Posted (edited)

There were 4 umpires out there and they still could not see when Hogan was being held. So it proves it isn't about how many umpires but whether they are any good. Wallace and Fisher are dead set duds and only there because of their names. I did like Harmes game and Salem showed why he has been sorely missed of halfback for a large part of the season.

Edited by Older demon

Posted

But it's still a ton of people who paid for a membership and didn't attend our final home (winnable) game. I get how emotional our fans are but you should be used to disappointment enough (if you are a multiple year member) that you're prepared for a dead rubber in the final round.

It was a dead rubber, at Docklands, against the Giants, on Fathers Day at 1pm after a terrible month of footy.

It was a terrible crowd nut what do people expect?

Posted

It was a dead rubber, at Docklands, against the Giants, on Fathers Day at 1pm after a terrible month of footy.

It was a terrible crowd nut what do people expect?

It was bizarre fixturing for sure. It's almost as if the AFL were trying to set a record for the lowest attendance ever. The only thing they could have done to make it worse was schedule it in the 4pm slot (but they slugged the equally irrelevant Pies and Bombers game with that one :D).
Posted

Finally, after attending football for a seriously long time I am completely confounded as to what this group of GWS supporters could possibly have been thinking? They cant possibly be married what woman would let her man out in public dressed like that. In fact, what woman would let them dress like that ever?

FullSizeRender.jpg

Quite obviously part of the contingent of Serfs required to feed the Phil....Here they wait for an order to be filled before delivering it upstairs !!

Posted

of course i am looking at problems. To erase them.

Once again this site tonight talks about September. I am happy to see a victory but the previous 4 weeks are more true to form

23 Goals to 3 in first Quarters is the data i would be studying over summer

Well good luck over Summer...

Posted

Like what Dunn has to offer as a CHF with Hogan deep.

As Bruuuuuuuuuce would say , 'He has a beautiful leg " But I thought his main thing yesterday was giving Maxy a chop out in the ruck. Either way he was more effective at it than Dawes would have been. Good to have the option.

Posted

It was bizarre fixturing for sure. It's almost as if the AFL were trying to set a record for the lowest attendance ever. The only thing they could have done to make it worse was schedule it in the 4pm slot (but they slugged the equally irrelevant Pies and Bombers game with that one :D).

It makes a good case for all round 23 games to be played Friday night/Saturday. It could be done with some tweaking of the fixture.

Posted
I feel we had a good side out there today. Our forward line looks a lot more exciting with Hogan as the main target and several medium targets. Newton, though he has flaws, could be a very important player in our team.

Harmes shows a real asset of physicality which we need, now Salem looks like he can lay a crunching tackle too. JKH was pretty good too. We saw some good footy from our youngsters to bring hope into next season. Those 3 goals in a few minutes at the end of the third were the difference and very abnormal for us

Anyway, a shame that 1/4 of our members couldn't turn up. QUOTE

I think it was a good protest from our members about the last 4 weeks.

I think it was a protest on three fronts, one the form of the last month, another about being a home game not at our home ground, and thirdly being smack bang in the middle of Fathers day. No way I was going on the last alone.

Posted

As Bruuuuuuuuuce would say , 'He has a beautiful leg " But I thought his main thing yesterday was giving Maxy a chop out in the ruck. Either way he was more effective at it than Dawes would have been. Good to have the option.

That does not say a lot about Dunn!

Posted

It makes a good case for all round 23 games to be played Friday night/Saturday. It could be done with some tweaking of the fixture.

TV would never wear that one Dr.

Posted

What have got against Tangambalanga to inflict Wallace on them?

To many A's in the name.

Posted

Any thoughts on Dunns return to forward line.

Is it a once of or a permanent change of direction?

Was a good move.

He is a great target on the 50m fringe because he kicks them from there.

He has been struggling in the backline for a while.

Posted

It's not really an option though. We rolled the dice against a team with a poor ruck division and won - I'd hate to see us try this against a side with even one decent ruckman.

I loved Dunn's competing as a forward. The goal was a ripper, but the margin for error for those sort of shots is very narrow, you only need to look at the result of his second shot. Unlike a shot from near the goals, from that distance the kick only needs to be slightly off perfect and it will miss. At the end of the day, it's low percentage play and not one I'd be relying on.

It was a good once-off moves based on needs on the day, but he's still a defender I reckon.

Posted

Tommy reminds me of Rance at a similar stage in his career. He has really cleaned up his kicking and decision making and I expect Tommy to do the same.

Can't agree with that. Rance was a hack for a long time - Tommy looks a far better player at the same age.

As for his kicking, he can turn it around. It has improved since the start of the year imo.

Posted

It's not really an option though. We rolled the dice against a team with a poor ruck division and won - I'd hate to see us try this against a side with even one decent ruckman.

I'd also hate to see what happened if Gawn had gone down with that hip that was bothering him.

We desperately need Frost to grow that toe back ASAP, so we have a decent 2nd ruck option that isn't Dawes

Posted

I want to see Dunn drop five kilograms before anything else.

I do like him as a player (most of the time).

He might be able to lose a little weight but he won't be able to play full back if he drops much. I'd leave him as is if you want to keep him as a deep defender who can go with big forwards and marshal the backline.

Unless you have a lot of faith in Frost and therefore want to transition Dunn quickly in to more of a 3rd tall running defender I woudn't worry much. Increasing his fitness a little would be the main priority, if he can keep the bulk it's even better.

Posted

Can't agree with that. Rance was a hack for a long time - Tommy looks a far better player at the same age.

As for his kicking, he can turn it around. It has improved since the start of the year imo.

Talking more about the kicking & decision making 'Django'...Rance was a shocker and has settled now, Tommy will improve and be a great defender for us. Love that he keeps taking the game on.

Posted

Talking more about the kicking & decision making 'Django'...Rance was a shocker and has settled now, Tommy will improve and be a great defender for us. Love that he keeps taking the game on.

In that respect, it's probably a fair assessment!

Posted

Dunn is a better decoy at CHF than Dawes is.

Depending on the pre-season I could see Frost and Pederson being ahead of Dawes as the decoy forward. I feel Dawes is better than Dunn at having a physical impact, I also think Dunn's best position is in defense.

Posted

Depending on the pre-season I could see Frost and Pederson being ahead of Dawes as the decoy forward. I feel Dawes is better than Dunn at having a physical impact, I also think Dunn's best position is in defense.

I thought Pedersen had clearly gone ahead of Dawes but injury destroyed his year. Credit to Pedersen he was a bit of a joke to me under Neeld but under Roos he has come on in leaps and bounds, especially since that Carlton game last year. I would have him ahead of Dawes any day, is a better mark, a better shot at goal and a better back up ruck option.

Posted (edited)

Dunn is a better decoy at CHF than Dawes is.

The fact that he can take a contested mark and kick the odd goal always helps when playing up forward. I would make the swap if he (Dawes) is staying on...Dawes to CHB. Most likely more effective at spoiling from behind and running straight lines off his opponent.