Posted

INS: Grimes Newton Fitzpatrick

OUTS: Stretch ANB Dawes

I Think Grimes has been stiff this year and when he has been in the side he has actually played well and defended properly. Need a bit more experience down back aswell.

Newton for the outside class and hardness. I have lost patience with Dawes. He adds nothing to this side and is such a liability. Mcdonald showed more as a forward in the last QTR then Dawes has all year. Bring Fitzy in as the defender to go back. Should have played today. Was very stiff to been dropped in the first place.

Posted

Out: Howe (hopefully suspended), Dawes (Useless)

Ins: Grimes, Newton

Leaves us a bit short but dawes has provided nothing. Possibly Fitzpatrick in for stretch and play tmac forward.

Posted

A lot of it depends on who plays well at Casey, but ANB and Stretch look like they could use a rest - we're playing one short with Stretch and ANB looked knackered today.

Brisbane will most likely play Martin alongside Leuenberger so we may need to bolster the ruck - we cannot have Dawes rucking against either of those two. Spencer may well get brought back for this, in which case we'll have to drop a tall I think. Might be Dawes.

Posted

What about Lumumba out. He annoyed me today and he had a chance to run over and kill that contest and help dunn out where daniher kicked that final goal but he just stood there. Bring Fitzy in for him.

Posted

FB: Garland Fitzy Jetta

HB: Lumumba McDonald Grimes

C: Toumpas Jones Watts

HF: Vanders McDonald Brayshaw

FF: Dawes Hogan Garlett

Foll: Gawn Vince Viney

Int: Tyson Stretch Cross

S: Harmes

Out: Howe, ANB, JKH

In: Grimes, Fitzy, Toumpas

Howe has to go. Simply not performing up forward. Try McDonald in his spot and give the 3 prong forwards a try for 1 week. See if that lets us get the ball to the ground (marking it is b bridge too far). Fitzy to come in down back in place of McDonald.

Then it's a matter of bringing in Toumpas and Grimes. They aren't much chop but they can actually play midfield and half back respectively. That allows Brayshaw and Vanders to play half forward and get back to their pressure and tackling ways that result in some decent forward pressure.

JKH should've played a full game. Probably last week. He's missed too much footy now and needs full games at Casey. ANB is a hard worker at half forward but he's really a midfielder and needs to develop his game. Brayshaw and Vanders are much more likely to win one on ones forward.

Posted

If the King plays well I'll suggest he comes in and IDGAF who disagrees with me.

Rumour has it he can kick, attempt marks and back up ruck. If he's out on his feet at half time or pushed off the ball then so be it.

Posted

Generally I think the selectors have dropped the ball this year. They don't think about match ups properly. Many here said the height of Daniher would be a problem and felt Fitz would be a good selection.

And so it was, the difference between the 2 sides.

As for the kicking what can you say? It has been a problem for years now and hasn't changed.

I'm not sure that Roos has any answers or the fire in the belly needed.

Maybe that is the post match depression talking.

Can't even take any solace in watching the ashes.

Posted (edited)

Ultimately there is little pressure on Roos because he has the money in the bag and an end date in sight. He won't be sacked.

There doesn't appear to be fire in his belly the way there was when he coached the Swans.

Edited by Lamashtu
Posted

Newton should have played today and say what you will about Toumpas but at least he tries for four quarters

Posted (edited)

I said before the match we went in with too many kids and stand by that. Too many were ineffective today, and while that's understandable, we were clearly short a few experienced consistent players.

Edited by Lamashtu

Posted

Essendon had a less experienced side than ours.

Can't use that as an excuse.

Just mean that more senior heads may have helped. Jamar almost should've been rewarded for good form. If he does well tomorrow I would hope he's back in the ones next week.

Posted

I haven't seen much of Brissie this year but I see it as a danger game. They have the wood over us in recent years, even in Victoria.

We must win next week and against St.Kilda. Winnable games, as today's was meant to be. 2/3 is not too bad a strike rate. 1/3 is unacceptable and 0/3 I don't even want to think about.

I like the idea of Fitzpatrick in for Dawes. At least now we know Fitzy and McDonald can play forward or back. Dawes is a forward only and a fairly useless one at that.

They can re-arrange some deckchairs amongst the smaller players if they like, but I'm not fazed.

Posted

Without seeing the results of tomorrows game at Casey, I propose the following:

Out: ANB, Stretch, Harmes, Dawes

In: Toumpas, Newton, Grimes, Fitzy

Let's move T-Mac forward and have Fitzy handle things down back. I am all for developing our youth but at some point we need to put our best available 22 out their to attempt to win some games. Leave ANB, Stretch & Harmes at Casey for the next month to continue building form now that they have a taste of what is required.

Posted

Just mean that more senior heads may have helped. Jamar almost should've been rewarded for good form. If he does well tomorrow I would hope he's back in the ones next week.

It came down to lack of intensity especially in the third quarter.

If they played like they did in the last quarter the result would have been different.

God knows why, but they were complacent.

Posted

Howe will, hopefully, be suspended. He won't be dropped by this coaching group so long as Roos is keeping his currency up.

He's playing the long-term gain to get a better return, but it's insulting and damaging to culture almost beyond repair.

Posted

FB: Garland Fitzy Jetta

HB: Lumumba McDonald Grimes

C: Toumpas Jones Watts

HF: Vanders McDonald Brayshaw

FF: Dawes Hogan Garlett

Foll: Gawn Vince Viney

Int: Tyson Stretch Cross

S: Harmes

Out: Howe, ANB, JKH

In: Grimes, Fitzy, Toumpas

Howe has to go. Simply not performing up forward. Try McDonald in his spot and give the 3 prong forwards a try for 1 week. See if that lets us get the ball to the ground (marking it is b bridge too far). Fitzy to come in down back in place of McDonald.

Then it's a matter of bringing in Toumpas and Grimes. They aren't much chop but they can actually play midfield and half back respectively. That allows Brayshaw and Vanders to play half forward and get back to their pressure and tackling ways that result in some decent forward pressure.

JKH should've played a full game. Probably last week. He's missed too much footy now and needs full games at Casey. ANB is a hard worker at half forward but he's really a midfielder and needs to develop his game. Brayshaw and Vanders are much more likely to win one on ones forward.

You mean Dunn at CHB?

Posted

I haven't seen much of Brissie this year but I see it as a danger game. They have the wood over us in recent years, even in Victoria.

We must win next week and against St.Kilda. Winnable games, as today's was meant to be. 2/3 is not too bad a strike rate. 1/3 is unacceptable and 0/3 I don't even want to think about.

I like the idea of Fitzpatrick in for Dawes. At least now we know Fitzy and McDonald can play forward or back. Dawes is a forward only and a fairly useless one at that.

They can re-arrange some deckchairs amongst the smaller players if they like, but I'm not fazed.

Mate every game is a danger game.

We could be playing Northern Saints in the EDFL and it would still be a danger.

Posted

It came down to lack of intensity especially in the third quarter.

If they played like they did in the last quarter the result would have been different.

God knows why, but they were complacent.

The fact that any of our players could be complacent, and seem to trot this line out every time we have a poor loss, indicates a toxic undercurrent is well and truly alive at the MFC. You don't see the Saints being complacent. Or the Dogs. Bad teams are complacent and it's double unforgivable for our mob.

Posted

OUT: lumumba, garland, anb, sos

IN: fitzpatrick, grimes, two of newton / toumpas / michie, depending on the casey game tomorrow

quite frankly you could drop cross and howe too. the latter might go for suspension, so one of garland or lumumba might survive.

B: Jetta - Fitzpatrick - Dunn
HB: Grimes - T McDonald - Howe
C: Tyson - N Jones - vandenBerg
HF: Watts - Dawes - Brayshaw
F: JKH - Hogan - Garlett
Foll: Gawn - Vince - Viney
I/C: Toumpas - Newton - Cross

Sub: Harmes

Emerg: ANB - SOS - Jamar