DemonWheels 1,118 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 24 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said: Not what i meant if she came back to the the MFC, would it dent egos? if she is the best person qualified i don’t care I was suggesting it would 'ruffle feathers' at the MCC – not the MFC (You can't have someone go in and give it an overhaul (remove people/departments) and then get up and leave yourself). Therefore I think it's an unlikely possibility that she would come back. Quote
DV8 2,271 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 11 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said: Having thought a bit more about mfc courting Alistair Nicholson to replace PJ, I feel a bit underwhelmed. If he gets the CEO gig, I hope it doesn't ruffle too many feathers with possible internal candidates. Also, a bit surprised that our moves have leaked to the media. Very unlike mfc of the Jackson era. Maybe it was from the cricket world which tends to leak like a sieve. and maybe a red herring as well? On 5/23/2018 at 11:05 AM, stevethemanjordan said: CS. Lock him. 7 hours ago, red and blue forever said: Carlos Santana? Cameron Smith? Christian Slater ? Chloe Sevigny? agghhhh..... Charlie Sheen 2.5 !!! 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,462 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 2 hours ago, DemonWheels said: I was suggesting it would 'ruffle feathers' at the MCC – not the MFC (You can't have someone go in and give it an overhaul (remove people/departments) and then get up and leave yourself). Therefore I think it's an unlikely possibility that she would come back. We are part of the MCC A very important part. This next CEO appointment may be the most important one we have had. I want the best person for the job, where they have come from shouldn’t be a concern Quote
Cards13 9,117 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 7 hours ago, samcantstandya said: I hope he's a better administrator than he was a football player I wasn't a fan Haha has been said a few times in the thread, ridiculous. Hes’s played more games of AFL than you or I whether we liked his game or not, so irrelevant. Quote
puntkick 325 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 There is a mecurial AFL appointee in Tassie who seems to be struggling for support statewide Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 9 hours ago, puntkick said: There is a mecurial AFL appointee in Tassie who seems to be struggling for support statewide and...... Quote
Dee Dee 1,145 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 22 hours ago, samcantstandya said: I hope he's a better administrator than he was a football player I wasn't a fan I wondered if Nicholson would be considered for the post after reading that PJ was stepping down. And yes I really wasn’t a fan either, stolid or dour are adjectives that come to mind when I remember his time as a player. However champion players don’t always make great administrators and no matter how ordinary Nicholson was as a player (110 games!!!!!) he’s kicked a few goals/made a few runs as an administrator. (Is he the right fit for the MFC: that’s another question). Quote
DV8 2,271 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 1 minute ago, Dee Dee said: I wondered if Nicholson would be considered for the post after reading that PJ was stepping down. And yes I really wasn’t a fan either, stolid or dour are adjectives that come to mind when I remember his time as a player. However champion players don’t always make great administrators and no matter how ordinary Nicholson was as a player (110 games!!!!!) he’s kicked a few goals/made a few runs as an administrator. (Is he the right fit for the MFC: that’s another question). I think we maybe need someone with a entrepreneurial mindset? We do not want to be too conservative. The anchor is still dragging behind. As a constant reminder of our past failures. All we need do is look up Olympic Boulevard, to witness it. Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 Simon Lethlean (sp ?) said to be keen according to ch7 just now Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,389 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 5 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said: Simon Lethlean (sp ?) said to be keen according to ch7 just now Lock up your consenting adult daughters. 1 1 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,745 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 (edited) 23 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said: Simon Lethlean (sp ?) said to be keen according to ch7 just now He would be a terrible choice. Firstly, he got the sack from the AFL. Showed very poor judgement. A CEO needs to set standards and he would come with a bit of baggage. Apparently, he turned down the Bulldogs CEO job because they are a lowly club. He thought he would just walk into the Carlton job or the Collingwood CEO jobs but there Boards looked elsewhere. Eventually he took the lower job as Football Manager job at a 'lowly', St Kilda (Gil's club). Hopefully, our Board is strong enough to resist any overtures by Gil on behalf of his mate Lethlean. He probably sees us as potentially successful so wants to jump on the band wagon but he would come to the Demons for the wrong reasons - his status and ego. No thanks. A backward step. Keep him away from our club. Edited May 25, 2018 by Lucifer's Hero 3 1 Quote
Blinkybill 276 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 8 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said: He would be a terrible choice. Firstly, he got the sack from the AFL. Showed very poor judgement. A CEO needs to set standards and he would come with a bit of baggage. Apparently, he turned down the Bulldogs CEO job because they are a lowly club. He thought he would just walk into the Carlton job or the Collingwood CEO jobs but there Boards looked elsewhere. Eventually he took the lower job as Football Manager job at a 'lowly', St Kilda (Gil's club). Hopefully, our Board is strong enough to resist any overtures by Gil on behalf of his mate Lethlean. He probably sees us as potentially successful so wants to jump on the band wagon but he would come to the Demons for the wrong reasons - his status and ego. No thanks. A backward step. Keep him away from our club. Agree 100%. Melbourne seems to be following the Swans with their ND policy. The appointment of Lethlean would be contrary to this policy. 2 Quote
DV8 2,271 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 26 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said: He would be a terrible choice. Firstly, he got the sack from the AFL. Showed very poor judgement. A CEO needs to set standards and he would come with a bit of baggage. Apparently, he turned down the Bulldogs CEO job because they are a lowly club. He thought he would just walk into the Carlton job or the Collingwood CEO jobs but there Boards looked elsewhere. Eventually he took the lower job as Football Manager job at a 'lowly', St Kilda (Gil's club). Hopefully, our Board is strong enough to resist any overtures by Gil on behalf of his mate Lethlean. He probably sees us as potentially successful so wants to jump on the band wagon but he would come to the Demons for the wrong reasons - his status and ego. No thanks. A backward step. Keep him away from our club. We need to guard against Corporate Hitchhikers, and Train Jumper hobo's. Quote
Vineytime 855 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 PJ would know Lethlean well from their AFL House days together.. interesting. Quote
Guest Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 2 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said: He would be a terrible choice. Firstly, he got the sack from the AFL. Showed very poor judgement. A CEO needs to set standards and he would come with a bit of baggage. Apparently, he turned down the Bulldogs CEO job because they are a lowly club. He thought he would just walk into the Carlton job or the Collingwood CEO jobs but there Boards looked elsewhere. Eventually he took the lower job as Football Manager job at a 'lowly', St Kilda (Gil's club). Didn't Gil play for Carlton reserves? No way should Lethlean get even considered. Roosy had a n expression for it in Sydney didn't he? The no dh policy wasn't it? Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 I still think it will be an internal appointment... Quote
Cards13 9,117 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 8 hours ago, rjay said: I still think it will be an internal appointment... Even with the big wig external headhunters on the job? Nnnnooooo. Quote
samcantstandya 1,081 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 On Thursday, May 24, 2018 at 8:10 PM, Cards13 said: Haha has been said a few times in the thread, ridiculous. Hes’s played more games of AFL than you or I whether we liked his game or not, so irrelevant. He was an ex hockey player who came 2 the game late. He had a bigger turning circle than the Queen Mary, couldn't read the ball in flight & had poor footy IQ. The fact he played 100 odd games is more a reflection of how crap we were. Quote
samcantstandya 1,081 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 On Thursday, May 24, 2018 at 8:10 PM, Cards13 said: Haha has been said a few times in the thread, ridiculous. Hes’s played more games of AFL than you or I whether we liked his game or not, so irrelevant. If u r going 2 restrict opinions and (just like a certain body part we all have one). Then this fan site should be 4 only past & present players, nest pa? 1 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,872 Posted May 25, 2018 Posted May 25, 2018 Big Al’s player representation for the cricketers was top notch; what’s his business acumen and revenue generation ability like, not to mention his interpersonal skills? Quote
Gator 18,054 Posted May 26, 2018 Posted May 26, 2018 Lethlean's crime was that he had an affair. How that could preclude him from a senior job is beyond me. He shouldn't have lost his own job. If after a rigorous process he's the best man for the job appoint him. If he's not don't. 3 Quote
Deestar9 1,856 Posted May 26, 2018 Posted May 26, 2018 Well said ....know for a fact that St Kilda is over the moon with someone of his ilk .....he is very well credentialed & was I believe understudy to Gil Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted May 26, 2018 Posted May 26, 2018 5 hours ago, samcantstandya said: He was an ex hockey player who came 2 the game late. He had a bigger turning circle than the Queen Mary, couldn't read the ball in flight & had poor footy IQ. The fact he played 100 odd games is more a reflection of how crap we were. Not exactly correct, he played in 5 finals across three seasons, not really a crap team. Quote
Blinkybill 276 Posted May 26, 2018 Posted May 26, 2018 1 hour ago, Deestar9 said: Well said ....know for a fact that St Kilda is over the moon with someone of his ilk .....he is very well credentialed & was I believe understudy to Gil So well regarded by the AFL that he was dropped like a hot spud. In my experience there is always more to the story than comes to light. I’ll bet my house that it wasn’t just the affair, but the way he behaved throughout. Odds are his performance suffered as did his relations with other staff. There’s also the potential effect on sponsorships. No, Lethlean is fatally damaged goods, and we don’t want him. GDC also has AFL experience and hasn’t put a foot wrong with the Demons. And he has a clean slate. He’s miles ahead of Lethlean. Quote