Roger Mellie 4,205 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 I loved the celebration of Jones after the win. I would have been more worried to see no reaction. Judd was suggesting we walk off the ground with game faces still on, in full finals focus - nah. Let them celebrate for a whole 30 minutes FFS. If we win against GWS, I would expect to see more of a finals focus, not after breaking a 12 year hoodoo, against the odds, in hostile territory. Go you good things 3 Quote
Wadda We Sing 10,685 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 Hey Chris, bet you were celebrating pretty hard mate, when those brown paper bag payments were coming through huh? Would have been a few high 5s then buddy..... Quote
rolling fog 1,208 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 Saw Judd ead with this off the top on Footy Clas tonight... [censored] me I don't even know where to start with this one... 1 Quote
Wolfturdo 123 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 Wow people are ready to defend Jack Watts in the other thread to the hilt but when a champion of the game has a say you’re all ready to get the knives out. Can not believe the double standards. Judd is an icon of the game who has walked the walk and tasted success so he probably knows a little about what he’s talking about. Watts wouldn’t be Judd’s bootlace. Quote
P-man 13,367 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 I mean if you listen to him he’s paying them a back handed compliment. Too good a team to be satisfied with finals and thinks they can go all the way etc. Judd has actually been a big advocate for Melbourne this year. Called Hogan the best player in the league based on form at one stage of the season. i still think it’s a silly comment as the celebrations are totally justified and doesn’t mean the players are satisfied with anything, but his heart is in the right place ? 8 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 8 minutes ago, Roger Mellie said: I loved the celebration of Jones after the win. I would have been more worried to see no reaction. Judd was suggesting we walk off the ground with game faces still on, in full finals focus - nah. Let them celebrate for a whole 30 minutes FFS. If we win against GWS, I would expect to see more of a finals focus, not after breaking a 12 year hoodoo, against the odds, in hostile territory. Go you good things For sure mate. I feel more connected to this group than ever after seeing their reactions after the game. All this year we were wondering if they felt the pain that we did and there were some telling images that you just couldn’t orchestrate if you tried yesterday. Let them have it! 2 1 Quote
DEE fence 5,054 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 18 minutes ago, Cards13 said: Mate I’m sure Olisik is reading... Damn, you stole my material 1 Quote
Dappa Dan 2,188 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 Thought he was really complimentary? I guess they gotta say SOMETHING. It's a whole hour of TV he needs to talk through. If you break down what he says though, he pretty much points out they deserve to celebrate like they did, but that they're a lot better side than maybe they think they are. That's a pretty powerful statement. Really liked the bit about "To have finals success you have to have a lot of non human behaviours." I've seen a lot of teams over the years play like unemotional robots, and then let it loose once the big one is won. I reckon he's wrong. He's forgot to factor in where the club has been the last decade (when he could have come to us)... but his overarching point I thought was quite complimentary, and not ridiculous. 2 Quote
jnrmac 20,377 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 We'll know on Sunday evening whether he was right or wrong. In any case there is a job to be done. I have criticised Goodwin for his absolute monotone straight bat media appearances but I think if it is ever going to be a case of keeping the players grounded he is probably the man to do it. In fairness he was very measured in our losses (and our wins) so he is likely to keep the players focused this week. But if we don't lay a tackle in the first 15mins against GWS I take all of that back....:) Quote
titan_uranus 25,255 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 19 minutes ago, Wolfturdo said: Wow people are ready to defend Jack Watts in the other thread to the hilt but when a champion of the game has a say you’re all ready to get the knives out. Can not believe the double standards. Judd is an icon of the game who has walked the walk and tasted success so he probably knows a little about what he’s talking about. Watts wouldn’t be Judd’s bootlace. I suppose that means he's always right then? 1 1 Quote
Go the Biff 3,474 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 (edited) 29 minutes ago, P-man said: I mean if you listen to him he’s paying them a back handed compliment. Too good a team to be satisfied with finals and thinks they can go all the way etc. Judd has actually been a big advocate for Melbourne this year. Called Hogan the best player in the league based on form at one stage of the season. i still think it’s a silly comment as the celebrations are totally justified and doesn’t mean the players are satisfied with anything, but his heart is in the right place ? This is true. He's been resolute in his belief in where MFC are heading, even when the "fail to beat a top 8 team" heat was on us. Given some of the references he's made this year, I suspect he's studied our recent rebuilds, both failed & the current promising one and will apply some of those lessons as he tries to rebuild Carlton. A challenge in which I wish him absolutely no success. Edited August 20, 2018 by Go the Biff sp 2 1 Quote
Wolfturdo 123 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 19 minutes ago, titan_uranus said: I suppose that means he's always right then? Of course not but surely he’s entitled to an opinion without being torn to shreds. Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,972 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 11 hours ago, layzie said: Ok ok, bloke’s entitled to an opinion. I don’t necessarily agree with it but you could see what he was saying. No he's not. We run things in this town now. Get [censored] Judd! 2 5 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 9 hours ago, Mazer Rackham said: No he's not. We run things in this town now. Get [censored] Judd! Had to laugh! Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,972 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 10 minutes ago, Wolfturdo said: Of course not but surely he’s entitled to an opinion without being torn to shreds. No. We are DEMONS you see Quote
solly21 91 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 Lets just wait and see what happens when his team Carlton finally make the finals again lets see how much they celebrate when they win to Qualify for the finals it will be interesting to hear his thoughts then time will tell. Quote
ILLDieADemon 804 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 Not every one is a robot like you Jude, some of us humans show emotions. Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,972 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 3 minutes ago, solly21 said: Lets just wait and see what happens when his team Carlton finally make the finals again lets see how much they celebrate when they win to Qualify for the finals it will be interesting to hear his thoughts then time will tell. Oh hell. Do we have to? I'm happy to sit in anticipation for ever! 1 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,537 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 And according to Juddas, Brendon Bolton is doing a fantastic job, plus he tips Carlton every [censored] round (there's blind faith, then there's stupidity). The bloke doesn't have a clue. May he forever continue as a director on their board, let's see how far down he can bury them (and then wipe his hands innocently clean - smug [censored]). Quote
Satyriconhome 10,880 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 34 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said: No. We are DEMONS you see No it is mob rule on here, groupthink opinion or you are torn to shreds Already know from a couple players that as of tonight focus now on GWS game Quote
chookrat 4,268 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 2 hours ago, Demonland said: I havent bothered watching the footage and probably wont but Judd's chicken wings has a point. While it is still mathematically possible for us to miss the finals we shouldnt be celebrating. If Port win by 300 points on Friday then wed better be on our game. Quote
Males 578 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 1 hour ago, Demon Disciple said: And according to Juddas, Brendon Bolton is doing a fantastic job, plus he tips Carlton every [censored] round (there's blind faith, then there's stupidity). The bloke doesn't have a clue. May he forever continue as a director on their board, let's see how far down he can bury them (and then wipe his hands innocently clean - smug [censored]). I guess we're stuffed then, as he believes we can win the flag? ? Quote
Pates 9,697 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 Looking at the scenes I actually don’t think we celebrated that hard, considering everything we’ve been through you would’ve forgiven Jonesy for doing a victory sprint around the ground. It was a big match, it was a tight match, it was relief, but I don’t think we actually celebrated that hard. ?♂️ 1 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,537 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 13 minutes ago, Males said: I guess we're stuffed then, as he believes we can win the flag? ? Well if it does happen, i'm more than happy to eat the tastiest of humble pies, but i doubt it'll come to that (this year at least Males) 1 Quote
FireInTheBennelly 4,104 Posted August 20, 2018 Posted August 20, 2018 3 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said: just checking . . . is this the same guy charged with eye-gauging? Ain't no thing like a chicken wing 1 1 Quote