Posted

Nope - sorry. Nothing makes me feel even just a little bit better after losing to the drug cheats on Saturday.

I doubt that I will ever believe or trust our team again.

Yeah me too.....until next weekend comes around and i will drag myself to the footy again........

Posted

How uplifting to be a Melbourne fan and time after time watching our team " snatch defeat from the jaws of victory "!

Posted

How uplifting to be a Melbourne fan and time after time watching our team " snatch defeat from the jaws of victory "!

Bummers, Saints, even Collingwood games.

This should be the new club motto - damnum rapta suis faucibus victoria

Posted

You forgot "repeatedly" before snatch.

Posted

They have 8 games to improve on last year - the Fatalistic wrist slashing on here is over the top.

We lost to Essendon at the G by 9 points - as awful as that sentence sounds - it was never a fait accompli and should really only be a surprise to the sorry few who actually thought we could finish the season by winning 8 of our last 9 games...

The Midfield is the beating heart of modern footy and ours is still Jones, Vince, Viney, *NEW - Brayshaw*, *NEW - Vanders*, and ??? Who are the next 5 ???.

Invariably (almost universally) when we lose games it is because of the players we DON'T have in that midfield.

When we solve that issue, I will be surprised to lose a game of footy.

Posted

Some are saying 'we always find new ways to lose' - that's an improvement on never being in a position to win in the first case.

Posted (edited)

Trying to put a positive spin on Saturday's loss is like putting lipstick on a pig. I reckon pretty much every other side would've beaten Essendon- they were so ordinary for three quarters.

The only solace I take is that at least we fought back in the last quarter. Most other years the players would've already had their showers and left the ground by midway through the last quarter.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

Posted

Trying to put a positive spin on Saturday's loss is like putting lipstick on a pig. I reckon pretty much every other side would've beaten Essendon- they were so ordinary for three quarters.

The only solace I take is that at least we fought back in the last quarter. Most other years the players would've already had their showers and left the ground by midway through the last quarter.

Is that not lipstick BBP?

Posted

I made a similar comment to a mate in Saturday. How can we possibly be beaten by such an ordinary side playing ordinary football?? Unbelievable.

Posted

I made a similar comment to a mate in Saturday. How can we possibly be beaten by such an ordinary side playing ordinary football?? Unbelievable.

Just a suggestion mono we are no better?

Posted

Just a suggestion mono we are no better?

Yeah, we are no better than that, we played the same ordinary football down at Mordor and beat Geelong.

Same ordinary football made Richmond look 'insipid.'

Hard to score when the goalposts move so frequently...

Posted

Some are saying 'we always find new ways to lose' - that's an improvement on never being in a position to win in the first case.

We'll run out of new ideas sooner or later.

Posted

Yeah, we are no better than that, we played the same ordinary football down at Mordor and beat Geelong.

The point is that we were doing the same thing last year. At this stage, when we thought we would be better than last year, we aren't. You know, year on year progress. Yes of course we are better than Neeld era, but I've not seen progress from LAST year. A few more wins before season end will change my mind, but at this stage it is not there. As much as people might hate them, the stats prove this definitively. The next 8 games will define the next few years I think.

Posted

To me, it was as if we stuck to a wet weather style of footy when for the most part, it wasn't that wet. It was like watching a couple of sides play in a constant deluge when it only spitted occasionally.

Posted

Both MFC & EFC were embarrassingly awful on the weekend. Reflected by the mute attitude of both sets of supporters (where I was sitting) and a realization that we were watching two very poor sides. Have we improved? Moot point. Until we start winning matches we remain a bottom of the ladder team and a long way off having sustained success. We need to finish the season strongly to change that perception. We have reached a point where near enough is not good enough. We seem much better off on the non playing side (administration and coaching staff). Despite the losses, there seems to be a positive feeling that we are headed in the right direction as enunciated by Paul Roos in recent days. We can also see the nucleus of a good side emerging with the development of our youngsters. Our midfield has improved but is still not a dominant one. On paper we have an improved forward set up, with a potential star in Jesse Hogan, yet we are not kicking winning scores. Our defence is looking better although is still not settled. We have seen Max Gawn finally emerge as a genuine big man. However, as yet none of those improvements are being reflected on the scoreboard. We have identified a number of players that provide depth but who have major deficiencies and will be gone sooner rather than later. We still have a side that lacks confidence, that has not developed a winning culture. Our team has not developed the capacity to exploit the weaknesses of opponents. Despite the negatives, we play patches of good football and can see the teams potential with the emergence of some of our young players. Our potential sustains me yet I am impatient for success. We will not win the respect of the football world until we start winning matches and develop a winning culture.We have the nucleus of a good side yet our young guns need to become leaders and match winners and the effort needs to be better spread across the whole team. We have shown improvement but we need to finish the season strongly for the perception of improvement and a brighter future to become reality. Certainly, 2016 is shaping as a make or break season.

Posted

The point is that we were doing the same thing last year. At this stage, when we thought we would be better than last year, we aren't. You know, year on year progress. Yes of course we are better than Neeld era, but I've not seen progress from LAST year. A few more wins before season end will change my mind, but at this stage it is not there. As much as people might hate them, the stats prove this definitively. The next 8 games will define the next few years I think.

Last years team could never have beaten Geelong (it didn't) let alone in Mordor.

We have had a harder draw to this point than last year and disappointing performances to Essendon and Port Adelaide should be seen in light of what happens in the last 8 weeks of the season.

If wins are all we care about and illustrate our improvement from last year - one more win will 'prove' 25% improvement. 2 will mean 50%. 4 will mean 100% improvement.

Jeez, what a success hey?

PS. the stats show that we have improved our clearance rate differential by ~50%, made little ground on Inside 50s, lost ground on Uncontested Possessions (although this is entirely due to the top 4 teams beating us up), pulled down our average margin by ~20%, and have won more contested possessions than our opponents for the first time since Daniher was in charge.

So, yeah, nah, the stats are a mixed bag where improvement can be seen.

Posted

Just win. Nothing else matters. Enough talk and analysing incremental improvement, just [censored] win already! Almost 10 years of crap whichever way you paint it.

Posted

Just win. Nothing else matters. Enough talk and analysing incremental improvement, just [censored] win already! Almost 10 years of crap whichever way you paint it.

Yep the rest are just excuses

Posted

Yep the rest are just excuses

Watch out for 25% improvement on last season this week then...

Posted

Nah we were in front 10 times last year in the last quarter and only won 4 games weren't we?

There is nothing new in this. We are just shiiite and don't know how to win.

Posted

Watch out for 25% improvement on last season this week then...

Happy for that I only want wins But if it is ok with you I won't hold my breath.

Posted

The league is the most even it's probably ever been.

Melbourne is probably the most predictable in terms of knowing how it's going to perform: it has the anomaly performance one week, but then its next 3-4 games are really straight out of the MFC Handbook. You could have predicted Saturday. I'm cursing I didn't put money down on the Bombers because I tipped them.

But yeah, the way we look at the Bombers loss, is the way I'm sure Tigers and Bulldogs fan look at the Melbourne loss, in that, considering their position, it shouldn't have happened.

We shouldn't have lost to the Bombers, but we did.

History tells us we'll lose on Sunday, yet people are still predicting we'll win.

can we...uh...please...stop...beating ourselves...then...? Why can't we stop beating ourselves...

otcg.gif

"Stop hitting yourself, stop hitting yourself, stop hitting yourself."

250px-Stop_Hitting_Yourself.png

Posted

They have 8 games to improve on last year - the Fatalistic wrist slashing on here is over the top.

We lost to Essendon at the G by 9 points - as awful as that sentence sounds - it was never a fait accompli and should really only be a surprise to the sorry few who actually thought we could finish the season by winning 8 of our last 9 games...

The Midfield is the beating heart of modern footy and ours is still Jones, Vince, Viney, *NEW - Brayshaw*, *NEW - Vanders*, and ??? Who are the next 5 ???.

Invariably (almost universally) when we lose games it is because of the players we DON'T have in that midfield.

When we solve that issue, I will be surprised to lose a game of footy.

8 games...as long as we get more wins than 2014, & get a Brayshaw or Petracca type, or a Weedy type tall?