Posted

Yeah after we prised him out of the hands of Man U.

And no one has mentioned Todd Viney beating Boom Boom Boris Becker in an under age tennis tournament! Todd must have been a late starter as well. If Gary's son has been playing rugby, he should pick up AFL quickly given his athletism and the gene pool. But only if he really wants it.

Posted

Is he shaving twice a day yet ?

Andy Lovell and Garry were in ''87 so that's when he will be ready.

Posted

Didn’t Garry Lyon have about 3 or 4 sons? Good news if at least one of them ends up playing for the Demons.

maybe the others could become jim cardwells or dicck seddons?

Posted

Not true at all.......

Yeah what would I know? Only played at the sams junior football club.. And my brother plsyed in the same 18s team as him..

Posted

Pretty interesting stuff to say the least

His old man is the best MFC player Ive ever seen, and by a fair margin too. Incredible footballer, pretty much the total package.

As a player he remains criminally underrated in the wider AFL landscape. Would be amazing if Josh excelled at footy and we picked him via up father-son

Posted (edited)

Only research I could find was that he was a prop for Xavier college in their rugby team.

Having played rugby before, to be a prop you are generally have to be one of the strongest guys in the team with powerful legs to push against and have thick necks.

If its true he is seriously considering his footy options and all goes well, we could be treated to a pretty powerful athlete in terms of body strength and power.

Posted

Only research I could find was that he was a prop for Xavier college in their rugby team.

Having played rugby before, to be a prop you are generally have to be one of the strongest guys in the team with powerful legs to push against and have thick necks.

If its true he is seriously considering his footy options and all goes well, we could be treated to a pretty powerful athlete in terms of body strength and power.

Let's also be honest, props are often the fat kids or to be more kind the beefy kids. From my days of school rugby it would usually take a very serious preseason of running to turn from a prop to a good footballer.

Posted

Let's also be honest, props are often the fat kids or to be more kind the beefy kids. From my days of school rugby it would usually take a very serious preseason of running to turn from a prop to a good footballer.

That would probably be his biggest challenge, changing body shape and losing some kg's

Posted

Il be honest, I was trying to sugar coat it...

Posted

If he was a reasonable athlete (read good pace) with a big build playing rugby he would probably be playing no. 8.

A good prop could potentially transition but a lot of them are just the big blokes.

Posted

http://www.rugby-sidestep-central.com/rugby-prop.html

Posted (edited)

If he is big and tall and strong then I think it would be worth having a look at him? I guess we'll see if he tries out with the Sandringham Dragons or Oakleigh Chargers and is serious about playing AFL.

It would be great to see a new Lyon at the Demons. ☺

Let's hope he isn't as grumpy as his old man though!? ???

In the end, it is up to any individual (son of a gun or not) if they have the skill, desire and motivation to play AFL.

Edited by Supreme_Demon

Posted

ah, lyon, stretch, viney, lovett...........hollywood boulevard mk2

oh yes, Jake lovett

Excited about him. Built like a brick shithouse already. I think he is playing for Dandenong Stingrays and will be in the upcoming draft.. hope he has a season where scouts are calling him a top 5 worthy pick, a la Jack Viney

Posted

ah, lyon, stretch, viney, lovett...........hollywood boulevard mk2

Stretch was never involved in Hollywood boulevard, that was more the precinct of Lovett G, Stynes and Tingay along with the others you mention.

The people involved were very good players but I hope we never see The Boulevard again.

Posted

oh yes, Jake lovett

Excited about him. Built like a brick shithouse already. I think he is playing for Dandenong Stingrays and will be in the upcoming draft.. hope he has a season where scouts are calling him a top 5 worthy pick, a la Jack Viney

I'd rather he was a top 5 pick but scouts rated him top 50 worthy.

• 4 years later...
Posted
On 2/16/2015 at 6:51 PM, Moonshadow said:

Viney, Stretch, Lovett, Davey, Lyon... maybe even a Stynes!

To quote the Blues Brothers...."we're getting the band back together"

If any of them had won a premiership I’d be more excited.  

Posted
On 2/16/2015 at 5:39 PM, Vagg said:

And he's been playing THUGBY up until now? Gazza should be ashamed of himself allowing his son to degrade himself in that way!

Puts on muscle, encourages fearlessness, cardiovascular conditioning. Sounds OK to me. Given his father is Gary Lyon, I'd reckon he would be receiving heaps of appropriate advisories, preparation and further training, plus some skills transmission along the way as there are still a few years left to shine. It's all good news at this point. With the Wizard's son making progress and nearing a meaningful footballing age as well, things are really shining. There may be hope, afterall.