View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Jade Rawlings

Posted

See ya.. Take ya stupid defence zone or whatever you call it and shut the door behind you.

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

See ya.. Take ya stupid defence zone or whatever you call it and shut the door behind you.

Yep...might be time 

One thing I noticed is that our defence never run up and make there opponents chase them and put pressure on the score board. All other defences do it, not ours.

We all need a good scapegoat. Four of the supposed six defenders today are not good enough. That's not his fault. Nor is the decision to use zone defence. Most clubs in the league do that. The problem is quality. White, OMac, Grimes don't have it. Back-up of Garland, Dunn, Lumumba, Salem, Melksham and Terlich, etc are either not good enough or not there.

Rawlings style of defending used to be capable...but then it was accountable and only capable of defending.

Trying to introduce an attacking counterside has been a failure imho.  We're now totally unglued down there. 

I dont think defence is our main problem. Our forward line is hopelessly inefficient. And our on baller have no idea how to deliver the ball to a forward's advantage.

Agree with Tony Tea.

Smashed in the midfield. Dumb, dumb footy. You have to wonder if some of these blokes even look upfield to see if they are running into space or into a tackle. Shocking handball - near enough is not good enough. You have to hit targets, not ping it in their general direction. Our forward setup has been rubbish all season, even in games we've won. Defence can get turned inside out but that's footy today. Everyone's defence get's turned inside out. Yeah, Mitch White got outbodied in a couple of one on ones but it's his 3rd game.

6 minutes ago, olisik said:

Conceded 20 marks inside our defensive 50

It was the uncontested marks that they took inside our forward fifty which were more of a worry!

I'm not sure the zone defending is his idea.

But he hasn't improved any players outside of Jetta. And he's been here for years and stuck it out with Garland, Dunn, Grimes as mainstays who just were never going to be good enough and didn't seem to show any desire to play without them. I'll put that on Roos as well. Why are we trying new defenders now in year 3 of his tenure? 

If the zone defending was his idea it needs to be tweaked and if it wasn't his idea he probably doesn't understand it well enough to know what to do next.

I'm not convinced we require him going forward.

So many easy entries into the forward line today because of loose players in the "zone", it was very annoying to watch.

It was expected what happened last time we played the Saints.

What happen to good old fashion man on man? 

1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said:

I'm not sure the zone defending is his idea.

But he hasn't improved any players outside of Jetta. And he's been here for years and stuck it out with Garland, Dunn, Grimes as mainstays who just were never going to be good enough and didn't seem to show any desire to play without them. I'll put that on Roos as well. Why are we trying new defenders now in year 3 of his tenure? 

If the zone defending was his idea it needs to be tweaked and if it wasn't his idea he probably doesn't understand it well enough to know what to do next.

I'm not convinced we require him going forward.

Maybe it's Goodwins idea?

Rawlings clearly just implements/coaches the ideas. It's almost certainly Goodwin's plan.

That said, I reckon it's time for a shake up back there. New blood, please.

Oh and it wasn't the defence's fault again. It was the lack of midfield pressure, as is always the case. As someone who still plays footy (?), you'd know this, Dazzle. 

10 minutes ago, Nasher said:

It's threads like this that make me consider if a mandatory cool-down period is required on the forum after losses, even if on a poster-by-poster basis.

Agreed. Some of the suggestions, criticisms and angst aimed at players and coaches in the aftermath of a loss are offensive.

Rubbish. Our defence has been all over the shop this year. All many are doing is pointing the bone where possibly it ought to be pointed. A loss like today's simply functions as its catalyst.

25 minutes ago, Nasher said:

It's threads like this that make me consider if a mandatory cool-down period is required on the forum after losses, even if on a poster-by-poster basis.

Venting is very therapeutic 

12 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Venting is very therapeutic 

It's just that Nash has to clean it up, so I understand his frustration.

Just now, AdamFphlebeb said:

It's just that Nash has to clean it up, so I understand his frustration.

I reckon all this carry on prevents a lot of ill considered emails going to the club.

3 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

An average Forward in a front running side running our defence? Iv'e said it before> Needs to go! No Idea Zone sherrmozzle!