Trade rumours

18 hours ago, Demons11 said:

I have heard Griffen might be a chance of joining us 

are there strings attached to this rumour?

Is he packed with something? ie: we get another player or pick with him, in helping them with salary cap spacing?

I'd trade Max Gawn and use Watts in the ruck :)

1 hour ago, Roost It said:

Maybe stick to Rumours rather than making up stuff yourself.  #nfi

1 hour ago, Roost It said:

watts wouldn't last 6 rounds......what then?

1 hour ago, DV8 said:

are there strings attached to this rumour?

Is he packed with something? ie: we get another player or pick with him, in helping them with salary cap spacing?

Not sure but just heard GWS looking to release him and that we are interested 

31 going on 32 next year with a year out of injuries. It's a pass 

at his peak he is exactly what we need but would not give up anything to get him

Griffin is being linked to Carlton via Fox Footy as part of a Kennedy, Smith trade. However, with Gibbs staying, they might struggle to come up with the currency they want. Pick 3 is very high when GWS dont have a first in return. The idea was pick 10 for those 3 players. But without Gibbs going to Adelaide, no pick 10 for them. 

shock....horror.....omg

ablett just informed suns he wants to be traded.....

....and.....(you'll never guess)...... to jeelong !!@#$#$@!!

What. Ryan Griffen? The guy can't stay fit or get a game. League footy went past him about 3 years ago. Even as an unrestricted free agent, we shouldn't take him. Wouldn't even get a game with the mids we have needing to get on the park.

And are people seriously discussing a Max Gawn trade? On any level?

Bloody hell. Guys, just take a break. Silly season is nearly here and we can do it for real instead of making up stuff.

8 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Dead set - some of the discussion here is the stuff of nerdy 12 year olds playing Dungeons and Dragons.

It's school holidays. Always brings out the worst at this time of the year. 

13 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Dead set - some of the discussion here is the stuff of nerdy 12 year olds playing Dungeons and Dragons.

It's your move Ron.

18 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Nothing wrong with D&D mate.

2 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

My Druid just unsheathed his sword. 

People get arrested for unsheathing posts like that. 

46 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

It's your move Ron.

The general consensus amongst most experienced and reasonable observers seems to be that we have finally built a very talented and capable list. Sure, it has the odd hole, and it probably requires a couple of top line additions (eg, Lever, Gaff or another experienced outside mid), but it is fundamentally a very talented and well balanced list, albeit still young.

With a good pre-season, our younger players having had another year under their belts, a better run with injuries, adding a couple of new players in the post season, and a better run with injuries, most commentators have us firmly in the 8 next year, if not higher.

Culturally, Goodwin, McCartney and co seems also to be taking the core of this group in the right direction. The challenge will probably ultimately be keeping the core of this group together.

In this context, I find it frustrating to read posts such as trade Gawn particularly given that we've just delisted Spencer and there is no sensible plan as to how we'd fill that void. It's as though we won the spoon again this year and everyone's on the table, just for the sake of it.

In short, I'd like to see some calmer, more reasoned discussion. That said, I'm well aware it's a trade thread and everyone is entitled to their opinion blah blah etc.

Edited by Ron Burgundy

Gary Ablett to the Cats...   sad to say they will likely be flag favorites next season.

He is still a beast...  can you imagine he and Dangerfield swapping between the midfield and full forward?

Ideally they will have to give their 1st rounder for him and he then breaks down.

13 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

Gary Ablett to the Cats...   sad to say they will likely be flag favorites next season.

He is still a beast...  can you imagine he and Dangerfield swapping between the midfield and full forward?

Ideally they will have to give their 1st rounder for him and he then breaks down.

They just need to hope the ball doesn't get into their backline.  This really will force Menzel out I reckon he is worth a look RFA

First rounder for Ablett albeit a late first rounder ... interesting call given his injury history and age... is Geelong going with head or heart?

Will he retire if GCS play hard ball?

1 hour ago, Petraccattack said:

Great player. Average bloke.

Trouble is Cats traded their 2017 first rounder last year.  The picks they have this year are 20 (traded from Carlton last year), 34, 52 and 71.

10 minutes ago, DeeTeez said:

Trouble is Cats traded their 2017 first rounder last year.  The picks they have this year are 20 (traded from Carlton last year), 34, 52 and 71.

that is a bit of a problem as you say ....

I suppose the difference between 16 or thereabouts (that they would have had) and 20 is not too bad from a GCS viewpoint

Edited by Diamond_Jim

Not if he picks and chooses when he'll play a la GCS

Surely the suns would take a third round pick and run. I mean really if he retires they get nothing and don't even prove a point.

Suns have made it clear they don't want picks but would rather a player instead for Ablett. Darcy Lang is the one they seem to be keen on.