is a better place since the advent of social media said no one....

Posted
On 3/6/2019 at 4:56 PM, Ethan Tremblay said:

Possibly cannabis.

The stuff we see today, of which a large amount is grown locally by Vietnamese syndicates, is extremely potent and ridiculously sticky. They’re also known to lace it with meth or other dangerous chemicals to make it more addictive. 

Needless to say, legally grown and prescribed (or sold OTC) cannabis would be much ‘cleaner’ and safer. 

I’m moving to Perth now that I have you as  my wholesale supplier.

We could be anything.

I’ve got the body- you’ve got the brains.

My name is mud over in Victoria.

Theres no bridges I haven’t burnt, apart from a couples bluestone jobs. But that’s besides the point.

I’ve always liked that Perth cop show on TV. 

Clear the couch- I’m on my way.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Biffen said:

I’m moving to Perth now that I have you as  my wholesale supplier.

We could be anything.

I’ve got the body- you’ve got the brains.

My name is mud over in Victoria.

Theres no bridges I haven’t burnt, apart from a couples bluestone jobs. But that’s besides the point.

I’ve always liked that Perth cop show on TV. 

Clear the couch- I’m on my way.

Some extra help around the house would be handy. I’m sure you’d make a good babysitter Biff. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Posted
22 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Some extra help around the house would be handy, I’m sure you’d make a good babysitter Biff. 

I’m good with kids. I’ve sired 25-30 of them myself.

”Babysitting “ will be the perfect cover for our operation.

You can shake em down on your shift and I’ll put the “evidence” straight back out on the street.

We’ll be rich.

Posted
9 hours ago, Clintosaurus said:

Only difference between NRL and AFL is the AFL are much better at brand protection, also Sydney journos are not afraid to muckrake NRL players and clubs. AFL seems to be able to stop this from happening most of the time.

Cannabis, coke, heroin and ecstasy should be legalised. Not sure about speed and no to meth. That said, OxyContin is a bigger problem than all of those, and most of those preaching zero tolerance in society are probably prescription pill poppers.

I agree with Dane Swan too on testing everyone in the AFL industry, not just players.

Is it just me or is advocating for legalisation and demanding more invasive testing for little reason fairly oxymoronic? 

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Biffen said:

I’m good with kids. I’ve sired 25-30 of them myself.

”Babysitting “ will be the perfect cover for our operation.

You can shake em down on your shift and I’ll put the “evidence” straight back out on the street.

We’ll be rich.

I'm reporting both of you to the moderators for turning this debate into an illicit drug fuelled wanton free for all. Damn it all, I got a demerit point this morning from the Grape - who obviously hates my guts - for writing something along the lines that Wars on anything, E.G. Drugs and Terror was a waste of time and lives. Apparently it was 'political'. Maybe I won't report you, just counsel you that the Grape will be onto you if you write anything 'political' about drugs. You can write about siring 25-30 children and putting 'evidence' out in the street, but that's okay apparently.  Be warned.?????‍♀️

Edited by dieter

Posted
2 minutes ago, dieter said:

I'm reporting both of you to the moderators for turning this debate into an illicit drug fuelled wanton free for all. Damn it all, I got a demerit point this morning from the Grape - who obviously hates my guts - for writing something along the lines that Wars on anything, E.G. Drugs and Terror was a waste of time and lives. Apparently it was 'political'. Maybe I won't report you, just counsel you that the Grape will be onto you if you write anything 'political' about drugs. Be warned.?????‍♀️

It’s ok Slim.

Ethan is working for Babylon.

I’m gonna plant some nasty gear on Grapeviney and Ethan will take him downtown.

Posted (edited)
1 minute ago, Biffen said:

It’s ok Slim.

Ethan is working for Babylon.

I’m gonna plant some nasty gear on Grapeviney and Ethan will take him downtown.

Do you promise? I'm starting to like that Ethan boy, despite his moustache. Anyway, any grandson of the mighty Ian Thorogood is good enough for me, though, it must be said, Ian did at one time defect to Carlton. Then again, so did the mighty Ronald dale...

Edited by dieter
Posted

It seems WADA has new technology that can now detect illicit drugs a week after they were taken.  It means players who indulge midweek in the hope they won't be detected on match day will now be caught.  https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/afl-players-warned-of-long-bans-with-enhanced-asada-detection-20190308-p512q5.html

It seems the AFL protects players with two strikes (who would otherwise be publicly named and officially suspended for 4 weeks) with a range of injuries or illnesses that take said players out of the game for some weeks. 

With ASADA, players do not have the 'mental health issues' loophole to escape testing and they don't have the protection of one strike, two strike etc.

This development must be worrying one and all in the AFL world.  I doubt ASADA will spare players, big names or not if they test positive for illicit drugs on game day. 

Posted
15 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

It seems WADA has new technology that can now detect illicit drugs a week after they were taken.  It means players who indulge midweek in the hope they won't be detected on match day will now be caught.  https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/afl-players-warned-of-long-bans-with-enhanced-asada-detection-20190308-p512q5.html

It seems the AFL protects players with two strikes (who would otherwise be publicly named and officially suspended for 4 weeks) with a range of injuries or illnesses that take said players out of the game for some weeks. 

With ASADA, players do not have the 'mental health issues' loophole to escape testing and they don't have the protection of one strike, two strike etc.

This development must be worrying one and all in the AFL world.  I doubt ASADA will spare players, big names or not if they test positive for illicit drugs on game day. 

Reading between the lines it appears the AFL are using this as some kind of scare tactic.

If it was a real issue then all clubs & club doctors would be right on to it not just "Some club doctors and football department officials have passed on the message to players

According to ASADA even though they can detect usage, the levels are not high enough to warrant a suspension.

In other words the tests show that players didn't use the drugs on match day & didn't have enough in the system to give a competitive advantage.

Posted
18 hours ago, Smokey said:

Is it just me or is advocating for legalisation and demanding more invasive testing for little reason fairly oxymoronic? 

I don't think so. Legalisation would be the end of testing but is years away as neither major party has the stones to do it. In the meantime testing others besides players would expose HQ, journos as the hypocrites they are. I also think pollies should be drug and alcohol tested.