Posted

We should eff Darwin off and play 2 at Alice Springs or even better eff of the territory games full stop. The MCG is our home ground so tenants like the filth, hawthorn etc can play home games at mr marvel stadium. Stuff em and they should be paying the MFC rent.

Posted
On 6/19/2018 at 4:38 PM, Grapeviney said:

Hearing from extremely reliable sources that the MFC is looking to get out of the Darwin part of the NT deal.

Club has no issue with the Alice component and was very happy with this year's 'Heart of the Nation' game. 

But the humidity of the Darwin match and the flow-on effects the following week is considered too high a price to pay.

The AFL is apparently - finally - willing to schedule us for a bye after the Darwin match, but this would mean the Darwin game needs to be played earlier in the season (in these middle rounds), which ruins the whole concept of the Doug Nicholls / Heart of the Nation / Alice game, which both club and league are backing to the hilt. 

MFC and AFL have already met on the issue, with more talks to come. 

ITS ABOUT [censored] TIME!

Posted

If we lose against the doggies the week after this one then 2018 might be the year  that the  Darwin game  demonstratably costs us a finals spot.

Posted
1 minute ago, Wells 11 said:

If we lose against the doggies the week after this one then 2018 might be the year  that the  Darwin game  demonstratably costs us a finals spot.

What is our record in Darwin and after Darwin like? Anyway know the exact facts?

Posted (edited)
43 minutes ago, SFebey said:

What is our record in Darwin and after Darwin like? Anyway know the exact facts?

Post-Darwin:

2017 - Win

2016 - Loss

2015 - Loss

2014 - Loss (we kicked 3 goals)

2013 - Loss (we kicked 4 goals)

2012 - Loss

2011 - Loss

You get the gist.

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Bolded ‘Post-Darwin’ to make it stand out.
Posted
6 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Post-Darwin:

2017 - Win

2016 - Loss

2015 - Loss

2017...we lost to Adelaide

2016 we defeated Freo

Posted
10 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Post-Darwin:

2017 - Win

2016 - Loss

2015 - Loss

2012 - Loss

2011 - Loss

You get the gist.

We crucify ourselves every year for a cash ? grab

that money can be raised elsewhere

Posted (edited)

Last season the post Darwin shockers were delayed for when we played North in Tassie two weeks later and also the following week against GWS. Then we were flat for the remainder of the season. We might be better off not turning up and conceding the Darwin game. Better for our finals chances. 

20 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Yes in Darwin. I posted our post-Darwin record. 

Posted (edited)

I ran a half marathon in Darwin then re-hydrated on tequila shots afterwards. Backed it up the following weekend doing a biathlon and a pub crawl after. What’s wrong with the kids of today? 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted
28 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Post-Darwin:

2017 - Win

2016 - Loss

2015 - Loss

2012 - Loss

2011 - Loss

You get the gist.

Thanks ET, much appreciated, that’s worse than I thought.

Posted
9 minutes ago, SFebey said:

Thanks ET, much appreciated, that’s worse than I thought.

Weve only triumphed in 2 out of last 7 games up there.

And we're as successful after ☹️

Cheery huh

Posted
2 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Weve only triumphed in 2 out of last 7 games up there.

And we're as successful after ☹️

Cheery huh

So statistically and going on form, the next two games are losses. Wooooooooo. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

So statistically and going on form, the next two games are losses. Wooooooooo. 

Get out your Leonard Cohen discs...and a case of your favourite imbibe ;)

Posted

On a brighter note, the forecast humidity for Darwin on Saturday is the lowest for the week at 37%

Posted
3 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Post-Darwin:

2017 - Win

2016 - Loss

2015 - Loss

2012 - Loss

2011 - Loss

You get the gist.

Between 2012-2014 we won about 9 games so the chances we would lose after the Darwin game are quite high.

Posted

An almost absolute majority of posters on this thread appear to be against the ?️ Darwin fixture. A brief scan reveals some fair and rationale analysis and a couple of humorous 'gems' amongst the usual backwash. Win lose or draw since the the Demons first appearance at Marrara ?️ for a pre-season game V doggies in the wet  ?️ season. Where the heat and humidity actually was a factor, way back in the dreamtime when Robbo was still taking speccies ? and a tropical ?️ cooled off proceedings. Jack Watts and Brad Miller forming a dynamic duo up forward to provide impetus for a convincing victory against port power, game one of the triplepeat. Jack Trengrove's footy smarts won the game V port for the game 2 return bout. Liam Jurrah's cameo magical Marrara goal of the decade. Neville Jetta gracing the grandstand wing pre-rookie revival, Nathan Jones's set shot goal outside fifty metre arc, leading the way  pre-captaincy, followed by Jaydyn Hunt's spectacular spiraling torp over the ginger crow ? ruckman last year. Yeah survived the karma bus episodes wandering about in the footy universe outer limits. Reality is Northern Territory $$$ have helped keep the good ship ?? afloat. Your top-end correspondent has been seriously entertained, enjoyed and at times, if necessary endured all the Mighty Demons matches here in Darwin. If the game this Saturday is to be the last... well as George Harrison crooned "All things must past".

Go :lol:!!!

Posted
On 7/3/2018 at 5:41 PM, Ethan Tremblay said:

Post-Darwin:

2017 - Win

2016 - Loss

2015 - Loss

2012 - Loss

2011 - Loss

You get the gist.

2017 is the only year out of that lot that we'd had anything approaching a decent side.  the other years we were dismal and would have lost playing anywhere/anytime

Posted
On 7/3/2018 at 5:57 PM, Ethan Tremblay said:

I ran a half marathon in Darwin then re-hydrated on tequila shots afterwards. Backed it up the following weekend doing a biathlon and a pub crawl after. What’s wrong with the kids of today? 

My question is why didn't you run the full.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Tarax Club said:

An almost absolute majority of posters on this thread appear to be against the ?️ Darwin fixture. A brief scan reveals some fair and rationale analysis and a couple of humorous 'gems' amongst the usual backwash. Win lose or draw since the the Demons first appearance at Marrara ?️ for a pre-season game V doggies in the wet  ?️ season. Where the heat and humidity actually was a factor, way back in the dreamtime when Robbo was still taking speccies ? and a tropical ?️ cooled off proceedings. Jack Watts and Brad Miller forming a dynamic duo up forward to provide impetus for a convincing victory against port power, game one of the triplepeat. Jack Trengrove's footy smarts won the game V port for the game 2 return bout. Liam Jurrah's cameo magical Marrara goal of the decade. Neville Jetta gracing the grandstand wing pre-rookie revival, Nathan Jones's set shot goal outside fifty metre arc, leading the way  pre-captaincy, followed by Jaydyn Hunt's spectacular spiraling torp over the ginger crow ? ruckman last year. Yeah survived the karma bus episodes wandering about in the footy universe outer limits. Reality is Northern Territory $$$ have helped keep the good ship ?? afloat. Your top-end correspondent has been seriously entertained, enjoyed and at times, if necessary endured all the Mighty Demons matches here in Darwin. If the game this Saturday is to be the last... well as George Harrison crooned "All things must past".

Go :lol:!!!

Some epic emoji steez. As good as Arthur Vichot. Chapeau!

Can you give us the inside goss re: the weather at this time of year? At approx 7PM to 10PM: humidity, dew point (dew on ground and therefore on ball), temperature, prevailing evening breeze (e.g. warm dry inland, sea breeze). Everyone is stating it's going to be more humid than Boonie's box on a seaming Delhi pitch but old mate Weatherzone does not comport with this narrative.

Posted
1 minute ago, timbo said:

Some epic emoji steez. As good as Arthur Vichot. Chapeau!

Can you give us the inside goss re: the weather at this time of year? At approx 7PM to 10PM: humidity, dew point (dew on ground and therefore on ball), temperature, prevailing evening breeze (e.g. warm dry inland, sea breeze). Everyone is stating it's going to be more humid than Boonie's box on a seaming Delhi pitch but old mate Weatherzone does not comport with this narrative.

Cheers timbo! Seeing this is to be apparently to be your top-end correspondents' ultimate, penultimate, antepenultimate or preantepenultimate gig? We shall do our best. Can discount the theory about being more humid than the interior Boonie's box at New Delhi come Saturday eve. Although not a qualified meteorologist exists between us and more inclined to go with BOM direct rather than Weatherzone.

Posted
2 hours ago, daisycutter said:

temp 27c dew point 20c equates to rel humidity of 65.6%

whatever that means i don't really know, but suspect it means it will be hot and humid

yep.. relative humidity is the term you should be looking at.

In simple terms the hotter the temp the more water the air can hold and thus you feel a lot "wetter"at 30% humidity with a temp of 27 than with 30% at a temp of 17.

Thus the term relative tries to standardise the comparison

Posted
18 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

yep.. relative humidity is the term you should be looking at.

In simple terms the hotter the temp the more water the air can hold and thus you feel a lot "wetter"at 30% humidity with a temp of 27 than with 30% at a temp of 17.

Thus the term relative tries to standardise the comparison

according to the hygrometer in my study, it implies that 65% is the point between "normal" and "very humid"

but i don't trust my instruments ?