Posted

Harley Balic: age 20, height 187 cm, weight 82 kg, outside (predominantly) midfielder originating from Victoria. Out of contract (2017).

Some of you may remember him from 2015. He was touted as a top 20 pick who slid to Fremantle's pick 38.

He's since taken leave several times, currently on permanent leave, due to homesickness.

I was quite impressed watching him play against us this year. I recall him winning some tough contested ball and hitting some rather difficult targets by foot. Overall, he didn't get a great deal of it but he did do enough to stand out.

At the moment his market value is as low as it can be, and we (or any other Victorian-based club) should be able to acquire him with a 4th round pick.

Considering the probability of those late picks coming to fruition is quite low, whoever acquires him will have themselves a steal.

A few years ago I made a thread proposing the selection of Shane Biggs as a rookie (now a W.B premiership player). I hope we don't miss this opportunity.

Observations and thoughts? (I think dazzle saw a bit of him in his U18 year?)

Posted

If he wants to come back to Victoria, he'd be a good target if we didn't need to give up much to get him. He's got good awareness, is a good decision maker, has decent skills, has a decent leap, and is versatile. Could play midfield, half forward or half back. I don't think he's just an outside midfielder, he's more rounded and some of his best work is navigated contests and then spreading for the link up afterwards.
I reckon he'd be an upgrade on some of our depth at worst, and if he develops well he could become best 22. From what I've seen of him, he's similar to Brayshaw, but shorter and a bit more of an athlete.

If we only had to give up a 4th round pick it'd be a definite yes for me. Think he might cost a late 2nd or 3rd round pick unless he is having greater mental issues and basically tells Freo trade me back home or I'll walk/retire.

Posted

Is it confirmed that it's home sickness?

The announcement that he was returning home to Victoria indefinitely from Freo only mentioned that he was returning for personal reasons and would not comment further.

Without a doubt I would pick him up for a fourth rounder if it was just home sickness.

Posted

Sorry I cannot conclusively confirm it as just homesickness.

Interestingly, I just watched one of his U18 "draft me" videos where he mentioned he was coached by our own Justin Plapp.

Surely he should help provide the club some greater insight into his character and current state. :)

Posted

@ChaserJ or @Pennant St Dee are good observers of junior footy and 'Pennant' may know something about the WA side of things.

My memory is he looked a pretty smart footballer and was another one from a basketball background...he seemed to have a bit of upside.

...but there must be a reason he slipped back.

Posted

interesting... i recall he was predicted to be taken by us at the pick we eventually took weideman at..8? from memory he has a basketball background (that famous line) and was quite quick between the ears.. could be add a bit of class to our list for sure. doubt freo would let him go for a 4th rounder though! they took him in the teens didn't they? 

Posted

Interestingly Balic lived at the Vineys for a week in 2015. So we have a link with him albeit a tenuous one

2d63a23824990db1e03abd3cffd8890b

"But Fremantle draftee Harley Balic’s insight into Viney’s approach to football suggests his commitment to improving his game has not wavered.

“It was pretty intense,” Balic remembers of his week living with the Viney’s last year as part of the AFL Academy.

“It was an awesome experience. He and his dad are just footy heads. Coming from my family where everyone is mixed, it was just footy, footy, footy 24-7.

“It taught me what it means to have a good work ethic. He’d be the last one to leave and after training he’d sit down with coaches and watch his training and slow it down to simple things like just picking up the ball. He’s pretty elite.”

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, fndee said:

Interestingly Balic lived at the Vineys for a week in 2015. So we have a link with him albeit a tenuous one

2d63a23824990db1e03abd3cffd8890b

"But Fremantle draftee Harley Balic’s insight into Viney’s approach to football suggests his commitment to improving his game has not wavered.

“It was pretty intense,” Balic remembers of his week living with the Viney’s last year as part of the AFL Academy.

“It was an awesome experience. He and his dad are just footy heads. Coming from my family where everyone is mixed, it was just footy, footy, footy 24-7.

“It taught me what it means to have a good work ethic. He’d be the last one to leave and after training he’d sit down with coaches and watch his training and slow it down to simple things like just picking up the ball. He’s pretty elite.”

I've said it before and I'll say it again. That house ought to be heritage listed.

Edited by ignition.
  • Like 14

Posted
22 minutes ago, ignition. said:

I've said it before and I'll say it again. That house ought to be heritage listed.

It evicted one fellow who has done well at Port, in the number 16 jumper.

Posted

If Kent continues to not get selected he may opt to head home and whether it is Balic or someone else, it opens up possibilities.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Redleg said:

If Kent continues to not get selected he may opt to head home and whether it is Balic or someone else, it opens up possibilities.

If he doesn't pull his finger out I think we might opt to head him home 'Redleg'...

...looking like a poor mans Colin Silvia at the moment.

Posted

if he is not playing for them due to homesickness, that is pretty soft.  fair enough its hard being away from home at 20yo but unless there are other issues you'd want someone with the character to play through a tough spell

Posted
1 minute ago, DubDee said:

if he is not playing for them due to homesickness, that is pretty soft.  fair enough its hard being away from home at 20yo but unless there are other issues you'd want someone with the character to play through a tough spell

Cameron McCarthy is going quite well for them.

With any late pick (draft selection or trade) there is some form of risk or deficiency. At his current market value, the pros vastly outweigh the cons.

Posted

Balic showed a lot at WAFL level last season and was very important for Peel in their Premiership run. He has plenty of ability and potential. My query on Balic is his desire to succeed.

My mail is it is homesickness and family matters. Nothing sinister. I think Freo are resigned to losing him.

Change of environment could be good. Wouldn't be more than a 3rd rounder 

Posted
7 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Balic showed a lot at WAFL level last season and was very important for Peel in their Premiership run. He has plenty of ability and potential. My query on Balic is his desire to succeed.

My mail is it is homesickness and family matters. Nothing sinister. I think Freo are resigned to losing him.

Change of environment could be good. Wouldn't be more than a 3rd rounder 

Balic in JKH out ... not suggesting a trade ... just asking would it be a good outcome

Posted
4 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

bit early in the year for all these trade target posts isn't it? It's mot 2013 when that was all we had to look forward to

not really... our bottom six rarely fire so we need to think about improving them if we are to be a serious threat in finals.

Hannan was a good find and could fill the bill but it is hard to get excited about the likes of JKH, Bugg, Kennedy etc

Posted
1 hour ago, WA Demon13 said:

I may have my factswrong here , but was it not Balic's family who didn't want him to go west and offered to pay him to stay at home and opt out of the draft ?

https://www.reddit.com/r/AFL/comments/3uazdz/harley_balics_parents_offer_him_70000_to_stay_in/

My parents paid for me to leave Melbourne and move to Perth..

His Dads comments came after he was selected in the draft, it was very much a joke. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

My parents paid for me to leave Melbourne and move to Perth..

His Dads comments came after he was selected in the draft, it was very much a joke. 

You shouldn't be living at home in your early 40's anyway Ethan.

Even if your dad is your life partner.

Posted
4 hours ago, ignition. said:

Cameron McCarthy is going quite well for them.

With any late pick (draft selection or trade) there is some form of risk or deficiency. At his current market value, the pros vastly outweigh the cons.

On talent he is worth a punt. 

Im just making the point that I'm not a fan of players holding their club to ransom and stopping playing coz they miss their mum. 

And cam McCarthy is no character reference