Posted

I'm a football optimist and I am not overly confident going into this match.

I am however very interested to see how GWS come out to play this weekend.  Cast our minds back 365 day and we were coming up against the Gold Coast who, at the time, were widely tipped to take part in their first finals campaign.  We all saw what happened that day and for the remainder of the year for the Suns.

This time it's the GWS who carry the weight of expectation into this game.  Arguably, up until this season, there has not been the expectation placed on that team to win games and contend for the finals.  That has certainly changed and it will be interesting to see how they transition from the hunter to the hunted.  Teams will be primed to play them now, the tapes have been thoroughly studied, and they are going to go into most of their matches as early favourites.  This pressure and expectations can do funny things to a team, especially if it's the first time that such a young team has encountered it.

Melbourne is not at that stage yet; the football community is not looking to us to set the world on fire this year.  Hopefully we can correct this by doing just that.

Posted

a big area we've fallen down against them in the past is Mumford has killed us, he imo isn't near 100% and Gawn is more than capable of matching his best footy so it should be a ripper game

Posted (edited)

I'm flying in from Sydney especially for the game with my daughter.  I predict I'm going to enjoy the living hell out of it, oh and a Dees win!!

Edited by kryton101
Posted

Where's Skuit? He was spot on with the St Kilda nab challenge game tip?? I'll defer to him....for me, Dees by 3 goals, but I'm one eyed.

Also would like to understand if Geelong can beat Hawthorn for my smokey this week in the footy yips?

Posted
15 minutes ago, small but forward said:

Where's Skuit? He was spot on with the St Kilda nab challenge game tip?? I'll defer to him....for me, Dees by 3 goals, but I'm one eyed.

Also would like to understand if Geelong can beat Hawthorn for my smokey this week in the footy yips?

Haha. I'm confident.

Posted

GWS have the better midfield at this stage but their forward line will be their weak point. If we can beat/nullify these 3 players- Shaw, Shiel & Mumford the game will be ours.

Dees by a goal!

Posted

I have been very bullish about the Dees this season and have money on us making the eight.

But I also have GWS in the eight and despite losing Cameron for Saturday, they still are pretty much at full strength in all other areas - defender Haynes is a loss though.

We have to hope that Gawn can at least match it with Mummy and not tire like Jamar did so badly in Rd 2 last year.

Mummy will have Rory Lobb as back up and he looks a big improver to me. 

It is because Mummy is so dangerous and feeds their strong midfield that I am hoping we don't ditch Frost or Pedo, but there is a chance that will happen if VB and Angus are to come in because someone has to miss out. 

Providing Bugg can cope with Shiel and Viney can negate Ward, then I reckon it may come down to last-term heroics and a passionate crowd could be the difference.

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, DubDee said:

i had a look at the teams from round 2 last year against GWS for a bit of context/comparison. Dees scored the first 4 goals before bending over and conceding 9 goals to nil in the 3rd term. I actually have some confidence now that we will be able to weather a storm a lot better this time around. 

I seem to recall that there were thoughts that the hard MCG turf (the cricket world cup had only been played a week or so before) had an effect on the teams that played there round 1. From my memory none of the sides who played at the G round 1 had a win in round 2.

So without that issue this year I'm thinking we will win by 17 points with a great team effort helping to get over their gun midfield.

Edited by Is Dom Is Good
Posted

Who I hope will win

Tigers V Blues. For humour value I hope the Blues get the win a week after Richmond re-appointing Dimma and as payback for the truly tragic Horses farce. Tigers in turmoil after Round one

Melb V GWS. Us obviously with Scully getting dragged to the bench and made to wear a red jacket, playing no further part in the game, even though that rule doesn't exist any more

Suns V Bombers. Not sure with this one. Perhaps Bombers to win, create false hope for their fans only for us to beat them by 187  next week. Or Suns to crush them and make the stupid walk to the G affair a very sad and deflated affair (then to be beaten by 187 points)

Swans V Pies. Hard call. Swans but only to make Eddie sad

North V Crows. Flip a coin. Crows

Dogs V Freo. Don't mind either side. Both long time, fellow cellar dwellers. Maybe the Dogs 

Port V Saints. Don't really like Adelaide crowd. Soft spot for Saints

Eagles V Lions. Go the Queenslanders

Cats V Hawks. A nil all draw. Universally regarded as the worst match ever played and so no points awarded. Hawthorn go on to be the first club to win the Cup and the Spoon in consecutive years

Posted
7 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Oliver to get first rising star nomination of the year. No pressure!

You know he is paying 1.40 on sportsbet to get a nomination in 2016.... it's almost worth chucking 5 grand on it.

Posted
6 minutes ago, 93dee said:

You know he is paying 1.40 on sportsbet to get a nomination in 2016.... it's almost worth chucking 5 grand on it.

There's  a bit of a vibe that he may be held back a round or two - hope not.

Posted

Hogan starts off CHB, coming in a straight line at the centre bounces.

Mac at CHF telling everyone how many goals he's going to kick.

All over for GWS at halftime. What's left of them.

Posted

My Winners this week:

Richmond

GWS

Glod Coast

North Melbourne

Collingwood

Fremantle

Port Adelaide

West Coast

Hawthorn

Sadly I just don't see us beating the GWS midfield machine.  We have better forwards and probably better tall backs, but they have us in the middle.  I expect them to run over us and I'm backing a certain nameless entity to have a very good game, especially in the second half when fitness really starts to play a part. 

Posted

Haven't really thought about the other games yet but I do have a good feeling about Melbourne this week. First round games ( and a lot of other rounds) haven't been kind to us in recent years but I have seen real improvement in us and there is a confident and positive vibe about the club.

Big Max has to at least break even with Mummy. This is crucial or we are stuffed. GWS have some good mids but so do we now and Jones, Vince , Brayshaw and Viney can mix it in any company. I reckon Oliver will play and provide some surprises. Add VDB's muscle and a cameo or two from Jeffy and we'll do ok. Bugge may prove a real pest.

If JW produces he'll prove a headache to a Hogan focussed defence and our backs can handle their weakened forward line.

Dees by 24 points.

Posted

It'll be a great duel between the ruckmen and will give Gawn a fair gauge on where he's at coming up against Mummy first up. I take comfort from the improved tap-work from Gawn and if Mumford is a bit rusty then we should win the greater share of clearances and hopefully get the pill inside 50 enough to kick a winning score.

As always, fingers crossed scumbag gets sat on his arse - by vanDenBerg or Viney would be nice.

I'm thinking we'll get up by 3 or 4 goals. GWS will find it difficult to kick a winning score without Cameron.

Posted
5 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

I have a feeling we are going to maul GWS

Dees by 54

Not sure why, but I'm feeling the same way. I think we'll play a very strong match and get up by at least 5 goals. 

My biggest concern is Dylan Shiel. If he shows up we could be in trouble. If he's contained or has a quiet game, we're well and truly on.

Posted
11 hours ago, kryton101 said:

I'm flying in from Sydney especially for the game with my daughter.  I predict I'm going to enjoy the living hell out of it, oh and a Dees win!!

Can you pack me in your suitcase....

182cm, 96kg ??

Posted
4 hours ago, Django said:

Not sure why, but I'm feeling the same way. I think we'll play a very strong match and get up by at least 5 goals. 

My biggest concern is Dylan Shiel. If he shows up we could be in trouble. If he's contained or has a quiet game, we're well and truly on.

I feel the same way. I think that's a job for Viney to take care of.

Posted

I don't think people realise how good GWS are and nearly everything will have to go right for us to win on Saturday.

I predict a 30 point loss on the weekend. As much as we've improved, they have too and their midfield are a few levels above. 

Posted
9 minutes ago, stevethemanjordan said:

I don't think people realise how good GWS are and nearly everything will have to go right for us to win on Saturday.

I predict a 30 point loss on the weekend. As much as we've improved, they have too and their midfield are a few levels above. 

Can't emphasise enough how important it is for Gawn to get on top of Mumford.

Viney, Jones and Tyson desperately need to get first use of the ball for us to have a shot.

Posted

Their Midfield may have a slight edge, but unfortunatley for them that's not where goals are scored.
T-Mac will be roaming free in the back line not having to worry about McCarthy and Cameron therefore will be like a troll guarding the bridge, their forward line will have the intensity of a garden salad.
Mumford will be good early but I dare say his ankle won't hold 100% for the entire game.
Game will be close enough until half time, but we will run away with it in the second half.
Watts to hopefuly have a belter with 3 goals, Hogan with 4, Garlett with 3 goals, 2 of which he runs into an open goal square. Kennedy to have an absolute ripper and VDB to get BOG.
Demons by 5 Goals.