Is Goodwin safe?

Favourite sons do not always make the best coaches.

Tird,Yuckley,Voss,Ratten etc.

They often fall out with their own board.

Buckley is going pretty well imo.

I don't mind him as a coach.

Ridley didn't get far it's us: even TGRDB couldn't (after success at Carltank and Norf).

Yes, favourite sons are not often successful: most successful coaches come from other clubs at least in the 'modern era' - Matthews, Malthouse, Sheedy, Thompson, Blight.

Conflicting interests soon sh it in their own nest. Must say, Buckley is doing ok at the moment

Jezza 1979 says hi. Not the modern era though.

Wow. Until I opened it I seriously thought the thread title was referring to some whack-job I Know What You Did Last Summer craziness. I feel relieved.

Ridley didn't get far it's us: even TGRDB couldn't (after success at Carltank and Norf).

Yes, favourite sons are not often successful: most successful coaches come from other clubs at least in the 'modern era' - Matthews, Malthouse, Sheedy, Thompson, Blight.

And Clarkson!
  • Author

Just mentioned on The Footy show that Adelaide will make a call to Goodwin. Thought they would, which is why I started thread.

I know the Crows have been through an extremely tough time, which is still an understatement, but it still annoys me that they would make a call to a bloke who is not only clearly contracted for another 4 years, but is also in place to be our senior coach beginning in 2017. I find it disrespectful. I know that's the landscape these days but I don't like it.

Peter Jackson did say that the contract he has is water tight so he won't be going anywhere, so it's all a moot point even if they make the call.

The footy world has been classy in the way its respected and got behind Adelaide the last couple of weeks

If they try and poach Goodwin it will be the opposite of classy

Yeah its rubbish. If they do try it won't get past the AFLCA. He is coached and won't be getting a promotion, so unless we release him he isn't going anywhere.

This has that F--kwit Mark Ricciuto written all over it.

It will be a test of character for Goodwin. If he goes it will be good riddance. If he chooses to commit all the power to him.

Edited by chook fowler

The footy show hasn't started here yet but was it that twit Barrett that had the 'exclusive?'

I can't see Goodwin going. Like chook said, if he goes good riddance.

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Goodwin has been here for 2 seasons now learning under roosy and he knows he has a job for the next 5 years or whatever it is. I get why Adelaide would ask the question but I cant see him going anywhere and if he does it will set us back even further.

This is his 1st season with us, he came across at the end of last year.

If i was CEO/President and had found out that they put in a call to our incumbent head coach i'd tell them to GAGF. Sure they're going through something very traumatic, but that's still no excuse.

The footy world has been classy in the way its respected and got behind Adelaide the last couple of weeks

If they try and poach Goodwin it will be the opposite of classy

Well, what else are they supposed to do? We'd do exactly the same thing in their position. They'd be negligent not to explore all possible options. I don't have a problem with them approaching Goody now. If he says yes, I'd be very surprised.

He hasn't even been with us for a full season yet.

He aint going anywhere.

Been with us 6 months mate..

Goodwin to Adelaide

Dew to Melbourne as Senior Assistant

Roos to stay on one extra year.

Everyone's happy.

I very much doubt Goodwin is going anywhere though.

He wont be safe from us if he coaches a losing side.

I've got no problem with Adelaide ringing him, what I dislike is the leaking to Barrett. That's if it's true and not just Barrett making it up.

They've just had Walsh's funeral. There's plenty of time left in the season to get together a coaching selection panel at a respectful time and then to make a decision to ring Goodwin.

For a payment of $5million we will be happy to break the contract.

We could get half a Buddy for that kind of money.