Posted
1 minute ago, Skuit said:

Though I'm sure it would have been tempting to photoshop some of Gawn's excess beard onto Nat's head. And it seems they gave something of a smile to Col without making it look too unrealistic.

Where he's looking is freaking me out. Just to the left of my soul.

Posted

Always thought Garland would be reinstated. Roos loves him. Strikes me as a massive clubman, and a smart, thoroughly decent individual.

Very surprised about Dunn's omission/non inclusion. Slightly concerned about that.

The rest are obvious inclusions.

As an aside, I love that Bernie's in the LG. Stoked he's a committed Demon.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Deestroy All said:

Where he's looking is freaking me out. Just to the left of my soul.

Max's woo eyes are also rather unnerving.

Posted

I like the 2016 leadership group.

I'm also looking forward to the year when Viney, Brayshaw, Hogan, Gawn, McDonald and Salem form the leadership group.

Posted

Like father, like son:

The 21-year-old has also achieved a similar leadership achievement to what his father Todd did at the same age, when the Melbourne great was appointed deputy vice-captain in 1988.

Jack said he was delighted to continue in his dad’s footsteps.

Viney's interview:  http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2016-03-09/honoured-to-be-leader-viney

A chip off the old block, in more ways than one!

Posted

Every year most on here applaud the selection of the leadership group, and say what a good choice it was. And every year for the past 9, we've been mediocre. I really don't care what the players do behind the scenes. If they don't offer much to improve our on-field results, they're not leaders. When you are a struggling club, the coaches are the leaders, because the players would be given little free rein to make tactical decisions for themselves. They just play to the best of their ability, and hopefully inspire through their deeds.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Always thought Garland would be reinstated. Roos loves him. Strikes me as a massive clubman, and a smart, thoroughly decent individual.

Very surprised about Dunn's omission/non inclusion. Slightly concerned about that.

The rest are obvious inclusions.

As an aside, I love that Bernie's in the LG. Stoked he's a committed Demon.

Only problem is that he is a liability on the field

Posted
Just now, Curry & Beer said:

Only problem is that he is a liability on the field

If he was such a liability in the eyes of the coaches and the players then he wouldn't be selected. 

I'll trust Roos, Goodwin, Macca and the players on this one. Good to see him straight back in the LG. 

Posted
38 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Interesting our Vice captain from last year Lynden Dunn has been left out?

Yeah it is intriguing. Whilst he was very vocal during matches which is fine, I saw a lot of finger pointing and almost berating by Dunny on any mistakes made in the backline. Not ideal to see this from a leader and it may well have something to do with his demotion !?

Very happy with this years group.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

If he was such a liability in the eyes of the coaches and the players then he wouldn't be selected. 

I'll trust Roos, Goodwin, Macca and the players on this one. Good to see him straight back in the LG. 

They just replaced 5 out of the 6 from last year. Not a good success rate.

Posted
1 minute ago, mo64 said:

One retired, 2 have spent the off season injured, one was there before they came and Dunn is the other. Mostly out of their control, but nice try. 

Posted (edited)
12 minutes ago, mo64 said:

Our leadership during games last year was exceptionally poor.  The Collingwood and St Kilda games stand out as glaring examples.  We just couldn't back the same group this year.  I am surprised at the extent of the change but I don't believe any of the 'outs' earnt the right to be there again. 

That 4 of the 6 were replaced signals that we are serious about success.  The club is willing to make difficult decisions.  It would not have been easy to drop the 4 as each of the players dropped strike me as being very proud men. 

From your last few posts I take it you don't like the new LG.  Your solution to our on-field leadership vacuum is...?

Posted
2 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

One retired, 2 have spent the off season injured, one was there before they came and Dunn is the other. Mostly out of their control, but nice try. 

"2 have spent the off season injured" - That doesn't disqualify you from the leadership group.

"One was there before they came" - Grimes was still selected by Roos and Co. last year, and yet wasn't deemed best 22 in round 1. 

And Cross wasn't offered another year to play on despite his performances. That was Roos and Co.'s decision.

As I said previously, with a struggling club, the title of being in the leadership group is a bit of a [censored]. Sure the captain has responsibilities off the field, but the rest will be chopped and changed every year.

Posted

It's a huge reshuffle and seem's a ballsy move by the club. One I'm happy with. But then, I was happy with Trenners and Grimes and trusted in Neeld so I don't even know why I offer my opinion anymore.

Posted
54 minutes ago, Seraph said:

Grimes is borderline best 22, no point in him being in the leadership group if he's never on the park.

He's nowhere near best 22. Disposal, kicking appalling. Kicks it out of bounds on the full or turns it over far too much. Useless.

Posted

Jones and Viney are the only automatic inclusions I think.

From the rest of the group: Vince has the experience and talent so if he wants to be a leader you put him in. Tom McDonald is a standout in the way he prepares, how much effort he gives come game day and hopefully can get back to being a standout player. Gawn is a standout character, if the coaches believe he has the game and the work rate to be a leader then I can support that, he's the player others follow.

Once you've got those 5 it's a matter of who else goes in and it's probably where we fall away. Dawes and Lumumba have injuries and form issues that limit their respect within the group. Dunn didn't back up his 2014 and probably lacks on field qualities in terms of consistency and focus to be a leader. Grimes just isn't good enough. 

Garland might not be either but he's a guy who's always given his all on and off field as a Melbourne man. He's a popular team mate and I trust him as a wise and caring club man. If he's the worst performing on field member of the group I can still understand him being a leader.

Posted
1 hour ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

I wouldn't say clearly, to me Dawes clearly was an on field leader. 

But let's agree to disagree. 

I think Dawes is an on field leader too, but needs to concentrate on getting on the park this year. 

Posted
37 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

You don't trust your own eyes? When was the last time he was in your best players? I don't care what anyone says about off-field stuff, being an effective player on gameday is a critical ingredient to being in the LG. How do you command respect and inspire others if you are not pulling your own weight? It's also a bad look for the club to have substandard players representing us. If standing around looking like you're about to cry, generally showing zero passion and coughing up goals makes a leader then I guess he is General Patton. As mo64 has correctly pointed out, the fact that Grimes, Dawes and Lumumba were in there last year obviously shows the judgment of the overseers is not necessarily as sound as you purport.

Posted

Not sure at all about leadership groups. It is the fashion, and coaches and footy clubs see them as essential but it is possible that they create division rather than unite particularly when you get changes each year and those that get dropped feel reason to be disappointed or let down. Dropping Lynden Dunne when he has been the Marshall of the backs for some time is surprising. He may have reason to feel disgruntled along with others who have been dropped or others overlooked. The captain and vice captain/s are acknowledged as leaders, beyond that I have my doubts about the benefit of another group of leaders. The goal should be to have a team of players that could all be said to have leadership qualities or in young players, developing leadership qualities. What is the evidence that they work, that they have a unifying influence, or that it translates to results in a match?

Posted
7 minutes ago, hemingway said:

Not sure at all about leadership groups. It is the fashion, and coaches and footy clubs see them as essential but it is possible that they create division rather than unite particularly when you get changes each year and those that get dropped feel reason to be disappointed or let down. Dropping Lynden Dunne when he has been the Marshall of the backs for some time is surprising. He may have reason to feel disgruntled along with others who have been dropped or others overlooked. The captain and vice captain/s are acknowledged as leaders, beyond that I have my doubts about the benefit of another group of leaders. The goal should be to have a team of players that could all be said to have leadership qualities or in young players, developing leadership qualities. What is the evidence that they work, that they have a unifying influence, or that it translates to results in a match?

very well said again Ernest

Jones captain, Viney vice-captain/successive captain, leave it at that

Posted

I think the leadership group of six with one captain is about right. Some clubs have ridiculously large leadership groups but you don't need more than six IMO.

Good luck to the blokes picked but on his brief cameo performances on field last year and on stage tonight, Angus Brayshaw looms as an outstanding skipper of the future.

Posted

Given the club uses the Leading Teams process to select leaders, the omission of Dunn says quite a bit.

His peers don't rate him against the criteria.

Simple.