Posted
On 8/28/2017 at 9:02 AM, Cranky Franky said:

I have been arguing about Dom with several mates for a few years.  They reckon he is a gun.  I reckon he is a plodder.

He starts on the ball & should be compared to other starting mid fielders like Treloar, Shuey, Hannaberry, Marc Murphy or Zorko.

I reckon he is slow, doesn't take many marks, not a high goalkicker & only has average disposal skills, just does not often impact the game or hurt the opposition.

Clearly the coaches seem to love him - what do other Demonlanders reckon ? 

Trade.

Posted
13 hours ago, deebug said:

Could we at least see how he goes next year? You never know he may just come good?

I'd be happy to keep him.

My frustration comes from the position he is being played in. I'd love an explanation. 

I think he needs to be inside mid rotation only or depth. 

He adds nothing to the side playing anywhere else.

Posted

Here's another view possibly

We are discussing the foibles of  Dom...Dom is an inside mid. Chunk is an inside mid.

Both these chaps turn over the ball with glaring reoccurrence.

The problem may lay as much beyond them as with them. i.e   the REAL problem as noted in many other posts in many other threads is we lack sufficient  class in running outside mids.

One goes with the other.  Get ball , give ball , use ball.

We dont have all the right gears for this transmission.

Posted

When he arrived and through his first season with us I was quite excited - he looked to be pretty quick, intelligent and ok with his disposal.  Trouble is he has gone backwards, not forwards since then.

Big question remains can he improve to become a best 22 in a successful team?  (I don't know the answer but firstly it is up to him).

Posted

Said it before - no player that gets as much footy as him is a bad footy player.

His decision making is the issue and so is our ability to continue in 2018 with a midfield rotation heavy on tough ball winners.

Viney, Oliver, Lewis, Jones, Tyson, and Petracca even are ball winners first with varying degrees of outside ability. Unless the other players in the rotation are better on the outside than they have been - something has to give.

Posted

Having not been Dom's biggest fan all year, I was absolutely sold on his performance v. the Saints in round 21. Finally, he was doing what he should've done all year - hitting targets and making good decisions on top of his prolific ball winning . I felt dizzy with excitement at the thought of him finally coming good AND at the business end of the season. He backed it up with a good game against Brisvegas AND THAT WAS IT!!! Back to utter poo against the pies - turnovers etc blah bah blah.

I just cant understand how he puts it together for two games out of 23. Yes, there are plenty of games where he won a lot of the footy before turning it over. And, after two good games, how do you dissolve into a liability? Is it  injury, or rather being injury free for 2 games?

I would trade him for the 21 games of shyte or keep him forever if those two games could be reliably reproduced.

Posted
6 hours ago, GUS BUS said:

Dom Tyson is a gun. You guys are plodders

Thanks Mrs Tyson. Welcome to the boards.

Posted

Too slow Tyson has to be traded if we are ever to make the leap into finals.

Not just slow across the turf either...

• Too often caught with the ball after being meters in the clear
  • Assessment and reaction time after receiving ball too slow
  • Takes too long to execute and often projects kicks resulting in intercept turnovers and his hand balls are also often diabolical and panicky resulting in further turnovers.  Watch the first half of his match against GWS.  We started like a house on fire yet Too Slow managed to turn the ball over in critical stages of that first quarter or so straight to the opp resulting in linked chain goals.
  • Add to this a pretty ordinary disposal efficiency (even for a mid fielder)...see above!

Too slow,  too many turnovers, not damaging enough to account for the negatives going the other way...time to go

Posted
20 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

Too slow Tyson has to be traded if we are ever to make the leap into finals.

Lost me here.

Tyson is the reason we missed out on finals by 2 goals of percentage?

Posted

Keep.

His best footy is ahead of him. He is a goal kicking midfielder but wasn't this year.

The biggest knock on him isn't disposal or decision making. He doesn't play well injured.

His poor form always coincides with carrying an injury.

Posted
19 hours ago, rpfc said:

Lost me here.

Tyson is the reason we missed out on finals by 2 goals of percentage?

Among others RP.....our result was the sum of all parts, including Goody's methods / game style

Posted
2 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

Among others RP.....our result was the sum of all parts, including Goody's methods / game style

Sum of all parts but if one of those parts wasn't faulty - we play finals.

The start against the Pies - the end against the Lions, the naivete of the coaching staff against NM in Tassie, and GWS in Canberra, the list can extend past this, but there is no leap.

There is 'behave like a normal team of competitive, talented football players that are well coached' and we play finals.

Posted (edited)
On 9/4/2017 at 11:03 PM, jnrmac said:

Happily trade him and a pick for Whitfield 

I've changed my mind.  His averages are quite good, & he's only 24.

With Jones maybe 3 seasons left, maybe we can maintain Tyson.

Edited by DV8

Posted (edited)
14 hours ago, rpfc said:

Sum of all parts but if one of those parts wasn't faulty - we play finals.

The start against the Pies - the end against the Lions, the naivete of the coaching staff against NM in Tassie, and GWS in Canberra, the list can extend past this, but there is no leap.

There is 'behave like a normal team of competitive, talented football players that are well coached' and we play finals.

We have many parts that are still faulty RP.  Had they not been, including the way the team plays via Goody's method / style, we would have made finals comfortably.  Instead we didn't even get in.  We are further off finals than we probably think if we maintain the current game style and some on the current list, including Too Slow.

Posted

In my opinion Dom needs to take the first option - its when he doesn't that he gets caught holding the ball (often) or does a 'nothing' handball to someone under pressure. If Clarkson employed a kicking coach as rumoured some time ago, perhaps we should do the same, then someone like Dom who gets the ball often would be more damaging and there would be no need for this thread. He's a keeper for me if he fixes his disposal.

Posted
On 9/6/2017 at 11:38 AM, GUS BUS said:

Dom Tyson is a gun. You guys are plodders

Not sure about the first statement, certain about the second

Posted

A big fat NO to a trade. This guy is a prime mover. OK he creates turnovers but so do Patrick Dangerfield and Dusty Martin. If you get the ball often as he does there will be forced turnovers. Dont know why the hate for Dom.

Posted
10 hours ago, Bobby McKenzie said:

A big fat NO to a trade. This guy is a prime mover. OK he creates turnovers but so do Patrick Dangerfield and Dusty Martin. If you get the ball often as he does there will be forced turnovers. Dont know why the hate for Dom.

Because he is not Dusty or Danger...and his turnovers are unforced....