On 6/13/2023 at 12:33 PM, Demonland said:

They’ll be in the 40s by years end the way they’re going. 

They got there a bit earlier than that. It's now 47.3%. It could, of course, get back over 50...or below 45 by the end of the year.

• 1 month later...

Re 186 ...

https://www.facebook.com/uselessaflstats

Useless AFL Stats post some amusing stuff on Facebook. Something I didn't realise was that the "games played experience" difference in the 186pt loss to Geelong was the 2nd greatest in (UAS recorded) history going back at least to the 90s because there's a game from there in the table.  There's some mitigation there.

Scroll down a bit for the article in question ...

Beat this one!

We have never won a Friday evening encounter against any opposition whilst I've been drunk to the eyeballs!

It has never happened and needs to be rectified quick smart

17 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Haven't beaten North in the month of August, in a non pandemic/lockdown year, since 2006.

You've just written the bulk of Goodwin's motivational address for Sunday. Well done.

• 3 weeks later...

Not a Melbourne record, but in response to the last post, North are getting perilously close to the top ten of all time consecutive losses. One more loss sees them equal the longest losing streak of the past 30 years (held by the rotting carcase of Fitzroy and the expansion clubs in their early days). 

Any other club and the scrutiny and criticism would be out of this world.

6 minutes ago, poita said:

Not a Melbourne record, but in response to the last post, North are getting perilously close to the top ten of all time consecutive losses. One more loss sees them equal the longest losing streak of the past 30 years (held by the rotting carcase of Fitzroy and the expansion clubs in their early days). 

Any other club and the scrutiny and criticism would be out of this world.

for the good of the AFL, I still think they should go to Tassie (they wont - but they should)

15 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Haven't beaten Sydney at the SCG on a Sunday afternoon since round 4 2006.

Although in fairness we hardly ever play at the venue.

It's very expensive.

28 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Thank you Adam Schneider for your terrible effort returning the footy to Jared Rivers. That 50 metre penalty is tattooed on my mind.

56 minutes ago, Chook said:

Thank you Adam Schneider for your terrible effort returning the footy to Jared Rivers. That 50 metre penalty is tattooed on my mind.

About as good as the time when the ball was gently thrown towards Dangerfield - then he moved his arm out of the way and proceeded to rort a 50…not that I am bitter.

Edited by Engorged Onion

On 4/16/2015 at 2:13 PM, PaulRB said:

I pledge to drink several pints of cider after each breakthrough. :)

How much cider have you had since then?

1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Oh yeah remember that? Kick-started our season that one.

New record - price of a ticket to see the Deez at [censored] Cricket Ground = $88.

We might have a chance to break this record一"No team have won a premiership from the 4th since year 2000." 

Sydney had their chance in 2006, but lost to WC by 1 point in GF.

4 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

New record - price of a ticket to see the Deez at [censored] Cricket Ground = $88.

Not if you’re an interstate member 😁

16 hours ago, Min Xie said:

We might have a chance to break this record一"No team have won a premiership from the 4th since year 2000." 

Sydney had their chance in 2006, but lost to WC by 1 point in GF.

Clearly it wasn't in 2000 that the premiership was won from 4th position, so it must be some time earlier than that. I have no idea when, though.

17 hours ago, layzie said:

Oh yeah remember that? Kick-started our season that one.

Yeah I think we went 11 of the next 12 wins to go from second last to third by round 15 2006.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

19 hours ago, Demonland said:

Another one bites the dust.

Apparently Melbourne was that awful in 1981 (the year I was born) that the coach at the time, Ron Barassi, wrote an apology letter to all Melbourne Demons members! 😖

I can't find it at the moment. But I know a copy of the letter exists somewhere online. 🤔

Who would ever think that 40 years later we FINALLY would win a Premiership in 2021!

19 hours ago, Chook said:

I was at that game on Anzac weekend  in 2006. Very exciting.! Aaron Davey out- marked three Sydney talls in the square for an important late goal. Cam Bruce kicked the one that put us in front late,.   The ball was near their goals when the siren went.....very nerve-wracking!

That Schneider 50m penalty sickened me, that an umpire could fall for such an underhanded (excuse the pun!) trick.

Poor old Paul Johnson damaged his shoulder in an important sacrificial act, and was never the same again.

That was the only time I've ever been in the rooms after a match. I couldn't believe how exhausted the players all were.

Edited by Jumping Jack Clennett
correction

41 minutes ago, Supreme_Demon said:

Apparently Melbourne was that awful in 1981 (the year I was born) that the coach at the time, Ron Barassi, wrote an apology letter to all Melbourne Demons members! 😖

I can't find it at the moment. But I know a copy of the letter exists somewhere online. 🤔

Who would ever think that 40 years later we FINALLY would win a Premiership in 2021!

Surely @Supermercado has this if it still exists online.

On 8/3/2023 at 3:49 PM, Macca said:

Beat this one!

We have never won a Friday evening encounter against any opposition whilst I've been drunk to the eyeballs!

It has never happened and needs to be rectified quick smart

How do you know