Posted

I have to travel down from Ballarat tomorrow for a 1200 meeting in Fitzroy. So for the first time ever, I have chance to see the boys train at Gosch's paddock and maybe even speak to TDI. I believe he's not hard to miss.

I know some good soul gave advice on where best to park but I haven't been able to find the post.

Any advice would be appreciated (on the parking I mean)

Posted

Park at Saty's place.

He'll give you a scooter dink into Gosch's.

Your a funny man Mooney but just a little repetitious.

Anyhow, I finally figured out what I was doing wrong with my searches, looks like the consensus (strange word to use on Dland) is Alex Ave and walk over the bridge.

Posted
Your a funny man Mooney but just a little repetitious.

Anyhow, I finally figured out what I was doing wrong with my searches, looks like the consensus (strange word to use on Dland) is Alex Ave and walk over the bridge.

easy and only 80 cents an hour to park
Posted (edited)

I have to travel down from Ballarat tomorrow for a 1200 meeting in Fitzroy. So for the first time ever, I have chance to see the boys train at Gosch's paddock and maybe even speak to TDI. I believe he's not hard to miss.

I know some good soul gave advice on where best to park but I haven't been able to find the post.

Any advice would be appreciated (on the parking I mean)

Very rough, but you get the idea...

Green line = paid (ticket)

Blue line = free (2 hours)

Red line = free (3 hours)

dqxfwYL.png

I almost always get a spot in the 2 hour section on Alexandra Ave.

Failing that, I can always find one on Anderson Street.

Enjoy training! :)

Edited by JTR

Posted

I went, I thought they looked a lot better than when I saw them on Australia day. We look to be pretty fit, Watts did a lot of running and minimal participation, as did Bernie - but he did do a bit of a kick-to-kick at the end. He looks 100% fit to me I don't know why he is not drilling. Howe looked OK too, just running laps. Can't wait to see Petracca out there he looks totally ready for it IMO

Posted

I went. C&B has advised players not doing drills. No sign of King, Trengove and AN-B. And I didn't see Brayshaw but he may have been there and White was in rehab. Long session. Started at about 9.45 and was still going when I left at 12.00. Hot but little if any wind so conditions were great.

It was very much ball movement, match simulation at 75% pace, full ground drills. Some of the skills were very good and there were various players who made mistakes from time to time. It will be interesting to see if the intensity lifts in the coming weeks.

Players to impress were Kent who I noticed more than anyone. I had him fringe 22 but on today's performance he'd seem to be well in for me. Clean overhead on the fast lead, very good kick and got it a lot.

Hogan seemed to be everywhere. Lots of the ball and some good marks and good kicking. But remember the intensity is not AFL standard. JKH also came to notice, Petracca did some nice things and looks comfortable, I liked what I saw of Billy Stretch and Dom Tyson just had the ball on a string. Col Garland did the whole session and did well, Grimes was good and I noticed Pedersen a bit. Salem was clean and Vandenberg had a bit of a purple patch and looks a big strong boy.

I was chatting to mates most of the day and not fully concentrating on training so these are general observations only. These match sims are really like dancing with your sister. There certainly didn't seem to be a "get the ball and go" mentality, still "mark, go back, pick an option". Unless a player was clearly in space it looked a bit stop/go to me.

Just to clarify. When I mean 75% that relates to spoiling/tackling/body contact stuff. The pace of play was 100% flat out. I suppose if I had to describe training it was skills work will little if any body contact stuff.

• Like 24

Posted

Just to clarify. When I mean 75% that relates to spoiling/tackling/body contact stuff. The pace of play was 100% flat out. I suppose if I had to describe training it was skills work will little if any body contact stuff.

Yeah, it was only a notch above touch footy, you take on a tackler but if he made contact you had to toss the ball to him

Posted

Thanks for the training reports. Any news on how Toumpas is going?

Just the usual - he looks smooth and efficient but does not seem to stand out in any way.

Very interested in his 2015

Posted

Yeah, it was only a notch above touch footy, you take on a tackler but if he made contact you had to toss the ball to him

Given how often the umps miss throws and ping players unreasonably for holding the ball, this may be a new tactic Roos is working on. :unsure:

Posted

Ok, King , ANB, Trengove or Brayshaw all inside.

Injuries today, Fitzy 'pinged' his back and Dunny got what looked like a corky in his calf, Garlo got a bit of back tightness as well, all off the track as soon as they reported.

This is from the players:

Watts - did the full session last Friday, bit sore, week of running to build up again to a full session, no rush.

Vince - full training again next week, hammy took a bit longer to settle than expected.

Howe- is ticking all the boxes, was allowed to increase pace of running today.

White - back to running today, week or two before full sessions.

Hunt - still being very conservative with him, want him ready for practice games/NAB cup etc.

Standouts for me today, similar to BB, Kent was excellent, spoke to him after the session, he is back at full power, no restrictions, Matt Jones, Hogan, Cross, Tyson.

Petracca wimped out of the guns photo, quote "I've copped enough fines already", so Salem and Tyson did an interesting variation, with Chris Dawes photobombing

Vandenberg is certainly settling in well, found out a bit more, the recruiting staff thought even at NEAFL level he was doing AFL standard things and was worth the rookie spot, spoke to Aaron as well and they are working with him on the 'little things', running patterns etc, only enjoying every second

As for BB's comment about the tackling contact etc, there were a few full blooded tackles, but it was the usual suspects, Dunn, Nathan Jones, Jordie McKenzie, Cross and Nev Jetta, think they can't help themselves

Any questions feel free.

• Like 13
Posted

So without seeing anything of Vandenberg, I'm tipping he will be the next Michael Barlow.

Thanks for the reports!

Posted

So without seeing anything of Vandenberg, I'm tipping he will be the next Michael Barlow.

Thanks for the reports!

He could be anything, he doesn't look out of place, reckon Roos will have a good look during the NAB Cup, he was last off again today working with Cross and McKenzie

Posted

Petracca wimped out of the guns photo, quote "I've copped enough fines already", so Salem and Tyson did an interesting variation, with Chris Dawes photobombing

Vandenberg is certainly settling in well, found out a bit more, the recruiting staff thought even at NEAFL level he was doing AFL standard things and was worth the rookie spot, spoke to Aaron as well and they are working with him on the 'little things', running patterns etc, only enjoying every second

As for BB's comment about the tackling contact etc, there were a few full blooded tackles, but it was the usual suspects, Dunn, Nathan Jones, Jordie McKenzie, Cross and Nev Jetta, think they can't help themselves

Any questions feel free.

This is one of the most interesting bits from training I've read in a while...hope you didn't let the moment pass and found out why he has had fines? From the Club?

Posted

This is one of the most interesting bits from training I've read in a while...hope you didn't let the moment pass and found out why he has had fines? From the Club?

I don't think they are serious fines, just football club banter.

Posted

Nah, this is a player driven thing, they 'fine' each other for appearing in newspapers etc,, the poor bugger has been all over the newspapers, keeps them grounded, Salem was all for doing something silly and conned Tyson into it as well....Petracca was with Jesse Hogan who thought it was hilarious

Posted

Was interested to hear Kent was at 'full power'.

If memory serves correctly, Kent had knee troubles last preseason - spent a lot of it on light running in rehab.

Is this his first full preseason?

Posted

Ok, King , ANB, Trengove or Brayshaw all inside.

Injuries today, Fitzy 'pinged' his back and Dunny got what looked like a corky in his calf, Garlo got a bit of back tightness as well, all off the track as soon as they reported.

This is from the players:

Watts - did the full session last Friday, bit sore, week of running to build up again to a full session, no rush.

Story of his career...

Posted

Does anybody know how to post photo's here. I have uploaded some shots to flickr but don't know how to find the URL so I can post the images on demonland. Bit of a techno klutz unfortunately.

Posted

The way you're going with those "guns" photos Saty, the next one will be Nick Reiwoldt/Zac Dawson esk....

Tyson said he has no guns, hence the silliness, Chris Dawes at the back surprised me, but it is all good clean fun

As for Kent, he hasn't done the full pre season, had an issue early on, but he is 'overjoyed' to be back at full power, his words, he has been busy in the gym as well

Will be off line til tomorrow arvo, any other questions let me know, and I will answer them then, just one point I can see why we went with Brendan McCartney, already having an impact at training, Goodwin will be in good hands, trained by Roos and mentored by McCartney.

When the match simes are on doesn't matter where you are on the field, there is a coach watching and talking, another interesting bit, they were a bit short today for match sim, think they wanted more numbers, they break up squad into 3 teams, Brad Miller played in one side and gave a few defenders anxious moments

Posted

Tyson said he has no guns, hence the silliness, Chris Dawes at the back surprised me, but it is all good clean fun

As for Kent, he hasn't done the full pre season, had an issue early on, but he is 'overjoyed' to be back at full power, his words, he has been busy in the gym as well

Will be off line til tomorrow arvo, any other questions let me know, and I will answer them then, just one point I can see why we went with Brendan McCartney, already having an impact at training, Goodwin will be in good hands, trained by Roos and mentored by McCartney.

When the match simes are on doesn't matter where you are on the field, there is a coach watching and talking, another interesting bit, they were a bit short today for match sim, think they wanted more numbers, they break up squad into 3 teams, Brad Miller played in one side and gave a few defenders anxious moments

Thanks Saty - love your work.