Who is shaping as a surprise packet for Melbourne in 2015?

Posted

Get to know: Who is shaping as a surprise packet at your club in 2015?

And the nomination for Melbourne is ...

Ben Newton

Recruited from Port Adelaide (formerly Central District/South Fremantle), 183cm, 85kg, four games

Opportunity was the only thing stopping Newton from making an impact last season when he starred for Port Adelaide in the SANFL. He still managed four AFL games, an achievement in its own right, given the quality of Port Adelaide's midfield and the injuries he'd endured in his first two seasons. The 22-year-old midfielder, who was pick No.35 in the 2010 NAB AFL Draft, decided to leave Port after four years to make a fresh start at Melbourne. Port Adelaide was disappointed to lose him but understood and respected his decision. The midfielder is a good stoppage player who runs and carries the ball and adds further depth to a relatively unknown but emerging set of midfielders who are taking second chances, including Viv Michie and Aidan Riley. - Peter Ryan

Aaron Vandenberg is my smokey, assuming he gets the run off the rookie list.

When they eventually put Trengove on the LTI list.

I think that the overall team that runs out at Round 1, 2, 3, 4, etc. will prove to be the big 'surprise packet' for 2015!

Hogan; apart from us tragics not many supporters, if any of other clubs know who he is.

Forgot about him - shhhh! I dare not say anything...I've followed a few messiahs in my time! :)

I'd like to see some of the surprise packets from 2014 step up another notch again. Nev Jetta, Pedo, Kent, even Fitzy showed some promise. Wouldn't it be great for our depth if the more highly rated guys were regularly challenged for a spot in the 22 by these players?

No more passengers.

This is plainly wrong. He's one of the few Melbourne players people know because of the hype surrounding him. Hogan is on the same profile level as Boyd and Daniher (whom he will be compared against for the rest of his career). Any supporter who doesn't know who Hogan is would have to be living in a cave. He's THE biggest reason to be excited about what's to come.

I think Toumpas will be the surprise packet of 2015, because of how widely he has been written off as another high pick failure.

Have to say I like the look of Frost.

looking at his arse or his footy prowess, not a key player really at gws and big boots to fill to replace frawley

I am hoping it is JKH and Frost. If it is Toumpas I will be over the moon as well. Hedging? Yes!

I suspect a few people will be surprised when Dom Tyson wins this year's Brownlow ...

(shut up, let me dream!)

I strongly suspect it will turn out to be a big surprise

This is plainly wrong. He's one of the few Melbourne players people know because of the hype surrounding him. Hogan is on the same profile level as Boyd and Daniher (whom he will be compared against for the rest of his career). Any supporter who doesn't know who Hogan is would have to be living in a cave. He's THE biggest reason to be excited about what's to come.

I think Toumpas will be the surprise packet of 2015, because of how widely he has been written off as another high pick failure.

Nah...you speak to most supporters of other clubs and they don't have a clue who Hogan is. The only reason they may have heard the name is because demon fanatics like you or I have been harping on about him for the last few years, to many he is just a figment of our imagination.

Boyd has a multi million dollar pay packet for some unknown reason so the hype surrounds him, Daniher has some senior form on the board.

Hogan is known on this forum and by a few knowledgeable football people, most know nothing or at best very little about him.

I think Hogan is a better prospect than Boyd, Patton, Daniher and even Cameron. He will surprise a lot of people this year, the rank and file AFL supporter will be wondering where he came from.

By the way, I hope Toumpas does stick it up a few this year. He's still young with a huge upside and been written off way too quickly.

Toumpas.

He is going to be the one.

I really hope Toump has a breakout year.

Nah...you speak to most supporters of other clubs and they don't have a clue who Hogan is. The only reason they may have heard the name is because demon fanatics like you or I have been harping on about him for the last few years, to many he is just a figment of our imagination.

Boyd has a multi million dollar pay packet for some unknown reason so the hype surrounds him, Daniher has some senior form on the board.

Hogan is known on this forum and by a few knowledgeable football people, most know nothing or at best very little about him.

I think Hogan is a better prospect than Boyd, Patton, Daniher and even Cameron. He will surprise a lot of people this year, the rank and file AFL supporter will be wondering where he came from.

By the way, I hope Toumpas does stick it up a few this year. He's still young with a huge upside and been written off way too quickly.

Sorry mate, I don't know who you are talking to, but any fan worth a pinch of salt knows who Hogan is. Much like they would know who Paddy McCartin is. Key forwards who are top 10 picks gain an immediate profile.

The fact Hogan has been in the system for a couple of years but is yet to play a senior game has added to his mystique, but he isn't any less well known to the football following public.

• Author

I think it's high time that the law of averages operated in this area because over the past decade or so, Melbourne simply hasn't produced it's share of surprise packages.

I think Lynden Dunn last year was one of the few surprises we've produced in that time. He really did lift his game to a level I certainly didn't expect. There may have been a few others in this time but our record has been that we've produced too many players who simply haven't come near the expected level. Our surprise packets have mainly been the ones who have surprisingly not produced the standards expected of them when they were recruited and that's one of the reasons we've stayed down for so long.

Time for that to change.

Over on big footy (enter at your peril) there are a number of threads about young Jesse.

The current one asks who will be better, Hogan or Boyd with most non Bulldog fans going for Hogan.

Otherwise, my vote is for Dean Kent! I liked what I saw last year and I think he may kick on from there.

The biggest surprise will be when 3 of our players get nominated AA......All midfielders.

Max Gawn.

A full pre season could see this giant of a man take over from Jamar and make it his own.

Also really really hope Toumpas has a great year. I dont expect him to have a Dom Tyson like year I just want a year where we see glimpse ofnwhat he can do.

Im going with Fitzy.

With the age of our group, competition for spots and the wealth of development support I expect there will be many. I think Kent will have the biggest jump in his consistent performance levels. I hope for Toumpas to regain the confidence and spark that had me so excited about him when he was drafted.

Need to set McKenzie loose, away from defensive roles, reckon he will surprise, if I recall his first few games were quite good before he was sentenced as a tagger.