Posted

With all the talk about our need for a 2nd ruck who can play forward, I know his name's been mentioned, but surprised there's been no thread started.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-08-30/dockers-ruckman-zac-clarke-weighing-up-a-fresh-start

http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/player-profile/zachary-clarke

Free agent, and will be exploring his options.  At 203cm, 96 kg, 101 games under his belt and turning 27 at the start of next season he fits the bill.  He's reasonably mobile for a big man also.

I agree that only 46 goals in 101 games isn't brilliant, but the change of scenery could certainly help.  Even if he only kicks 1 a game, he should help our structure and could play more as a decoy forward for the likes of Hogan, Garlett & Watts.  Would allow Gawn to spend a bit more time forward also.

Given the only cost would be salary cap space, I reckon a slightly generous 2 year deal to get him to the club should get it done.  Then after 2 years you can actually pay him what he's properly worth.  Hopefully by then Mitch King has developed a bit more and if we draft one of or both of Dacry Cameron & Oscar McInerney who may be ready for serious game time.  Clarke may not even be required by then anyway and I certainly prefer him to Vickery!

Thoughts?

Posted (edited)
53 minutes ago, AngryAtCasey said:

With all the talk about our need for a 2nd ruck who can play forward, I know his name's been mentioned, bu surprised there's been no thread started.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-08-30/dockers-ruckman-zac-clarke-weighing-up-a-fresh-start

Free agent, and will be exploring his options.  At 203cm, 96 kg, 101 games under his belt and turning 27 at the start of next season he fits the bill.  He's reasonably mobile for a big man also.

I agree that only 46 goals in 101 games isn't brilliant, but the change of scenery could certainly help.  Even if he only kicks 1 a game, he should help our structure and could play more as a decoy forward for the likes of Hogan, Garlett & Watts.  Would allow Gawn to spend a bit more time forward also.

Given the only cost would be salary cap space, I reckon a slightly generous 2 year deal to get him to the club should get it done.  Then after 2 years you can actually pay him what he's properly worth.  Hopefully by then Mitch King has developed a bit more and if we draft one of or both of Dacry Cameron & Oscar McInerney who may be ready for serious game time.  Clarke may not even be required by then anyway and I certainly prefer him to Vickery!

Thoughts?

Definitely worth a look if we think he can play forward.  The knock on him from Dockers fans is that apart from his very good 2014 season he lacks intensity.  Has a knee injury too which has hampered him.

Edited by Fifty-5

Posted
6 minutes ago, Deevolution said:

Worth a look, what do we give up for him ? Spencer ?

Nothing.  He's Unrestricted Free Agent.

Posted
4 hours ago, AngryAtCasey said:

With all the talk about our need for a 2nd ruck who can play forward, I know his name's been mentioned, bu surprised there's been no thread started.

Thoughts?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-09-28/big-docker-clarke-signs-for-another-season

&

http://www.aflplayerratings.com.au/Ratings/Player/114741/Zac-CLARKE

A temp fix maybe.  No long contract though.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pc-fremantle-dockers--zachary-clarke

Posted
1 minute ago, DV8 said:

Cheers mate.

Although the above link is for when he signed at the end of 2015.

And agree, he is only temporary.  That's why I reckon no more then a 2 year offer.  Draft Darcy Cameron out of the WAFL and hopefully he can take his place by the end of 2018.

Posted

If he's half decent, can ruck 30% and rest forward and snag a goal or two per week, he'd also free up Watts... which probably equates to another goal or two per week... 

Posted
1 hour ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

If we want to climb the ladder we have to dream bigger than Zac Clarke. He's more mash potato than spud.

And not delicious Paris mash, more like mash that's got chunky bits in it and made with egg and milk and not butter.

Mmmmmmm.... butter, egg and milk......

I like him already.

Posted

All the talk is on Demonland, the only other mention was on AFL site  which said "young developing ruckman" this is not Clarke     surprised after Jamar"s 'outstanding"  showing for Essendon there isn't a thread about bringing him back

Posted
2 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Mmmmmmm.... butter, egg and milk......

I like him already.

I agree, add some dark chocolate and sugar and you have a delicious light and fluffy soufflé. 

Unfortunately, soufflé isn't what is going to get us into finals. 

Posted
20 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

I agree, add some dark chocolate and sugar and you have a delicious light and fluffy soufflé. 

Unfortunately, soufflé isn't what is going to get us into finals. 

It all starts innocently, mixing chocolate and rice bubbles. But before you know it, you're adding raisins and marshmallows - it's a rocky road.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

It all starts innocently, mixing chocolate and rice bubbles. But before you know it, you're adding raisins and marshmallows - it's a rocky road.

Where's the turkish delight????

Posted
52 minutes ago, PaulRB said:

If he's half decent, can ruck 30% and rest forward and snag a goal or two per week, he'd also free up Watts... which probably equates to another goal or two per week... 

The problem I see is that we need this forward/ruckman to be able to kick goals and take the pressure off Hogan and Watts.  I don't necessarily think Clarke can do that.  He has averaged less than half a goal a game, and he has certainly played up forward in most of those games as well.  

I just don't think he makes our side any better than what we have right now.  I'd rather play Pedersen in this case.

Posted
8 hours ago, AngryAtCasey said:

Cheers mate.

Although the above link is for when he signed at the end of 2015.

And agree, he is only temporary.  That's why I reckon no more then a 2 year offer.  Draft Darcy Cameron out of the WAFL and hopefully he can take his place by the end of 2018.

Fortunately we have a little time to see what comes along Re followers.   I would rather someone who can play the deep pocket & then go in the ruck for up to 10mins per Qtr.

That may not be Zac Clarke?  I'm happy enough to stay with Spencil, until a genuine ruck proposition comes along as the No 2 ruckman on our list.

IMO need someone who can be a genuine threat up forward as a strong mark & kick for goal, bust packs etc.  the Mitch Clark style footy.  I think someone around the 198cm-203cm height. 

Is Paddy Ryder available?

Posted

the definition of a list clogger.

I would prefer Tendai Muzungu if we were going for out of favour freo players

Posted (edited)

Please No Zac Clarke is no where near what we should be looking for he barely maintained his form to stay in Freo's side this season. 

Edited by felixdacat
mispelled
Posted
8 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

The problem I see is that we need this forward/ruckman to be able to kick goals and take the pressure off Hogan and Watts.  I don't necessarily think Clarke can do that.  He has averaged less than half a goal a game, and he has certainly played up forward in most of those games as well.  

I just don't think he makes our side any better than what we have right now.  I'd rather play Pedersen in this case.

I think with Clarke, the way I view is, is he the answer? No

But does he help us structurally? Yes

Other then Collingwood in 2010, i can't really think of a team that's won a premiership with only one genuine ruck and one part timer. They may have one who plays more in the ruck then the other, but generally the top sides play two genuine ruckman who are also forward options.

I don't see Spencer as a forward option, but i figure Clarke could at least be servicable for a couple of years until we develop someone else. Whether it's Mitch King or if we draft someone like Darcy Cameron who i'm a wrap for.

The viable alternatives out there to Zac Clarke leave me underwhelmed. Nathan Vardy's an option but injury prone, Majak Daw lacks the footy smarts and i think would cost a bit in a trade. While Ty Vickery is about as useful in the ruck as Chris Dawes. Shaun McKernan could be a cheap option if delisted by a 2nd club.

I just figure as a free agent and only cost being cap space, Zac Clarke is probably as good a short term fix as we have.

Posted

Who was the young ruckman we were going to rookie a few years ago but Freo jumped in and grabbed him? Hannath? Whatever happened to him?

Posted
6 minutes ago, Demonised said:

Who was the young ruckman we were going to rookie a few years ago but Freo jumped in and grabbed him? Hannath? Whatever happened to him?

According to Freo supporters, likely to be delisted.

Posted

I thought Clarke showed a lot of potential 2 or 3 years ago, but hasn't really come on. Partly due to Sandilands' dominance as their number one ruck, partly due to his own development.

One I'd rather we went for would be Nankervis from the Swans, but seeing as he'd be after more game time I'm not so sure we'd be an ideal destination for him.